We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of Venice in Lido di Jessolo”
Review of Hotel Milton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Milton
Ranked #17 of 250 Hotels in Jesolo
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A taste of Venice in Lido di Jessolo”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

The Hotel Milton Romantik was a purely mystical haven. Run by a very friendly and helpful family, now run by the two sons, it is based on typical Venitian decor and architecture which stood out from all the other hotels in Jessolo. So beautifully and lovingly created with Gondola berth striped poles and lights as a major centrepiece of the hotels decor. Passing holiday makers stopped to take pictures as it was so beautiful.
We had one problem only in that there are a few small rooms with little or no space for suitcases etc. We did complain and (for an extra £50 for the week) we were upgraded to a "superior room" which was on the front of the hotel with large balcony and far more space. We were expecting, and paid for, this size room as advertised as a "double with extra cot space" so when we had to pay £50 discounted from £100, we were not entirely happy. As this was the very last week of the Italian season we felt that
1. We should have had the room that we booked and
2. If this was mid season, we would not have had another room to move to!
The rest totally outweighed this as the service was stunning, all staff extremely helpful and friendly. Roberto the head waiter, part time wine and drinks waiter, receptionist, trip advisor, confidant and all round good egg was magnificent.
The rep, Laura was, honestly, the best rep we have ever had, she was not only very professional but she was a font of knowledge, a great laugh and always looked out for the customers.
The food was Italian and very good. Always anti pasta and choices of main course and desert which always included icecream.
Getting to Venice by yourself was very simple. Number 5 bus from behind the hotel (every 20 mins) to Punta Sabione (Get 13Euro tickets (return) from the Tabacconists across the road) and the water taxi to St Mark's Square water taxi stop. The same ticket gets you to P. Sabione and back by bus and the water taxi.
From the same Tobacconists you can get 1.2Euro tickets (one per person per ride) for the number 3 bus, from same bus stops to any part of the Lido, you need a different ticket for every trip no matter where you get off. So, a trip to the Piaza Manzini will cost 2 of you 4.8 Euro for 4 tickets. Organised excursions to Verona, Lake Garda and Treviso were excellent.
Well done Thomson!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a superior room else it may be small, although beautifully decorated. Aircon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank jonesc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    113
    35
    8
    4
See reviews for
99
261
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We have just returned from two weeks at this family run hotel. We had a lovely time and our thoughts mirror what most guests have previously said about the appearance of the hotel. It was extremely pretty to look at and they must have spent an absolute fortune on the decor. with many really nice extra touches. the family who owned and ran the hotel could not have been more accommodating. However, that said, I dont think that it warrents the 4* rating in that the rooms, whilst well appointed, were extremely small as was our balcony. Additionally, whilst the food was plentiful it was extremely tiresome. There was no variation and limited choice in the breakfasts and the evening meals were similar every day. Mushy, overcooked pasta and risotto for first course followed by a main course that took some imagination to make the food go together. I have never been fond of tinned peas and carrots or broccoli boiled so much that it almost ran onto the plate. Also, drinks were a bit pricey at the bar and the restaurant. at least 18 euros for a bottley of wine and 4 euros for a bottle of water in the restaurant. (you could buy 6 large bottles of water in the shop next door for 2 euros!!) I feel that the hotel could improve with a bed and breakfast status as there were restaurants in abundance just outside offering a variety of wonderful food that was not over priced.

the hotel boasts a very pretty pool and sitting area and the beach is just two roads away and it was no problem to get there. However, we were there the last two weeks of the season and the beach was very quiet which suited us fine. Although, I think that the beach in high season would be a nightmare! there were 13 rows of sun beds stretching for 11 miles!!

the resort itself is well placed for touring and a trip to Venice is a must. We went by public transport (bus and boat) and it was wonderful. We also chose a Thomson trip to Verona and Lake Garda and that to was lovely but tiring. (what is it with guides who feel the need to run about like Linford Christie??) We missed most of his talks by trying to keep up!!

Despite the few little grouses, we still had a wonderful holiday and would still recommend this hotel. It was still fair value for money and the service and appearance outweighed the minuses.

Room Tip: most of the rooms were similar in size and views - however there were some bigger rooms on the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wharriers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, England
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Ideally situated just two roads back from the beach, this family run hotel delivers what it promises. Good food and wine, great service and friendly staff. Probably the most photographed hotel in the resort of Lido di Jesolo, which looks 'magical' by night. The public areas are comfortable and the bar is lively especially in the evenings. The swimming pool is surrounded by beautifully manicured gardens which were in full flower when we visited in August. Whilst the ensuite rooms are basic, they are clean and serviced daily. Would I stay there again? Most certainly YES.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaoloDanbury_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern irelamd
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Beautiful hotel, proabably one of the prettiest in Lido di jesolo. But I feel that this alone doesnt equate to a 4 star rating! the rooms were very small, and only one person could stand on the balcony at a time!! But these things you can see past anyway as your not spending much time in your room. but dear god the food was absolutely horrifc! i seen a revew before we left saying the food was awful and someone had argued it was typical Italian food but since when has Chicken Curry out of a jar been typical italian? or the packet soups? It was really catered for the Germans to which was plenty!

We travelled with a baby and was very disappointed to find that there was no ramped access to get into the hotel, so everytime we wanted to come or go in the hotel we had to carry the pram up and down about 12 steps. This is pretty annoying if your trying this by yourself
There is beautiful pizzas to be had though in the resturant next door!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank littletravelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Cant ask for much better than hotel romantika,in the middle of lido de jesolo. everything is complimentary. from the air con,to safe and even your own sunbed and parasol along 16kl of golden sandy beach. avenues and beach cafes every 100 yards where you can eat, or wash off the heat of the day with outdoor showers.we highly reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: nothing to add. all rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank indianaplymouth150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We arrived in lido de jesolo very much in need of a break due to personnel circumstances and were a little concerned as the coach took us to the area. We should not have worried, this Hotel is fantastic and the most attractive Hotel in the entire area and feels really authentic Italian.
From the moment that we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and our rooms continued to mirror the vision that we had of what an Italian hotel room should be like. They were cleaned daily with towels changed weekly or on request and additional towels for the beach. Most days by the time we returned from breakfast our rooms had been cleaned and beds made by very friendly staff.
Our son and his girlfriend were due to join my wife, daughter and myself the next day and Roberto made sure that we had an excellent table in the restaurant for us all to sit together each evening. By the time that they joined us on Saturday night my son commented that we appeared to have been at the hotel for a while as we knew all of the staff and they knew us. This is what makes this hotel so special in that it is third generation family run and they are all so friendly and helpful that you feel part of the family. From “Uncle” who mans the office by day and behind the bar by night, Roberto who manages the Restaurant (with two fun waitresses – Alice &?) and the reception mid day, Davide and Lolly who are just fantastic in running the bar area by day and night, until the early hours of the morning and who make you just feel so relaxed and when not busy make time to make friends with you.
The hotel is in a fantastic location as it is only 3-4 mins from the beach but also sits on the main street of Jesolo which gets closed to traffic every night and then just comes alive with everyone just enjoying the environment, shops, bars and ice cream parlours walking the “street”. Due to this you can just enjoy your meal in the restaurant and then sit in the bar and soak up the atmosphere/people watch, with a nice drink and a good choice of music DVD’s on a large screen if you want to watch.
The restaurant provides a good choice for breakfast, both hot and cold and in the evening provides 3 courses from a selection that you order the night before. This means that you get freshly cooked food each night, which if you have soup to start and then have a selection from the salad cold food counter, will provide you with a 5 course meal each night of real Italian food, with Tiramisu and crème brulee to die for.
Due to the hotel location you really get the best of everything as the beach is on your door step, Venice is a bus and boat trip away (approx. 45 mins ) and the evening atmosphere is on your door step, without impacting on you, if all you want is a quiet drink.
All in all A FANTASTIC holiday destination and one that we all will be going back to and made really special due to the Friends that we made whilst at the hotel and I include all of the staff as friends as well but a really special thank you to Davide Lolly and Roberto who went out of their way to make us feel welcome and we now consider as friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Petula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

The hotel part of a holiday often makes or breaks the whole holiday experience and in this case, Hotel Milton made the holiday. This small family run hotel is really excellent in every way. Rooms although basic are delighfully decorated and clean. Maid service every day and our room had shower, air conditioning as well as a roof fan, TV and safety deposit box. The only complaint could be a lack of space to store clothes. The pool area is really quite lovely with flowers and plants adding a really nice atmosphere and there was never any fighting for loungers around the pool - no sign of the early birds depositing their towles at 5 am. The hotel provides towels for the pool/beach. The beach is 3 - 4 minutes walk away and on the beach, each hotel room has a lounger, parasole and deck chair available on beach - for free like the loungers around the pool. Most times there are free loungers, so that both people in a couple can have one. The incredibly clean and beautiful sands are really gently sloping - walk out into the sea for 100m before the water reaches your midriff - so it is safe for youngsters. Beware the lookie lookie guys though.
The hotel has a nice bar and has a happy hour from 6 - 7 pm and the girls serving there are really pleasant and helpful. Pint glasses in the shape of a wellington boot are quite interesting and don't forget to try a spritz when at the bar.
The dining room is very comfortable and patrons get the same table for the length of their stay and so are served by the same people - Roberto, Oxana and Alice are all exceptionally pleasant, welcoming and helpful. The food is also excellent with 4 courses being served each evening. First course is a self service salad or soup (you can have both and make it a 5 course) then pasta, followed by main course then dessert. The fish courses were particularly good. Although the wines served are local and high quality, they are on the expensive side (20 Euros +), but you can drink half a bottle and keep the rest for the following evening. Breakfasts are self service and offer a big range of options to suit all tastes.
Outside the hotel is a street crammed with shops, restaurants, bars etc. and the street is pedestrianised during the evenings. The street is also in two halves with one half dedicated to a cycle lane. There are large numbers of people on bikes and Hotel Milton lends (really good quality) bikes for free - a great and really safe way to see the surrounding area.
The undoubted plus of Hotel Milton Romantik is the staff. Being a small family run hotel, you are never an anonymous person in the hotel - the night porter knew which key to give us after only once asking - and all the staff be they cleaners, bar staff, Davide (family member), Roberto, Alice, Oxana - just everybody - did everything they could to make the stay as enjoyable as possible. Friendly, courteous, helpful, humourous, good English and simply lovely people all the time, no matter what was going on or the time of day.
Weather was a bit chilly at times - even in July - so it is best to have a jumper or light jacket and a brolly too.
Hotel is well placed for trips to Venice and the islands and the tobacconist where you but the tickets - much cheaper than on holiday company tours and offers the chance to spend much more time in Venice - is 100m from the hotel. Ticket covers the 30 minute bus journey (usually like sardines in a tin) and the 30 minute boat trip. Venice is so easy to get to and definitely worth at least two visits. Bus stop to Punta Sabbioni (port for Venice) is only 100m from hotel.
Absolutley delightful quirky (in a nice way) hotel with hard working, excellent staff. If I ever return to Lido de Jesolo, which is a lovely resort too - I will stay at Hotel Milton Romantik.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank allanellon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jesolo hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Principe Palace
Hotel Principe Palace
#9 of 250 in Jesolo
675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Residence Il Teatro
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#15 of 250 in Jesolo
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Gardenia
Hotel Gardenia
#1 of 250 in Jesolo
845 reviews
2.9 mi away
Almar Jesolo Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
Park Hotel Brasilia
Park Hotel Brasilia
#3 of 250 in Jesolo
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milton

Property: Hotel Milton
Address: Via Giuseppe Verdi 80, 30016, Jesolo, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > Jesolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Jesolo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Jesolo
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Milton 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Milton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milton Romantik Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing