We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under the Tuscan Sun”
Review of Poggio all'Olmo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poggio all'Olmo
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We have returned from our third trip to Tuscany and our third stay at Poggio all'Olmo. As the other reviews have said: the views are breathtaking; the air is clean and crisp; the accommodations are better than any agriturisimo in Tuscany. The experience brings a calming effect to everyone who stays here. And your hostess, Francesca, is more than you could have hoped for. After an eight year span between visits, it still felt like returning home to a good friend or favorite cousin. She goes above and beyond the call of duty to make you feel at home and provide you with everything you may need, including suggestions for your day trips. My best part of this visit was sitting down with Francesca with a bottle of wine and some great pecorino cheese and just chatting. We will return again, Francesca. Ciao

Room Tip: Take the bottom floor apartment in the converted barn - beautiful view from the kitchen and just ou...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dok958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Poggio all'Olmo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

We just returned home from our trip in Italy. Poggio all'Olmo was sadly, our last and shortest stop. The property sits on a hill with beautiful views in all directions. It did not disappoint but rather exceeded our expectations. We stayed in a double room with a private bathroom and a cosy kitchenette. Room and bathroom was spacious and very, very clean. The environment was so comfortable and relaxing that we overslept every morning.

Our hostess Francesca was very hospitable and knowledgeable, offering suggestions for day trips and places to eat. She ensured we were always comfortable and very open to any questions or concerns. Her breakfast was the best breakfast we had in Italy - savoury and sweet options with fresh fruit, juice, coffee and teas. The only bad part about the stay was that it was not long enough! We will definitely return to Poggio all'Olmo.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We have recently had a second wonderful stay at Poggio all'Olmo. Set in the most stunning Tuscan countryside Poggio all'Olmo has the most beautiful vistas from every window. The tranquility of the setting is breathtaking - views to Panzano in Chianti with its perfect church high on the hill. Wild boar and deer on the windy road up from Greve in Chianti. A few minutes from the home of the Mona Lisa - Vignamaggio - with its stunning Renaissance gardens and wine tours - if you are looking for the real Tuscany and you appreciate the simplicity of rural Italian life then this is the place to stay.

Then there is Francesca - the perfect hostess, always there to greet you with a smile, ideas for a restaurant to visit, an 'off the beaten track' trip to make or just to talk to about life in Italy. We now regard her as our friend in Tuscany. Her parents and grandparents visit and are truly delightful - her father even picked us grapes and figs from the fields to have with our lunch.

Recommended without hesitation!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudithHindhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This beautiful place sits high on a hill with beautiful vistas from everywhere you look. From pretty rooms and a pool.to the relaxing atmosphere and clean air..everything here is enchanting...as others have suggested..make sure you download a good GPS ..like tomtom on your ipad before traveling here or anywhere in Tuscany..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We had such a wonderful stay at Poggio all`Olmo. We expected a great place, but was still pleasantly surprised. It takes a bit of an effort to get there, but once you arrive the view more than makes up for it! There is a lovely peaceful atmosphere around the crystal clear swimming pool, looking out over vineyards and mountains. Francesca made us feel so welcome and provided a hearty breakfast each morning with a big variety to choose from. This is definitely the place to go if you want to relax and enjoy the country side, we hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Inge P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

BEAUTIFULL B&B close to Greve in simply breathtaking surroundings. The house is located on the top of a hill which gives you an amazing view over the wineries. The place is quiet and peacefull but also close to Greve, Florence and Sienna. It has a very nice swimming pool as well.
Francesca is a very kind host and provide you with everything you need. She gives you the perfect holliday feeling. If you want to have a great stay in the middle of the Chianti, no need to look any further!!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cees H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My wife and stayed here 4 nights in October. The room was clean and large; very nice. The location was incredible and beautiful. We booked this based on Tripadvisor reviews, and we were not disappointed. Greve itself was an absolutely wonderful Tuscany village. Poggio was every bit as wonderful. The Garmin GPS took us right to the Poggio driveway, and that was helpful. Francesca was absolutely terrific in suggesting which villages to visit, etc. Breakfast was excellent, as was Francesca's wine and pastries on her deck! We went info Florence for a day on the Sita bus--this was easy and cheap, and a nice alternative to driving into the city. Only downside (very small) was lack of internet access, although it was available in town at the internet cafe. Would definitely recommend Poggio and Francesca's hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nabt9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greve in Chianti
2.8 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
494 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fattoria Poggiarelli
Fattoria Poggiarelli
#11 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
16 reviews
5.3 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
450 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vignamaggio
Vignamaggio
#2 of 58 in Greve in Chianti
322 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lionforti da Vico
Lionforti da Vico
#34 of 40 in Greve in Chianti
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poggio all'Olmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poggio all'Olmo

Address: Localita Petriolo 30, 50022, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Greve in Chianti
Price Range: £63 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Agriturismo poggio all'Olmo is situated 7 km from Greve in Chianti.A beautiful pool is available for the guests and apartments have a gorgeous view of the Tuscan hill ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Poggio all'Olmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poggio All'Olmo Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing