We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Locanda Il Gallo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Locanda Il Gallo
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Greve in Chianti
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Large room by European standards, excellent location for exploring the area between Florence, Pisa and Sienna, staff that want to make your stay memorable. The bonus is the restaurant that serves traditional Tuscan dishes with a bit of flare, the truffle profiteroles were excellent. The wine list was quite extensive and chosen with care. Very good 2009 Chianti Classico for 16 to 25 Euros. We spent 4 nights and enjoyed each evening meal. We would return, and recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: We were on the front and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMCMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    20
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
41
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Warm, inviting, hospitable and comfortable lodgings with excellent restaurant onsite. Very clean large room and bathroom in small village but with a bus stop on the doorstep to take you to Florence. Plenty of free parking opposite the hotel. Alessio is knowledgeable of the Chianti area and professional as a host. We stayed 6 nights and managed exploration (with our car) of the area as well as many trips into Florence to shop and/or meet bus tours to Pisa/Lucca, etc. Chiocchio is a small, very peaceful and beautiful area on the road to Greve and Panzano. We were pleased to eat in the restaurant every night - it was great food and a good price. Keep in mind that the last bus from Florence (FS SMN station) to Chiocchio leaves at 7pm, so that means you need to either drive or take a taxi after that or in the case of a bus strike! (approx Eur50). Also be aware that there are two small flights of stairs to the rooms which could be a problem if you are mobility-impaired. We found this with most places we stayed in Italy though.

Room Tip: We had a room on the street and the noise was not a problem for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 621xenawarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constanta, Romania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We chosed Locanda Il Gallo for 3 reasons: rather close to Florence, in the middle of Chianti area and based on the review of RichardinOhio. Was a bit afraid about the parking as nothing was mentioned in the description...No fears, there is plenty parking space just in front of the hotel on the other side of the road. We visited from here Florence, San Gimignano, Greve in Chianti and the surroundings. We had all our dinners at the Locanda Il Gallo and this was really a great decision. Thanks to Fabio and Alessio we enjoyed something else every evening: great meals, great wines and delicious desserts! Grazie amici!

Room Tip: Don't bother with the rooms, the food and the wines are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

In terms of elegance this would probably not be your first choice. It was charming with a good view of the surrounding hillsides. The rooms were clean and serviceable. A good starting point to rest overnight when traveling in Chianti.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dominicbr1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayside, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We picked this hotel on a whim while we were looking for a base to stay for the night while touring the "Chianti Highway". We were a little nervous when we arrived and discovered that our rooms were on the 2nd Floor (that's the 3rd floor in American terms). Not to fear, the owner scooped up each bag one at a time and had all 4 suitcases in the rooms in no time. No easy feat because of the weight of them. We were a little tired from our drive and tantalized by the scents from the kitchen wafting in the hallway, so we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant. We were so very glad that we did! Yes the food was "local fare", is that a bad thing? It was unbelievably fresh and so beautifully prepared that we felt that it was some of the best we had during our 23 days in Italy. I don't know how anyone can be “disappointed” by fresh pasta prepared in a delicate saffron (locally acquired) sauce and the most tender rabbit I have ever eaten. The owner was the most friendly and helpful guy. He recommended to us several local sites and wineries for visiting. He and his brother, who was helping in the restaurant, were just the best. They were so great that we stayed an additional day and ate in the restaurant the second night as well. We were so lucky to find this gem of a place with such wonderful people in the heart of one of the most beautiful locations in the world. All 4 of us agreed that we wished we had more time to spend here at Locanda II Gallo.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank BIzziSom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The host is very helpful and nice. The atmosphere is warm and calm and the cooking is the best I had during my 16 days stay in Italy. Try the food - it is sublime! The bus stops right in front of the hotel which is nice and easy for a single traveller without a car.

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Rikke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilminster
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

The hotel was a perfectly pleasant, unpretentious inn and was good value. It was easy to find and the private parking area opposite the hotel was very big, so ideal for a stop-over. However, we had got the impression that the restaurant was extremely good and we therefore booked half-board. This was a disappointment because the cooking was very modest. This may be because the owner is apparently too busy running the hotel to cook for the restaurant. Certainly the home-made meringues and speculaas for breakfast were delicious, but sweet nibbles for breakfast do not make up for a poor dinner.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back, which was very quiet. Those at the front, on the main road MAY be noisie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peandle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greve in Chianti hotels
4.0 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
2.6 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
7.4 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
#2 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
4.0 mi away
Albergo del Chianti
Albergo del Chianti
#5 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
4.5 mi away
Castello di Querceto
Castello di Querceto
#8 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Il Gallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Il Gallo

Property: Locanda Il Gallo
Address: Via Lando Conti 18 | Chiocchio, 50027, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Greve in Chianti
#4 Romantic Hotel in Greve in Chianti
#4 Family Hotel in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Il Gallo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel & Restaurant "Locanda il Gallo" is supplied with all comforts, for a pleasant stay. Easy to reach, is a strategic point to discover the beauty of Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Locanda Il Gallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Il Gallo Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing