We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa San Michele

Villa San Michele
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greve in Chianti
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa San Michele
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We had a very warm welcome from the lovely couple who run the facility after we hiked the 10km from Greve. It is a wonderful place to stay in a beautiful setting on the mountain. The restaurant is excellent, and we were treated to a very nice breakfast. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a large room at the front of the building which was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0han1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Austinmer
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Day three of our self guided walk through Tuscany, had the Designated Spouse Equivalent and I arrive here at around lunchtime - much earlier than most walkers who apparently found the charms of Greve alluring enough to detain them beyond the early morning. We were glad we arrived when we did as the husband and wife team, complete with young son and grandparents could not have been more welcoming.

The 'hunting lodge' theme, the huge open fire, even the TV blaring out Moto GP added to the experience. The food cooked up by the man of the house was astonishingly good. I had a rabbit ragout with fresh pasta which was the best thing I ate in Italy. Washed down with a bottle of good house wine, we napped after lunch in our very cute little apartment after firing up the range. Awake early evening to watch the sun set over the hills was humbling, uplifting and calming all at once. The autumn colours, that softly softly light, just made the appetite sing towards the evening meal which was served up without notice of what was coming, three superb courses and then a local hazelnut mouse of some sort that was a heart attack in every mouthful. The hosts appeared often, solicitously at our table and could not have been more engaging.

A memorable and deeply satisfying experience.

Dirt on the patio ? Plastci furniture ? who cares - you're in the middle of national park and you will be hard pressed to have a better meal with more convivial hosts in all of Chianti.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stemar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

I stayed for three nights and the experience was wonderful. This family run hotel/restaurant 10 kilometers out of Greve was beautiful. Rustic room (no TV) was small but clean and comfortable. The hotel is located in a park and it was wonderful to wander the trails. The food was the best part. The house wine was great and cheap. Pastas were excellent and the salads very fresh. Only made room for dessert once and it was worth it. I'd highly recommend this hotel to travelers with an adventuresome spirit (it isn't a chain style). There is a hostel building for larger groups which I didn't get to see inside.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Peaks, WA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

We found this place quite by accident, and it was a welcome site. We were bicycling through Tuscany and staying off the beaten track. To find a nice hotel like this in the middle of a pristine national park and so far from any towns is quite amazing. Contrary to the other reviewers, we found it to be quite lovely, and the staff helpful and friendly. It is a simple place with simple fare, but we were not looking for the Ritz. I would recommend it to anyone looking for beauty, quiet, and some place you won't see a lot of tourists. It's a bit hard to find, but that is part of the charm.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2009

The online pictures and information at www.villasanmichele.it showed a fairly decent looking place to stay with big rooms, a bar and a restaurant. We arrived to find our room was large and reasonably clean but we had bees in our room overnight, the large patio off our room was dirty and unswept and the plastic furniture was very dirty and had foot prints all over it. Upon walking around the facility we found a few more dirty (branches, bugs and broken furniture) patio areas. The grounds are very natural and we walked some hiking trails only to come back to the main lodge and find dirt bikes riding around in circles directly next to the main lodge deck area. It appears the area surrounding the lodge has numerous dirt bike trails and we could hear the noise. If you want an enjoyable, relaxing evening with wine and a good meal I wouldn't recommend this place. We actually drove to Greve for the evening to eat and only returned to our room at this villa to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJRW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greve in Chianti hotels
0.8 mi away
Rifugium
Rifugium
#1 of 1 in Casole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
5.3 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
3.8 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Agriturismo Villa il Leccio
Agriturismo Villa il Leccio
#1 of 4 in Strada in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
6.3 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
3.3 mi away
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
#2 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Michele

Property: Villa San Michele
Address: Via del Casole, 42 | Lucolena, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Greve in Chianti
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Villa San Michele Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing