We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel very close to the station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Michelangelo Palace
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Terni
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We had booked a room at the Millennium hotel. We called to confirm the room earlier on the day of our arrival. We arrived in the evening and tried to get into the reception, but we found a note saying that guests should go to Michelangelo Hotel because Millennium was closed. The woman we spoke to earlier never told us to go to Michelangelo...

The room wasn't big, but big enough for three. But if you have three suitcases it is too small... There were one double bed and one single. The desk was sticky. There was a TV, air condition, hair dryer and free internet (ask the reception for an account). There were a lot of hand towels but only two pairs of the bigger ones.... So they were not enough.


The pool is small. The breakfast buffet is very good for being Italian. You can find: Milk, juice, tea, coffee, different types of bread, biscuits, cereal, butter, jam, Nutella, fruit and more.

So, it's an ok hotel for the price we paid, but I wouldn't pay more than €40 euros for a double room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

Nice clean hotel right opposite the railway station, so ideal to get to.

Clean and tidy rooms with air conditioning.

Other features:
> Small swimming pool (accessed via reception),
> Good roof top restaurant (although view is of the surrounding apartment blocks and the railway station, with a few hills),
> Underground parking accessed at the side of the hotel,
> Bar

and others

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taylor_r_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I have been so many times in this hotel, it is always nice to be over there , had always a so pleasant stay, very nice tidy clean room, the room has everything you need, the location of the hotel is genius just n front of the train satiation and so close to the city center. It is my favorite hotel in Teni.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Himahabib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Where to start?

The good : 1) small pool and sun terrace, 2) good sized room, 3) well insulated from the noise of the adjacent railway station, 4) helpful English speaking staff, 5) free on-site basement parking, 6) clean.

The okay : 1) breakfast was reasonable but not extensive. 2) free internet, but on their machines in booths. (ok to check you e-mails and facebook, but not to work) 3) only shower in bathroom, 4) tired and dated furtnature in rooms. 5) Shower changed temperature several times for no obvious reason.

The bad : The only thing, but it’s a big one. The room stank like an ash-tray! I had booked a non-smoking room, but when I asked if I could be moved, I was told this was a standard room, they’re all the same! (I know everyone in Italy smokes, but everyone in Europe doesn’t!)

I spend a lot of time working in Italy, and genuinely love being there, but didn’t find the people of Terni very hospitable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PEM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

I normally reckon never to stay in an hotel very close to a railway station because of the likelihood of noise and general hustle and bustle, but we chose this hotel for an overnight stay as it had good reviews and we were travelling by train. Although just across the road from the station it was very quiet - I thought that we were pretty much the only people staying in the hotel on a Saturday night (it is very much geared to the business/conference market) and was surprised the following morning to find that that was not the case: the rooms must be well sound proofed internally.
Although we had only paid 80 euros for one night's bed and breakfast we were upgraded to one of the 5 junior suites, which included a jacuzzi bath as well as an adjoining room suitable for holding the business meeting we weren't having. Best of all, the bed was both huge and very comfortable.
We only stayed for one night so didn't have time to try the roof-top restaurant or the spa, but I enjoyed swimming in the open air swimming pool before we headed off for our next train journey the following morning, which made a great start to the day.
Terni itself is an industrial town in the heart of Italy, which made its fortune from steel. But this being Italy it has a 1st century Roman amphitheatre within 15 minutes' walk from the hotel, and we also visited an 11th century church with interesting frescoes. Fortunately most of the shops were closed on Sunday morning but on the Saturday evening we enjoyed the atmosphere in the streets around. We were staying in Terni for an evening concert at the cathedral and it was good to linger in the streets afterwards, full of people of all ages, and to enjoy icecream at 11 pm.
Breakfast was a typical Italian hotel breakfast, with lots of packets of things, but to be fair the friendly staff volunteered to make a really good cappuccino and offered to get anything else we wanted. It was fine, but if I were staying for any length of time I would probably just go round the corner for a fresh croissant.
Although geared to business travellers I would really recommend this hotel as an excellent base for rail travellers. There is much to see in this area and this hotel is a relaxing base.

Room Tip: The 5 junior suites have jacuzzi baths and lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiggy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Hotel is nice - but something I personally hate about it - no free internet in the rooms - i need to buy a Vodafone voucher (5EUR = 30mins) which is a BIG minus!
Everything else was just fine..
It's close to the train station & center of Terni as well..

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlondesKiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2005

The hotel is right across the street from the railway station and is only an hour and half train ride from Rome Airport.
The rooms are a little small by international standards but are comfortable and well appointed. And the bathrooms are fine too. We were extremely jetlagged after a 27 hour trip from Australia but slept like babies in comfortable beds and quiet location.
The staff are friendly and the ones we dealt with spoke excellent English.
The breakfast buffet included in the room price was more than adequate and made as fine start to the morning.
Can fully recommend this hotel as a jumping off point for a visit to Umbria.

4  Thank lien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Terni hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentino
Hotel Valentino
#2 of 10 in Terni
264 reviews
1.2 mi away
Classic Hotel Tulipano
0 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#4 of 10 in Terni
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#7 of 10 in Terni
272 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Miralago
Hotel Miralago
#1 of 2 in Piediluco
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Millennium
Hotel Millennium
#9 of 10 in Terni
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Michelangelo Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Michelangelo Palace

Address: Viale della Stazione 63, 05100, Terni, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Terni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Terni
Price Range: £57 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Michelangelo Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Michelangelo Palace Hotel is the ideal place for a successful stay in Umbria. The comfort, the atmosphere and the excellent service welcome the businessman and the most demanding traveler in the best way. The town of Terni offers within a short distance varied and interesting excursions: Marmore Waterfall (the highest in Europe), Piediluco Lake; the medieval villages of Sangemini, Acquasparta, Narni; the archaeological sites of Carsualae. L'Hotel Michelangelo Palace e il punto ideale di partenza per un soggiorno in Umbria. Il comfort, l'atmosfera, l'efficienza dei servizi, accolgono nel modo migliore il turista d'affari ed il viaggiatore piu esigente. La citta di Terni offre innumerevoli possibilita di escursioni: dalla Cascata delle Marmore (la piu alta d'Europa), al Lago di Piediluco, ai suoi innumerevoli borghi medievali, tra i quali: Sangemini, Acquasparta, Narni, al sito archeologico di Carsulae. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Michelangelo Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing