We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Traditional Hotel”
Review of Hotel Milton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Milton
Ranked #18 of 252 Hotels in Jesolo
Certificate of Excellence
Lytham Lancs UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very Nice Traditional Hotel”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

This hotel is in a quieter part of Lido De Jesolo on the main road which becomes pedestrianised at night. The hotel is very pretty, very clean and the staff are great, so helpful and pleasant. The service is traditional with attention to detail.
The pool is small but not over run, people tend to go to the private section of beach. Each room has a deck chair, sunbed and umberella at the beach and towels are provided. There are little beach bars around that you can get something for lunch and prices are reasonable.
The food at the hotel is fine, as described previously, but we did find it limiting to have to eat between 7 - 8pm, if you arrived towards 8 the salad bar would be running low. Drink prices were a little more than in the bars but you would expect that. If we bought a bottle of wine and just had half they would keep it for you till the night after. Men did tend to wear long trousers of some description but If you wore smart long shorts nothing was said. You had your own table in the restaurant for your holiday which was nice. I did miss having the choice to sit outside and eat as that is one of the things I love about being somewhere warm.

Our room overlooked the front of the hotel and was lovely, a really good size with a nice bathroom, we could have done with more drawer space and maybe a full length mirror. The fridge in our room was small but free and we bought some drinks from the supermarket two minutes away. There is a free safe too.
Our daughter had a single room and this was good too with the same facilities we had but, strangely a bigger fridge..

Lido De Jesolo is a very busy commercial area, it is an Italian holiday resort with lots of bars, restauraunts and shops, there are more exclusive areas than were we where but I would imagine they would be more expensive too. The hotel has bikes you can borrow for free if you want to explore. The resort was great for us with a teenager but I would prefer somewhere a bit more peaceful and picturesque if it was just the two of us. We visited Venice, Verona and Lake Garda while we were there and felt we saw a different Italy on these trips.

All in all a great hotel and location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie_Luke67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    109
    34
    8
    5
See reviews for
92
242
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

A good hotel, great staff the food was a bit samey but with 5 courses on offer in the evening you certainly didn't go hungry. The pool area was a bit small but with the beach 5 minutes walk away and its own designated area with free sunbeds and shades, this more than compensated for it. Rooms had nice decor, a/c ,television small balcony so overall a pleasant stay and handy for Venice which cost 19 euros on public transport

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ton2lyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanzarote, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We have just returned from our honeymoon in this hotel and we had a great time. Great location, the hotel was clean and everything was detailed, nice food and wonderful staff, especially David and Roberto. Would recommend anyone looking for a romantic holiday with nice food and wine.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amandatrapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

the hotel is very pretty,the garden and pool area is lovely. The staff, especially the waitresses and cleaners are very hardworking and pleasant. However, the bar prices are exorbitant and unnecessary 4euro for a bottle of water! The rooms are fairly small and lack storage space,the shower access is tiny, our room was particulary noisy as it was situated directly above the kitchen. The quality of the food is appalling considering this hotel has a 4star rating.The resort is fabulous and we will go back, but not to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grahamteresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Having stayed at rhe Milton Romantic for the last two weeks I was dissapoinnted at it being falsley rated as 4 star, great looking hotel clean rooms, charming staff but the quality and quantity of the evening meal was not even 2 star, dissapointed as it cost me 2000 pounds for the two weeks and had to eat elsewhere, hope thompsons review this matter so they can improve. The resort was fab, loads of bars resteraunts and a fab beach constantly marshalled by life gaurds and Venice is a must, but take the no. 5 bus to port sabbionne and the ferry accross to venice, tickets only 18 euros and 30 cents from the tobbaconist, will go back to Lido di Jeselo but not to the Milton, shame as other reveiws I read lifted it so high, , Hi to Graham and Theressa, best mates on our hols

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevenann79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Having travelled to Italy before (Lake Garda), Lido Di Jesolo was not what I was expecting, it was rather touristy (if full of Italians) and so was full of gift shops. That said, the area has still retained a lot of its charm and authenticity. Most of the buildings on the main strip were constructed from 1920's-1950's and the strip is now the longest pedestrianised road in europe (16km). Many people hire bicycles or take leisurely walks up and down the strip to explore the road which is set back about 50 metres from the beach, which it runs parallel to.

The beach really is Lido Di Jesolo's best feature, the whole resort is centred around the beach, which is very clean and beautifully presented with uniform rows of matching parasols & sun-loungers. Most hotels have a private section of the beach with free sun-loungers so the beach really is the hot-spot of the whole resort during the day.

Lido Di Jesolo also lends itself to being a good base to see more of Italy - you can get to Venice in under an hour and Lake Garda in 2 hours. Verona is about 1 hour 30 mins and Treviso is just 30 mins. I would suggest, if travelling with a tour operator, not to book onto excursions, but to use public transport and buy a decent travel book - you will see far more of each of these cities that way. It is so easy to get to Venice by bus/boat and costs less than £20pp. The public transport continues until midnight, so you can even do Venice by night this way. The train service to Verona is equally as un-complicated - but don't visit Casa Di Giullietta (Juliettes house from Shakespeares 'Romeo & Juliette'), no one seems to realise that Romeo & Juliette was a STORY and nothing ever happened here! Verona is a beautiful city, just stay away from the poor tourist attractions.

On to the hotel....Hotel Milton Romantik is fabulous! It oozes traditional-Italian charm with its' well-planted gardens and traditional decoration - you'll be amazed at how many people stop and admire it in the street (we even saw a 10yr old girl stop outside it in awe and shout 'bellissima'). The Milton is a small family-owned/run hotel consisting of about 50 (or so) rooms. The family really make you feel welcome and the service which they deliver is of 5* standard (remembering your names, usual drinks orders etc.) and the pool is beautiful! They also offer a really nice facility of free bicycle hire - most people use bikes to ride up and down the strip, but most people have to pay to hire them from hire shops, so this will save you a fair bit of money.

Most guests at the hotel seemed to be half-board (lunch is not served at the hotel) and the food/dining experience is brilliant. The food is traditionally Italian - I did overhear a few complaints "That wasn't carbonara" but this was just through a lack of understanding that the 'Italian' food we are served in England is not how it's done in Italy. There is a good variety of hot and cold food for breakfast (Eggs, Prosciutto, Baked Beans, Cold Meats & Cheese, Cereal & Fruit Salads), although we were half-board our drinks at breakfast were included (even proper Italian coffee!). The evening meal is a more formal affair (guests are asked to dress appropriately - men have to wear trousers, so pack more than one pair!). In the evenings, there is a waitered service which is very pleasant as most hotels these days seem to offer a canteen-style buffet for breakfast/lunch/dinner. The evening menu is, again, very traditionally Italian (4-5 courses; salad, soup, pasta dish, meat & veg dish, dessert) and always offer proper Italian food, cooked properly in traditional ways. Please ignore the negative reviews on this website about the food; the food is excellent, it's just traditional which is not what many brits are used to. Drinks in the restaurant weren't cheap, but I don't think they we're unreasonable - 4 euros for Water, 15 euros for wine, 18 euros for Prosecco; no more than you'd pay in a restaurant at home.

Overall, we really had a wonderful trip, the only slight downside (and the reason we've scored it 4 stars, not 5) is that the resort is not what you would expect of Italy, if you visit the Lake Garda town of Sirmione, you'll see exactly what I mean! The hotel was perfect, the weather was brilliant and the opportunity for sight-seeing was excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms are not noisy - ignore the reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryan_milbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Unfortunately we had a very bad experience at this hotel, I feel that the booker we booked with describing the double room as 19sq metres is totally disingenuous this had to include the bathroom. The room was the smallest room we have ever been in, every time we passed each other we had to excuse ourselves. Put it like this the lock for the bathroom door was on the side in the bedroom as they obviously couldnt hang it the correct way around as you would not have been able to get out of the bathroom. When we packed our bags for going home we had to store them on the balcony as there was simply no room to leave them in the bedroom. We paid nearly 900e for 7 nights b+b and it was only the begining of June. I did ask to be moved but was asked for another 120e, the room i was shown for the extra 120e sat empty the whole time we where there, the managers reason for not allowing us to move to this bigger room and be a bit more comfortable was if 1st class on a plane was empty we would not be upgraded from economy, however this is not a fair comparative as first class gets a different service on a plane to economy, these rooms had the same service, beds made, bathroom once over and clean towels etc., so it would have made no odds to them to move us to be more comfortable. It totally destroyed our holiday to know that a bigger room was sitting empty and we were squashed into a small one. The door to the hallway was less than four foot from the side of the bed i slept on. In the end they lost out as we spent no money in the hotel we would normally have a few drinks in the bar at night but i just couldnt look the manager in the face any more then i had to it was really bad management and very uncomfortable. It was only the start of the season and the hotel was not full in any way. For a four star property the sunbeds at the pool are cheap and plastic like something you would expect in an apartment complex . it really was a pity as i reviewed this sites reviews before i booked and have never been sent awry before i was looking forward to the lovely staff and the hotel was so nice in the photos., It is a lovely little hotel but the room was a joke, the management handling of our situation was not in my view up to scratch . Such a shame.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room near the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank NicolaGer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jesolo hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#14 of 252 in Jesolo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Residence Il Teatro
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sirenetta
Hotel Sirenetta
#10 of 252 in Jesolo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Park Hotel Brasilia
Park Hotel Brasilia
#2 of 252 in Jesolo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Gardenia
Hotel Gardenia
#1 of 252 in Jesolo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
2.8 mi away
Almar Jesolo Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milton

Property: Hotel Milton
Address: Via Giuseppe Verdi 80, 30016, Jesolo, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > Jesolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Jesolo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Jesolo
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Milton 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Milton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milton Romantik Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing