We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!!”
Review of Villa Bordoni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Bordoni
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Greve in Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I have been negligent in not reviewing sooner. We stayed here in March 2013 with our college age daughter who was studying in Italy for the semester and couldn't have been happier!! The hotel and all the people working there were so charming, extremely warm and helpful. The views were spectacular. Our room was beautifully furnished and had an upstairs loft that our daughter stayed in...perfect for one person up there. The only downside was sharing one bathroom for 3 but clearly we managed fine. Took the cooking class run by Colin one evening, with a family from California. Lots of wine, delicious food that we helped Colin prepare, and laughter. Breakfast every morning was wonderful as was early evening wine and appetizers. Overall would highly recommend Villa Bordoni but a word of caution: for the initial arrival, come during daylight hours as it is really tricky to find! Hope to return when our travels take us back to Tuscany!!! Truly a gem!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

As a frequent traveler, I am well aware of the disparity that exists in the levels of quality with accommodations and the value of exceptional customer service. I have been visiting Villa Bordoni since 2008 and having spent an extensive amount of the past 10 years traveling in Italy and Tuscany specifically, I have found it very hard to find a hotel that exudes the warmth and family feel that is so much of the personality of Italy and one that makes a travel experience so special you want to return. Villa Bordoni is one of these places and everything about it is done with genuine warmth, care and attention to detail. Owners David and Catherine Gardner are wonderful people and gracious hosts and it is obvious they are passionate about how they operate their gem of a hotel. The staff of Ricardo and Farida at reception to Hugo and his team in the restaurant- which is exceptional- excels at providing attentive and personalized service. I have enjoyed wine tastings and cooking lessons with David; I’ve made special requests in the restaurant; had early breakfasts, late check-outs, car transfers and have repeatedly enjoyed the friendly environment that the staff creates in the entire villa.

At many hotels, first class service by the owners and a caring staff in comfortable luxury in a picture perfect setting with exceptional food and wine is difficult to pull off, and Villa Bordoni succeeds at this and much more. Small hotels need to excel at the personalized touch and it is what I believe defines Villa Bordoni and sets it apart. I am already looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank veloclassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed for two nights with our college aged daughter and were so pleased by the experience.

The restaurant on property is so exceptional it provides an added level of relaxation knowing you simply need to walk up the stairs to bed.

The rooms are quaint, but have modern touches that make you realize you are not at your grandmothers bed & breakfast.

We would highly encourage the cooking class. We not only giggled and got our hands into the meal we enjoyed later that night, but have used the recipes we learned when we got home.

Villa Bordoni is exceptional. I wish I knew of similar properties throughout Italy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VitoSanDiegoCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed here as part of a rather large bike tour group.

The driveway leading to the property is, indeed, Mr. Toad's Wild Ride. I would NOT negotiate it by car in the dark unless your nick-name is "Daredevil (no, should I say, Reckless) Dave!"

The owner is a Scottish transplant. While nice enough, he attempted, at every opportunity, to impress us with his Italian language skills. We spent an hour + with him in a fatiguing wine tasting where he spoke to his assistant in Italian -- who clearly spoke English. No one knew what he was saying to him -- he could have been insulting all of us, for that matter. 1st rule of language ethics 1A -- if you speak more than one language, do not be rude to those who are unilingual -- speak the language understood by the most people in the group.

And, it does not take 1.5 hours to describe, taste and evaluate 4 wines. Indeed, by the time we sat for dinner it was nearly 10 pm.

Our room had a great garden view, but its set-up was awkward. Once you entered the room, you then had to negotiate a rather dangerous interior stairway to get to the bed and bathroom. The shower and bathroom, I must say however, were a welcome delight to our prior Tuscan digs where the water pressure was very low. Here, the shower flowed freely with warm relaxing pressure to our tired muscles.

The staff were friendly and the continental breakfasts were excellent. The dinners were relatively good, but you were basically stuck there for dinner in view of the road/approach to and from the property.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The hotel is very private and intimate, with nicely laid out rooms and large bathrooms in a singular structure with bar, restaurant, gardens, all right downstairs. The owner is present and knows his wine cellar quite well and can recommend the best local pairings with your meals. The restaurant is very good and the pasta is made fresh in the kitchen. The characters that run the hotel with David are interesting and part of the experience, Zuman is your breakfast host, Ricardo your front desk during the week, and Hugo works the restaurant at night. All will remember your preferences and make it easy to be comfortable. It's a nice bike down to Greve and back, (the hotel bikes could benefit from a little love), still it's a great ride. I think it's a lovely base for exploring the Greve area. Visit the large enoteca in Greve for 150 wines in vino techs for tasting and as always the market is in town Saturdays.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

A group of work-friends enjoyed the authentic Italian cookery course at Villa Bordoni and what an exceptional and fun experience. Set in the old farmhouse with lovely local wines flowing we learnt the art of fresh pasta making with an outstanding pancetta source and a slow cooked Italian beef stew. Our host, David, was full of facts about the region, historical stories and a passion for cookery.

In between our tasks we wandered outside to look at the rolling countryside and vinyards, with truly beautiful views.

We ate what we cooked and felt like masterchefs for a couple of hours! Albeit a bit inebriated.

If you are looking at visiting take the time to learn how to cook Tuscan style, it is worth every penny and second.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianc152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 2 week holiday in Italy with a 4 day stop in Tuscany. Despite the drive getting to Villa Bordoni, we had the most amazing stay and the villa was certainly a highlight of our trip. We absolutely loved the property, our room, the food, and the staff. Our GPS took us a horrible way up to the property and when we got there, my husband (who has acrophobia) was about to pass out. Ricardo took control - got him settled with a glass of wine and some snacks (even though we were between meals). Our room - the Cologne suite was exceptional - perfectly decorated! Ricardo and Farida were fabulous in helping us arrange a fantastic day with a private driver and personalized drive to special hamlets in Chianti, a great lunch at Ristoro di Lamole with beautiful panoramic views and a very special visit with Carlo at Savignola Paolina winery. Hugo was also amazing - seeing to our every whim in the evenings including bringing dinner to our room one night because the dining room was full and the staff thought we were eating in Florence that night. We loved it and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelheart11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greve in Chianti
3.8 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
501 reviews
11.0 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
706 reviews
1.6 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
562 reviews
1.4 mi away
Albergo del Chianti
Albergo del Chianti
#6 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
269 reviews
5.5 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Bordoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bordoni

Address: Via San Cresci 31 - 32, 50022, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greve in Chianti
#1 Green Hotel in Greve in Chianti
#3 Family Hotel in Greve in Chianti
Price Range: £149 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Bordoni 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Bordoni, a sophisticated country house hotel, nestles in the grey-green hills immediately above the town of Greve, in the heart of the Chianti Classico region of Tuscany. This 16th-century noble villa commands an extraordinary vantage point over the unspoiled Chianti hills and their biblical landscape of vineyards, terraced olive groves and forest... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Bordoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Bordoni Hotel Greve In Chianti
Bordoni Hotel Greve In Chianti
Villa Bordoni Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing