We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and beautiful stay in Chianti”
Review of Villa Bordoni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Bordoni
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Greve in Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
new york
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Charming and beautiful stay in Chianti”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This was the perfect place to stay to enjoy the heart of Chianti. The staff was very welcoming and very helpful when we had questions about the area. The rooms were beautiful and very clean and comfortable. The location was up a hill and onto a dirt road but once acquainted with the area it was easy to maneuver and scenery was beautiful. We took an afternoon cooking class with the owner David and had the best time learning various techniques including making fresh pasta-- lots of fun. They also served the best breakfast that we had in Italy and France! Dinner was delicious too!

It was a perfect place to stay while celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank begee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    39
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
111
358
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I wanted to visit tuscany for a few days over easter with our 6 month old daughter, the first trip the three of us had made together. What we wanted: small hotel in a beautiful setting; relaxing atmosphere; good food; lots of day trips possible. What we got: all of the above PLUS the friendliest, most helpful welcome and service throughout the time we were there. I really cannot praise villa bordoni enough, they were incredibly helpful with our baby and it really does feel like you are staying in a family home but with the privacy and quality you expect from a boutique hotel. The restaurant is excellent and having spent the previous two night holed up in an average hotel in Florence it was great to be able to enjoy fine dining in a relaxed environment and not having to worry about babysitting for our daughter.

Thanks guys we had a great time! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank ar7664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We spent three glorious nights at Villa Bordoni. Hospitality and service were excellent. Luxurious accommodations. Fantastic breakfasts outdoors. Dinner in the dining room was excellent. Only very minor complaint is that the menu is somewhat limited. Overall it was an amazing stay and we would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

A beautiful location in the heart of Tuscany. Definitely a great place for a romantic or rustic getaway. Lovely gardens and pool (it was too cool for that when we were there). The staff were friendly and helpful. Others have spoken of its charm and also that it can be a bit tricky to get there. The key is to follow the instructions from their website rather than your GPS, as that will give you the correct way to get there from Greve in Chianti. Also, I recommend you make reservations at the (excellent) restaurant so you won't have to go out on the narrow, unlit roads (and also so that you'll be able to enjoy the local wine with your dinner and still drive). You'll find that this is a hidden secret well worth the journey. Now, on to the restaurant review...

Room Tip: The family room has two bedrooms with a spacious living room with TV and books, so you could easily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeffOnTheRoad2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at Villa Bordoni for 4 nights and it was awesome!!! The room was well furnished, clean, comfortable and had a gorgeous view. The pool area is beautiful and very tranquil. All the food was excellent - outdoor eating area is great. We did a cooking class with Chef Collin which was so much fun and dinner was delicious! Highly recommend the cooking class.The staff were extremely attentive and helpful. The service was amazing - very first class! Ricardo and Farida were wonderful!!! This Villa may have a dirt road leading to it but it is without question a Luxury Villa!!! I totally recommend it!

Room Tip: We stayed in Montefili room - beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lgs479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights during our honeymoon trip to Italy. We had a little difficulty finding it at first because our GPS stopped working once we drove off the main roads. We accidentally drove onto the wrong dirt road and got lost but after re-tracing our steps to the main road we were able to follow signs to the villa.

We decided to try their restaurant the first night we were there since we had read raving reviews. I notified them that I was vegan ahead of time and confirmed that they would be able to accommodate my diet. Our waiter was really friendly and attentive. The chef personally came to chat with me before we ordered to ensure that I would have a wonderful vegan meal - which I did! (see our photos!) This meal proved to be one of the best from our entire 2-week long trip and I could not have asked for more! We ate there again on our third night which proved to be just as wonderful.

We stayed in the San Cresci room. It had a beautiful view and even a small second level loft with a daybed. Our room also had a 3d tv and bluray player which enabled us to stay up-to-date on Game of Thrones!

The grounds are lovely and we enjoyed doing yoga outside with the gorgeous views. Unfortunately it was too cold out to swim while we were there, but the pool area was very nice.

There are many wineries within a short driving distance. One day, we drove out to Castello di Brolio which was definitely worth the drive for the beautiful scenery along the way and the fun of visiting a real life castle.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much!

Room Tip: upper floors have more of a view of the countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank iluvpinkerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

This luxury villa in the hills of Chianti Tuscany has both rustic charm and modern updates. This is possible because the villa was a dilapidated 16th century old building when it was purchased by a Scottish couple in 2002 and lovingly renovated over three years to its current glory. The meticulous planning in the villa's design is evident. The interior is gorgeously furnished with thoughtful attention to every private room and public space. The villa manages to exude luxury without stuffy pretentiousness and it's filled with vintage odds and ends.

We stayed in the Montefioralle suite - also known as the Honeymoon Room. This is a beautiful and colorful room with the best view the villa offers. The suite has a small walk-in closet, a gorgeous tub in the bedroom, a comfortable bed adorned with a sweeping canopy, and a spacious bathroom with marble double sinks and the most amazing tiled shower. There were small touches which added to our comfort such as a fresh jar of water by our bed each night to closing the shutters and blinds for the evening. We also took advantage of the villa's free DVD rentals and watched a couple movies on the high definition 3D flat screen television in our room (yes, they even have 3D glasses you can borrow).

At breakfast, there is a spread of breads, warm croissants, salumi and cheese, jams, fruit, yogurt, cereal, and fresh juices. Add to that a nice cappuccino and we had a perfect start to every morning. In the afternoon, we would enjoy a glass of Prosecco in the sunny garden (the cute bar is open 8am to midnight).

What makes Villa Bordoni a 5-star for me is its phenomenal restaurant. We planned a whirlwind trip across Italy and this was to be the "relaxing" part of our journey. Once we arrived at the villa, we didn't leave. For three straight days, we enjoyed lunch and dinner in the restaurant. The food is fantastic and the chef, Colin, is hugely talented. I'll go into more detail on the restaurant's separate TripAdvisor page. This was some of the BEST food we had in Italy. We also did the cooking class with Colin one afternoon and it ended up being our favorite dinner of the week. We made focaccia bread, fresh spaghetti pasta, pomodoro sauce, chicken thighs with artichokes, and tiramisu. I'm an avid cook but I definitely learned a few tips and techniques I can't wait to try at home. I highly recommend the cooking class - it's worth every cent!

I can't write this review without mentioning the excellent staff at Villa Bordoni. Every person we encountered was a consummate professional. The owners have done a great job at hand selecting fine individuals to help run this villa. Because it's a small operation, each person needs the willingness and ability to handle a variety of possible tasks. I have to say they achieved this flawlessly.

My husband and I feel so fortunate to have spent a few wonderful days of our honeymoon at Villa Bordoni. It truly is a special place - the kind that already has us talking about when we can come back again.

------------------
A quick note about getting to/from Villa Bordoni if you do not have a rental car. We took a SITA bus from Florence SMN to the center of Greve in Chianti (about €3 and only 1 hour). Then the villa arranged for us to be picked up (small fee of €15). This is a really easy and low-cost option if you don't want to spend a ton of money on a private driver to/from Florence.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Day B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greve in Chianti
11.0 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
655 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
521 reviews
1.6 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
468 reviews
8.1 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
524 reviews
14.0 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Bordoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bordoni

Property: Villa Bordoni
Address: Via San Cresci 31 - 32, 50022, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greve in Chianti
#1 Green Hotel in Greve in Chianti
#3 Family Hotel in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Bordoni 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Bordoni, a sophisticated country house hotel, nestles in the grey-green hills immediately above the town of Greve, in the heart of the Chianti Classico region of Tuscany. This 16th-century noble villa commands an extraordinary vantage point over the unspoiled Chianti hills and their biblical landscape of vineyards, terraced olive groves and forest... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa Bordoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Bordoni Hotel Greve In Chianti
Bordoni Hotel Greve In Chianti
Villa Bordoni Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing