We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Charming Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castello di Lamole

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Greve in Chianti
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castello di Lamole
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Greve in Chianti
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“A Charming Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2009

Although it has been over two years since we stayed at the Castello di Lamole, after reading the critical reviews I felt it important to share our wonderful experience. We stayed four nights and have nothing but great things to say.

Upon arrival we were met by a very pleasant individual, Marissa, who was most helpful throughout our stay. She showed us to our nice apartment, with a stunning view across the vineyards, to the church and the village of Lamole. The two level apartment was quaint and welcoming. We especially enjoyed the small terrace outside where we often relaxed with some cheese, meat, and a bottle of local wine.

Each morning we enjoyed a nice breakfast, with a wide selection of cereal, meat, cheese, jams, juice etc. It provided a great opportunity to meet and chat with other guests. The Castello also has an on-site restaurant - the Aia dei Canti, serving very good regional Tuscan meals. Of special interest was the mini-concert performed by Ricardo Marasco, the owner, and a well- known Italian folksinger, after dinner on Saturday evening. Unfortunately we don't speak Italian, but judging by the laughter of the full restaurant there were no doubt some very funny lyrics.

Lamole provides a good base for day trips through the Tuscan countryside. Nearby are Greve in Chianti, Volpai, Panzano, and Radda in Chianti, all of which have charm and a selection of restaurants. Nearby, we enjoyed a very memorable dinner at the Ristorante di Lamole, in the village of Lamole, a pleasant 1 km walk from the Castello. Centrally located day trips to either Florence or Sienna are easily doable in a day.

We thought our stay at the Castello di Lamole was perfect. If you are interested in a rural setting, the location, the apartment, the food, and the hospitality of Ricardo, his wife and Marissa all made for a most enjoyable stay. We would return in a minute, without hesitation.

  • Liked — Friendly owner and staff, with the charm of the Castello and views a close second
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NSMoosehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    6
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2008

Castello di Lamole is truly a unique and amazing holiday location in the heart of Tuscany. If you are looking for something really special and want to experience the true spirit of Tuscany, we can strongly recommend Castello di Lamole! Castello di Lamole is rustic in a very charming way indeed. So if you are looking for satellite TV, room service and air conditioning, Castello di Lamole is probably not for you; but if you appreciate peace of mind and the genuine spirit of Tuscany, you will love Castello di Lamole.

We have visited Castello di Lamole four times by now; and we still keep coming back for special occasions. We usually don’t go to the same holiday location twice; but in the case of Castello di Lamole we just cannot get enough: the location, the local restaurant, the way the host family is treating us as family members, etc. If you are lucky, Simonetta may be in the kitchen preparing her divine Ribollita.

Castello di Lamole is located in the heart of Tuscany right between Firenze and Siena. The local villages are Panzano and Greve in Chanti - for example, have the morning espresso at the main square of Greve in Chanti, get fresh bread and fruit from the market and Pecorino cheese as well; meat however, you would want to buy from the local butcher in Panzano who probably cuts the best “Bistecca di Fiorentina” in Tuscany. And if you are smart enough to visit during the wine harvesting period in September, everybody is enjoying the local wine tasting festivals.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2008

We are greatly looking forward to our third visit to Castello di Lamole in June 2008, and we consider it to be a wonderful place for a Tuscan vacation. It really is a medieval castello, a kind of tiny fortified village, high up in the hills above Greve, with marvellous views of the valley below -- and with an amazing chorus of Italian birdsong in the early morning. Our apartment was appropriately rustic and very comfortable, with kitchen facilities for light meals, beautiful interior stone walls, and a garden with a view. One of the particular delights of Castello di Lamole is the friendly, helpful and hospitable Marasco family, including Riccardo, who beautifully sings Tuscan folk songs in the restaurant at dinner time. Castello di Lamole is truly one of the most pleasant places we have ever stayed in. -- J&C, Vancouver, Canada

  • Stayed May 2004, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandCVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2007

In September, my husband and daughter and I stayed at this beautiful old castle in Lamole. We followed a winding road that took us up the vine covered slopes just south of Greve in Chianti, knocked-out by the green and sumptuous beauty that enveloped us. We were expecting to find an old Castle behind a ring of walls, but that was not to be the case. The walls had been torn down centuries before during the long wars between Florence and Siena. The rest of the buildings have now been refurbished to create a dozen good sized apartments, all of them done in a rustic Tuscan style. Our apartment was large, clean, well-furnished, well equipped, comfortable and quiet. We'd go back tomorrow if we could! Highlight of the stay was our dinner in the Castello's small restaurant when the owner, who turned out to be the famous Tuscan folksinger, Riccardo Marasco, began singing for his guests. This man's voice is designed for the public piazza - he sang beautifully without benefit of amplification. Truly magical!

Helpful?
2 Thank joanandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveller0007
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2007

It was far more basic than I expected, but most of all I felt unwelcome by the proprietors. They lost my reservation and moved me to another room which was not what I expected. The manager did not seem to care. After two nights we moved to another property near Castelina in Chianti where we treated with warmth and respect. I would not recommend Castello di Lamole.

  • Liked — scenery
  • Disliked — rude manager
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2007

When travelling in Italy, there is nothing like the warm hospitality that so many Italians show their guests -- it's what keeps me coming back to this beautiful country. But this place, while surrounded by beautiful old buildings and scenery, was as cold as ice. We checked in near the same time as some italian-speaking guests -- the difference in how we were treated was dramatic. Let's just say that it was clear as to whom was made to feel more welcome.

After checking in, my ten-year old daughter was exploring the property and picked a flower from the vine near our apartment to put at our sitting area. As she picked the flower, an older woman, presumably from the owner's family, started yelling at her. And I mean yelling! Her treatment of my daughter was entirely uncalled for. She is a guest too! She would have let the flowers be if asked politely and calmly.

From that moment on, we were made to feel unwelcome. And my daughter felt like she was being watched like a hawk.

If you want some warm Italian hospitality during your trip, stay anywhere but here.

  • Liked — scenery, location
  • Disliked — treatment by staff
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank globetrotter1053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2007

In 25 years of working in the tourism/travel industry, I have never been treated with the level of disrespect that I have been shown by Castello di Lamole. I do not believe the management conducts their business with honesty and integrity. Do not give them your business! Just stay away for your own protection.

I reserved three apartments in May/07. Two apartments were used, but I had to cancel one reservation for family reasons. I was told they would apply my deposit to a future reservation. Fair enough.

I applied my deposit to a future reservation, had full and complete confirmation, they had my deposit money in the bank, then out of the blue I received notification that my reserved apartment was no longer available, they would move me to another apartment. It was the same trick they pulled with members of my family in May when they checked in: they tried to move them to the same lesser apartment (indoor access with far less privacy).

Given that they chose to sell my reserved apartment to other guests, I respectfully asked for my deposit to be refunded, but they flatly declined, saying it is non-refundable. The fight for the original apartment proved futile, so I reluctantly accepted the lesser apartment. Upon giving in, they then informed me that the new apartment was no longer available for all of my dates; I would have to check out two days early, and pay for the two vacant days prior to check-in to align with their Saturday-Saturday blocks (contrary to their previous correspondence and reservation confirmations).

They have my money, but twice (three times including my other family members) chose not to honour the reservation!
I asked again for my deposit to be returned so that I could stay elsewhere, and they said I forfeited it long ago. Their correspondence to me was arrogant, condescending, dismissive, insulting.

I have no choice but to stay elsewhere. But they still have my money! I feel it is now stolen from me. In summary, what happened here is a classic case of a business being very accommodating before they receive your deposit, then as soon as they have your non-refundable money in the bank, they change the rules for their own benefit, knowing their guests are powerless on another continent. They gradually squeezed me out of their property -- now they will have their apartments full PLUS an additional deposit for a guest they cannot accommodate! Disgraceful.

In my view, Castello di Lamole has no integrity. For them it is all about getting as much money as they can, however they can get it.

If you choose to go there, be prepared to get bumped.

Support businesses that treat you with respect, honesty and integrity.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Treatment by Management was Disrespectful
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank WestCoastOriginal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greve in Chianti hotels
4.3 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
2.5 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
5.5 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fattoria Poggiarelli
Fattoria Poggiarelli
#10 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
3.0 mi away
Albergo Giovanni da Verrazzano
Albergo Giovanni da Verrazzano
#14 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
6.4 mi away
Casprini Da Omero
Casprini Da Omero
#17 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Lamole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Lamole

Property: Castello di Lamole
Address: Via di Lamole | Castello di Lamole - Panzano, 50020, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming accommodation in suite and apartments with Tuscan restaurant at Castello Di Lamole, surrounded by woods and vineyards of Chianti Classico. Guests who arrive in the Castle give themselves up to the quiet of an ancient atmosphere carefully recreated in every detail, with passion for the protection of the past and defense of the ancient and precious traditions of Tuscany. Castello di Lamole is the ideal base to visit the most important Tuscan art cities and towns famous for their wines. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castello Di Lamole Hotel
Castello Di Lamole Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing