We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscan Treasure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Bordoni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Bordoni
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Greve in Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tuscan Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were looking for "something different" to end our two week holiday visiting different parts of Italy in July of 2013. And we found it!! We nearly didn't visit Villa Bordoni, having already pre - booked another Villa close by, but having read an article in "Delicious" the UK food magazine, that all changed.
The article described how the Scottish owners Catherine and David Gardner had taken on a ramshackle villa and turned it into a beautifully restored country house hotel. Both tourist and locals alike frequent the Villa to enjoy the traditional Tuscan food that is prepared with passion and care, using herbs and vegetables grown in the walled garden. The staff are passionate and extremely helpful in every way. Both Catherine and David are "hands on" with the day to day running of what feels like their home, not just their business.
The rooms are restored and decorated with attention to historic detail, but still managing to include every modern convenience. The food is superb, and the wine ....... what can you say!
Italy at its best.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJSaHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    39
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
107
333
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

This hotel was the best place we could find in Toscana. Right from the start, the hotel showed its great service. We arrived very late because my wife felt sick during the road trip to Greve in Chianti. Even though it was 3 AM they tried to get a doctor to help my wife, In the end they even made her special dishes until she felt better and started drinking wine and eating boar! the place is beautiful and the food and wines amazing. I can't think of a better place in Toscana.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jpfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

This hotel was simply a different experience. The ambiance, the landscape, the decoration, the smells, the lighting, the food... everything was amazing and delicious. Our bedroom was really nice, a big room, very cozy and well decorated. The restaurant is simply one of the best we went to in Tuscany, the service was great as well, really professionals and warm at the same time. The Hotel was full but they had everything under control. If you are looking for an unique experience and whilling to drive to get there Bordoni is the place to go.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

I kept meaning to write the review and had not got around to it. Wonderful setting in the Tuscan hills, with a rustic villa that has been renovated to make comfortable but still retaining the feel of it's surroundings and in keeping with its past.

The service is impeccable, with charming and attentive hosts with a keen eye for detail and pride in their hotel. The food is exceptional , with friendly and attentive staff, who are very engaging and can talk through the menu with expertise.

And all very relaxed, so easy to stay in Bordoni and let the days tick by.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GlenFa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

I have been negligent in not reviewing sooner. We stayed here in March 2013 with our college age daughter who was studying in Italy for the semester and couldn't have been happier!! The hotel and all the people working there were so charming, extremely warm and helpful. The views were spectacular. Our room was beautifully furnished and had an upstairs loft that our daughter stayed in...perfect for one person up there. The only downside was sharing one bathroom for 3 but clearly we managed fine. Took the cooking class run by Colin one evening, with a family from California. Lots of wine, delicious food that we helped Colin prepare, and laughter. Breakfast every morning was wonderful as was early evening wine and appetizers. Overall would highly recommend Villa Bordoni but a word of caution: for the initial arrival, come during daylight hours as it is really tricky to find! Hope to return when our travels take us back to Tuscany!!! Truly a gem!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

As a frequent traveler, I am well aware of the disparity that exists in the levels of quality with accommodations and the value of exceptional customer service. I have been visiting Villa Bordoni since 2008 and having spent an extensive amount of the past 10 years traveling in Italy and Tuscany specifically, I have found it very hard to find a hotel that exudes the warmth and family feel that is so much of the personality of Italy and one that makes a travel experience so special you want to return. Villa Bordoni is one of these places and everything about it is done with genuine warmth, care and attention to detail. Owners David and Catherine Gardner are wonderful people and gracious hosts and it is obvious they are passionate about how they operate their gem of a hotel. The staff of Ricardo and Farida at reception to Hugo and his team in the restaurant- which is exceptional- excels at providing attentive and personalized service. I have enjoyed wine tastings and cooking lessons with David; I’ve made special requests in the restaurant; had early breakfasts, late check-outs, car transfers and have repeatedly enjoyed the friendly environment that the staff creates in the entire villa.

At many hotels, first class service by the owners and a caring staff in comfortable luxury in a picture perfect setting with exceptional food and wine is difficult to pull off, and Villa Bordoni succeeds at this and much more. Small hotels need to excel at the personalized touch and it is what I believe defines Villa Bordoni and sets it apart. I am already looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank veloclassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed for two nights with our college aged daughter and were so pleased by the experience.

The restaurant on property is so exceptional it provides an added level of relaxation knowing you simply need to walk up the stairs to bed.

The rooms are quaint, but have modern touches that make you realize you are not at your grandmothers bed & breakfast.

We would highly encourage the cooking class. We not only giggled and got our hands into the meal we enjoyed later that night, but have used the recipes we learned when we got home.

Villa Bordoni is exceptional. I wish I knew of similar properties throughout Italy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VitoSanDiegoCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greve in Chianti
1.6 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
11.0 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
8.1 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
14.0 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Bordoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bordoni

Property: Villa Bordoni
Address: Via San Cresci 31 - 32, 50022, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greve in Chianti
#1 Green Hotel in Greve in Chianti
#3 Family Hotel in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Bordoni 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Bordoni, a sophisticated country house hotel, nestles in the grey-green hills immediately above the town of Greve, in the heart of the Chianti Classico region of Tuscany. This 16th-century noble villa commands an extraordinary vantage point over the unspoiled Chianti hills and their biblical landscape of vineyards, terraced olive groves and forest... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Villa Bordoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Bordoni Hotel Greve In Chianti
Bordoni Hotel Greve In Chianti
Villa Bordoni Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing