We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Atmosphere was terrific, great place to stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greve in Chianti
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fattoria e Villa di Rignana
Peachtree Corners, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Atmosphere was terrific, great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

This villa is well worth the trek to get to it. Very peaceful, rooms and bath were spacious and very clean. Breakfast was amazing! The infinity pool was gorgeous and overlooked the Tuscan Hills. A perfect place to sit out at night as well. They have an honor system for drinks and wine at your leisure. The wine tasting was very good - we bought 6! Dinner at La Cantinetta was terrific and reasonably priced especially if you consider the captive audience! There were a number of people who made the trip to the cantina just for dinner. You overlook the vineyards that were the source of the wine you are enjoying! Would highly recommend!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    24
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
66
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

The Fattoria di Rignana is a wonderful place to stay. It is warm and cozy throughout, with beautiful furnishings in the apartments and common areas. The grounds and views are stunning, including an infinity pool to help you relax and take it all in. There is an honour system for the wine they produce, and a really nice breakfast as well. The Cantinetta is a 2 minute walk away and is one of the best restaurants I have dined in.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m_jen45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We spent a week at the Fattoria di Rignana and loved it! The team at Rignana is caring and warm and made sure that we had everything we needed. Breakfasts were very enjoyable and we had a great time as a family taking part in the cooking class one evening. The apartment was very comfortable and spacious, and the pool was actually quite breathtaking. A great visit and nice location to experience Chianti and Florence. Wonderful to have the Rignana restaurant right next door.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFJF_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

If you are passing anywhere near Florence, this is the place to stay. If you can forgive the unpaved road to reach Rignana, you will be very pleased with everything else about this lovely place. The grounds are beautiful, surrounded by vineyards, with a large swimming pool available for guests. There is a villa with large rooms facing the back, containing the largest and prettiest rooms, and the main section of the property with rooms facing the courtyard and/or gardens. The breakfast, offered in the dining room of the main property, is one of the best we've enjoyed in Italy B&Bs, with cereals, yoghurts, meats and cheeses, fruits, breakfast pastries aplenty, delicious jams, etc. Truly something for every taste.

Within a 2 minute walk of the property there is a wonderful restaurant so you don't have to drive back into one of the surrounding towns to eat (except for Tuesdays, when it is closed). It specializes in meats (including the amazing bisteca Fiorentina) but also has divine pastas (especially those mezza lunas with truffles!).

Rignana Staff was helpful and unobtrusive. We found the Manager, Simona, to be particularly efficient and helpful, offering outstanding information about the area: restaurants, things to see/do, etc.

The Villa Rignana is such a lovely place, it is in great demand for weddings - and there is even a little chapel on the property - so for weekends in season reservations can be harder to book. However, during the week it is quiet and peaceful. The location is excellent for touring Tuscany, especially around Florence.

We stayed in the room named "Annamita", which was perhaps one of Rignana's most beautiful...canopy bed, antiques, huge bathroom with plenty of amenities.

All in all, this is a wonderful place and definitely one of our top 10 favorite places to stay in Italy when visiting Tuscany. We look forward to our return!

Room Tip: The Annamita was our favorite - probably the nicest. I believe any in the Villa are lovely, and per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silverwings928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

It is not easy to find, and then it is not easy to leave! This is a place to come to find incredible vistas and wine and food. The staff is warm and extremely solicitous. The honor wine system is a novelty and the wines are superb. The antipasto that they served us when we arrived after a long drive and some misguided directions was overwhelming. We never thought we would eat it all - bur somehow.... And then on to the Cantinetta for a late dinner. What could possibly be better!!! Oh yes - to bring a group of friends to share this magical place with. That is on my bucket list.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrya_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Although a bit tricky to find, the hassle is worth it as when you arrive in Rignana you definitely feel like you will never want to leave! Rooms are very pleasantly decorated, the farm has definitely a "home away from home feel", with stunning landscape over the hills of Chianti.

Add to this the excellent wine and olive oil produced organically on site as well as the ultimate gem: the adjacent chapel...
Charming, charming, charming!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VM1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Main Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

This was one of our favourite places in Italy. The fattoria is isolated down a gravel road - but it is so worth it!
We experienced peace and tranquility for three nights. Lovely staff - a big thank you to Samuela and Lourdes -nothing was too much trouble. Fantastic breakfast - the best croissants. Excellent value for money! We stayed in the Red Room - it had the best view overlooking the Tuscan
countryside, but all the rooms are large with lovely furnishings.We enjoyed a great meal at the Cantinetta nearby but also cooked a couple of times in the little guest kitchen and ate outside in the courtyard. We bought veges, eggs and mushrooms and enjoyed some simple meals with
some of Rignana's wine.
We were easily able to drive to Siena and the lovely little fortress town of Monteriggioni one day, and San Gimignano and Greve in Chianti the following day.
We enjoyed a wine tasting late one afternoon which was interesting.
We went for a walk along the road as far as it goes and soaked up the Tuscan countryside.
Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2-Red-Kiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greve in Chianti
3.0 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
2.0 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
3.4 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
#2 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
#5 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Rignana
Villa Rignana
#28 of 59 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria e Villa di Rignana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria e Villa di Rignana

Property: Fattoria e Villa di Rignana
Address: Localita Rignana 15, 50022, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Greve in Chianti
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fattoria and Villa di Rignana has 16 spacious and cozy double bedrooms in total, offering a B&B service from April to Novemberand from one to more nights stay. Each room has a private en-suite bathroom and is furnished with taste and particular attention to detail to ensure different styles and atmosphere. The large garden and infinity pool are ideal locations to completely relax and soak up the sweeping panorama and sunset of the Chianti hills. NB Fattoria and Villa di Rignana Not to be confused with Relais Villa Rignana, same location but different premises! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fattoria Di Rignana And Villa Stella Hotel Greve In Chianti
Fattoria e Villa Di Rignana Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing