We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Villa Sangiovese(Panzano in Chianti)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Villa Rosa di Boscorotondo(Panzano in Chianti)
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Le Barone(Panzano in Chianti)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$273/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Corte di Valle(Greve in Chianti)(Great Value!)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa Bordoni(Greve in Chianti)
US$239
Villa Bordoni
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$315/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lionforti da Vico(Greve in Chianti)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ancora del Chianti Eco BB & Art Retreat in Tuscany(Greve in Chianti)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B La Piazzetta(Panzano in Chianti)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
56
23
8
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
23
8
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschianti areaair conditionerstayed nightswinesflorenceregion
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018

We ate here while touring Tuscany. Let me make one thing clear immediately, we live in Italy and have toured the country from top to bottom of the boot. This is an authentic regional Italian restaurant which is well worth going out of your way to eat at. Not only did we eat extraordinarily well with homemade pasta, risotto, and wonderful meats, we were given a full and interesting explanation and history of our foods and the wines. Wonderful service, excellent food. We will most definately be back.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loralu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

We stayed 3 nights at this nice hotel. Rooms are comfortable and quiet, although the decor is rather spartan. Free parking. Great restaurant and helpful staff. Note that the hotel is not in the town of Greve itself, but about 7 km north. It is well located for touring the Chianti area.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BarbaraJeanVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessio P, Proprietario at Locanda Il Gallo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thanks for your review, this will help us improve.
A warm welcome, looking forward to host you again at the "Locanda il Gallo"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

Excellent location to explore the Chianti area and Florence, the attached restaurant is a huge bonus, see separate review. Parking was easy straight across the road from the hotel. A bus stops right out the front for Florence, runs regularly weekdays but not often on a weekend. We drove into Florence on a Sunday and as a result of Alessio's recommendation found parking quite close to the centre.
The room was spacious, very clean, and had a very effective air conditioner which was needed in July. Had a room at the back which was very quiet.
Breakfast was lovely downstairs in the restaurant, enjoyed the fresh fruit and coffee.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NswAustraliaDidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessio P, Proprietario at Locanda Il Gallo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear NswAustraliaDidi,
thanks for yours valuable feedback, we are happy you appreciated our service and your stay with us.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Locanda il Gallo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

We first came here 10 years ago. It was good then, now even better. Alessio again made us feel very welcome and it was see Francisco has returned from his travels. First night as it was Mrs T's birthday we had the florentine steak with a bottle of Vicchiomaggio Agostino Petri 2013 served at perfect temperature.
The rooms have been upgraded and all have air con. The food is first class and served in a very friendly manner. The hotel is situated in perfect place to visit all of Tuscany.
Many thanks to Alessio and the team. We will be back.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mickyt-Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessio P, Direttore at Locanda Il Gallo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Dear Micky,
So many thanks for your kind words, which spur us to do better and to always give our best to our dear customers.
Thanks again and a sincere greeting, waiting to meet again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

The owner of this hotel is very polite, helpful and friendly. We did no have a booking when we arrived and he was more than happy to accomodate is. We were given room 22 (one of the rooms with a balcony. The view was stunning. The room was a reasonable size and the bed was quite comfortable.

The negatives: the shower was horribly small and the shower head did not work very well. The road also has a bit of noise for what you associate with the countryside. Fortunately the night was quiet and we had a good sleep.

Breakfast was an average Italian meal- some cakes to choose room, a little fruit, coffee etc.

Overall, very lovely little place to stay.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank oostell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews