We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely authentic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Greve in Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed in the two bedroom "Giotto" room with amazing dinning room, throne chair and stone fire places. Magical. The kids loved the history, we loved the views, and the staff were fabulous. What a magical place just outside Greve in Chianti. We loved just sitting in the courtyards and gardens in the mornings. A different view each day. Would highly recommend the tuscan feast and wine tour. Great fun and food. Only issue was the hard beds....buy they were hard! Great little kitchen for preparing meals with all the local produce on your down step. If your breakfast is included fine, otherwise it's pretty basic so you are better off self catering. Must have own car.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank DebCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

In September 2012 my boyfriend and I planned a mini tour of Italy starting in Venice followed by Verona then the winey heaven that is Vicchiomaggio!

We had 3 nights in a gorgeous room with amazing views! On the last day my boyfriend and I went for a little picnic amongst the vines, the perfect spot for the proposal that followed!! That night he'd secretly planned for us to eat in a private dining room (arranged with Frederica over email prior to our arrival) which was lovely. We had fantastic service the whole stay and can't wait to return!

Highly recommended is their wine which is brilliantly priced, also a short drive away is Greve in Chianti where the best place for wine tasting is Le Cantine where you buy a little card and get a glass and dispense as many testers as you like! Fantastic!! We ate one night in the same village at Gallo Nero, wowza - gooood steak.

In summary, lovely part of the world, cheap flights into Florence and only 40 mins drive from Central Florence to the area.

Highly recommended!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jacksonhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I still can’t believe we were lucky enough to get married in such a beautiful, special place. The whole experience was magical. The Castello Vicchiomaggio staff, and the Matta family, gave us a gift we will never forget. Getting married in a place like this, not only so breathtakingly gorgeous, but with so much history and culture, made the perfect setting to the most important day of our lives. The management and staff was so organized and on top of everything that we were able to put together the wedding (with 80 guests) from California in a few months, with no unpleasant surprises. We arrived in Florence just 10 days before the wedding to find that they had taken care of everything as agreed, they even helped us find the florist, the violin players, and set up everything for the English-Italian speaking priest upon our arrival. They were so awesome that we didn’t even need a wedding planner. We had agreed on the menu, as everything else via email, did a fun tasting a couple days before the wedding, and were absolutely in love with each bite, even our Italian wedding guests were impressed with the food and dining experience. The wedding cake, the famous Mille Foglie, was the best anyone there had ever tasted.
Everything was so easy for us and executed so well, the layout of the property with its own Chapel, the beautiful courtyard and dining hall, the bed and breakfast was all there, there was no transportation to take care of, it’s like we were stuck in time in a fairytale.
We took up most of the property Bed and Breakfast with friends and family from the US for a total of 3 days. Every single person on staff, including the family owners were incredibly helpful to us and our guests, whether getting recommendations for nearby attractions, directions, finding a dry cleaner, etc. Castello Vicchiomaggio even hosted a fun wine and olive oil tasting, and a tour of the Cantina for our guests while we were busy taking photos the day before the wedding.
The rooms in the Castle and in the Canonica villa were beautiful and comfortable, with all the amenities needed, furnished with amazing vintage pieces, everyone was so impressed. Each of our guests felt so comfortable and taken care of, they all walked away with their own special experience of Chianti, not just as guests at our wedding.
I just can’t find the words to describe how accommodating the staff was. They even pulled out their treasured red vintage Vespa for us to use as a photo prop. The photos and memories we have from our wedding at Castello Vicchiomaggio will last forever and always be treasured family history.
Leading up to the wedding, when I would explain to people that we were getting married at a Castle in Chianti on a vineyard, I would just giggle, it felt almost too good to be true. Now when people ask “So where did you get married?” I simply pull up a couple photos on my phone to show them, and I immediately get teary-eyed thinking of how blessed we are, leaving the inquirer speechless. And I have to assure them that we did not spend a fortune as one would think, we actually spent half of what places were quoting us in the US.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Morgan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband and I just stayed at the castello vicchiomaggio and it was fantastic. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the view was amazing. On our first night we got to have diner there and the food was amazing. Also the waiter, Marco not only served us an fabulous meal but then sat down at the piano and sang us a beautiful medley of songs in Spanish, Italian and english. What a wonderful memory for our trip. We also did the wine tasting with Nadia and Ines. They are amazing and wonderful people and made us feel so welcome. Also the wine was great. Everyone has to go and meet Nadia and Ines. Everyone has to stay in the castle.

Room Tip: Stay in the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretAurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

we stayed in the newer part of the hotel, the rooms there have AC which is clearly advised when travelling during the hot summer months. The castello is on a hill top which results in amazing views, they also have an infinity pool from which you can take in the countryside as well. Rooms are good, clean with a good size. Breakfast was italian standard. Only a short drive from greve. good location for wine tours in the chianti region

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TobiasWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Our favorite memories are of Nadia and Inez at the winery shoppe! Amazing and friendly and inviting and great people! They made our Tuscany experience the best! Love the castle and rooms were so comfortable and inviting and the views were incredible ! We'll be back and will tell all our friends to stop first and visit Nadia and Inez then relax and enjoy the ambiance and history
of the castle ! Thank you for making our trip perfect! Love to all! The best place in all of Tuscany!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbie120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The castle is on top of a hill with stunning views of the Chianti countryside yet only 5 minutes drive from Greve with its charming piazza and amazing deli.
The rooms we had were separate from the main house and had a shared lounge/dining table/fridge/kettle. This worked really well for an evening meal in - having previously visited the fabulous delis and bakery in Greve.
The castle wine tour is worthwhile and the food to follow was very good.
The breakfasts are typical- cheeses, hams, cold eggs, cakes, breads, cereals,yoghurt and fresh fruit.
The rooms were very well furnished and spacious with excellent bathrooms

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greve in Chianti
1.6 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
574 reviews
5.4 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
497 reviews
12.3 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
552 reviews
9.6 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
554 reviews
10.0 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello Vicchiomaggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello Vicchiomaggio

Address: Via Vicchiomaggio 4, 50027, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Greve in Chianti
#3 Romantic Hotel in Greve in Chianti
Price Range: £111 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castello Vicchiomaggio 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castello Vicchiomaggio (Vicchiomaggio Castle), one of the most beautiful and well-preserved castles in Tuscany, immersed in a park of more than 130 hectares, is an elegant holiday farm, a perfect location for wedding receptions, meetings and events organisation, as well as a renowned wine estate.Located in the heart of Chianti, it is a jewel nestled among hills, and a shrine of hospitality to celebrate the most important day of your life, as well as a holiday resort offering the utmost relax, or to enjoy tasting of various wines and typical products and to organise your meeting or gala evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castello Vicchiomaggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Vicchiomaggio Hotel Greve In Chianti
Castello Vicchiomaggio Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing