We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff Jewel in the Crown”
Review of Hotel Milton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Milton
Ranked #16 of 251 Hotels in Jesolo
Certificate of Excellence
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Staff Jewel in the Crown”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We have just returned from a week in this hotel with our granddaughter. (16th to 23rd August 2013). The hotel décor is Italian and quirky and everywhere is spotlessly clean and comfortable.
The food is good hotel food and as one would expect is not a la carte.
Without a doubt the staff are the jewel in the crown they make the hotel and the holiday. From Chambermaid to night watchman to restaurant and Bar staff to managers all are extremely friendly and go the extra mile to be helpful and to make your stay as comfortable as possible. All this is done with a genuine smile and nothing is too much trouble.
We arrived for breakfast yesterday, before the dining room had opened due to our flights being early. The restaurant was opened up early with a smile and everything was ready and all breakfast was available to us. Our granddaughter appreciated the free Wi Fi. All our queries were answered in English and with a genuine smile. A great holiday has been had by all and I would recommend this hotel to friends and family and would consider returning (we don't usually do that).

Room Tip: Not on the front as faces onto a busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    116
    35
    8
    4
See reviews for
101
267
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Just got back after a week at the Milton. We went to Jesolo specifically to get to Venice quickly, the resort is not somewhere we would usually go on holiday. Depending on what you want from a holiday there are good and not so good elements to Jesolo. All the hotels are next to two main roads although at night these are closed to traffic. It is very busy, full of bars restaurants shops and amusement arcades. A lot of Italian families come here during August and there are baby buggies every where. If you have small children it is ideal.
Once inside the hotel however it is beautiful, peaceful and calm. It is a family run hotel and the staff are lovely and work very very hard. Roberto and David pop up every where all day and don't seem to rest much! Our room was small but immaculately clean with all that you need. We bought our 21yr old daughter with us who had a lovely single room next to us, The rooms had fans and air conditioning and a fridge. All essential.
The food is adequate, plenty of it ,the starters and deserts lovely. Drinks typical hotel prices and to be expected. If you've got to pay it anyway its a lovely place to sit in the Milton bar area at night and watch the people taking photos of the hotel.
I would highly recommend this hotel if you want something more traditional and quiet and as a base for Venice. The bus stop is a few minutes walk behind the hotel and the trip is easy for 20 euro.
Venice itself is an acquired taste . I had a romantic view of it before I went. It is more modern than I expected with designer shops and an irish bar! The price of everything is extortionate. It is very busy unless you walk back a long way. You will spend a lot of time (certainly this time of year) being pushed along in a crowd of people. It was 36 degrees when we went , try and go when its cooler for a more positive experience.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are bigger with views of the night life. We were at the side next to a noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debs50ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2013

A four star hotel at two star price- the value (we booked through Thomson) was absolutely sensational.

The staff are absolutely top class- always there with a smile and ready to answer questions or bring your party a round of drinks at the pool- and speak excellent English to boot. We did not quite manage to get to the bottom of the arrangement whereby the bar is a separate business to the hotel- but it hardly matters as essentially the only hindrance it causes is in not being able to bring drinks into the dining room- where you can buy more anyway.

The cleanliness of the place generally was brilliant- you would be hard pressed to find a spot of litter either in the hotel or in the surrounding area. The pool is lovely and tranquil with plants, an astro-turf riased area for added privacy, and an interesting fusion of styles from Italian to Asian. It is not a pool that it is easy to do lengths in, if that is your scene- both due to the shape of the pool and the near constant ball games of guests.

The beach was not our scene, but it is nevertheless a facility that is available and beds were always free- the only annoyance being the relentless beach sellers- which are hardly the fault of the hotel.

It is therefore a shame despite all of this that small things let it down. The food is acceptable. That is the word one would use: brilliant for the price we paid, and perfectly edible and plentiful, but as four star hotels go it's not going to blow your socks off.

The main two gripes really fall in the form of such minor and easily solvable features as the Wifi and toiletries. In the case of the former, a feature one has come to expect in the modern day- the service is singularly frustrating and temperamental- despite having routers on every floor there is near enough no place you can constantly rely on it to be working, with myself often found crouched in a discovered pocket of connectivity on a stairwell. Even when you do find one such spot it is very slow. There is a sort of cupboard on the ground floor with a laptop connected via Ethernet cable but I was somewhat too proud! In the case of the latter- toiletries, the hotel could again so easily solve this, with one single tiny sachet of shower gel in supply- with an often comical scene after the first two days of getting in and out out of the shower to wash with the abundant hand soap. Neither of these are major problems that take away from an incredibly high value and relaxing establishment - but nevertheless prevent a 5 star rating

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeSD95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nether heyford
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

stayed for 2 weeks here in july,the staff were all extemely friendly and genuine people.set just down towards the slightley quieter end but only 10 20 minute walk to the busier end. Great pool ,and bar service to the pool area as well.can be a little noisy at the back of the pool area due to traffic from the road behind,nice bar at the front great for people watching in the evening!
The rooms were very clean bathroom with a shower that actually produced hot water on demand,use of a fridge ,safety deposit box ,air con at no extra charge.very comfortable beds king size as well!
Dining room was nice and cool in the evening choice of food was quite good ,if you had all that was available you could have 5 courses,never went hungry,but i think the menu was a little limited not much imagination,dont get me wrong it all tasted good but a little repetative after 2 weeks,deserts were awesome though
the staff were fantastic ,patrick the night doorman was great,roberto the comedian,davido the man for every shift,andrea even carried my wifes suitcases to the coach from reception for her due to me having a bad knee!.
things to do ,well verona is worth a visit try and go for the day if possible, very beautiful place and pedestrian friendly, venice of course is a must ,the hotel has free pushbikes you can use, one cycle route takes you along the large river on gravel paths right out into the countryside worth doing if you feel energetic,one piazza had some event on every night ranging from boxing match to a craft fair.The beach was very clean, organised and safe the usual italian beach way,toilets were cleaned every hour from what i could tell,shower area,snack bars,even kids toys were available free of charge,your brolly and beds come with each hotel so no need to lay them towels out like them germans lol! plenty for all.the ice cream man even comes along the beach with his electric cart The sea is safe and warm, life guards on duty ,the only downside are the illegal sellers that plague you all day long most take no for an answer and move on,some are more annoying,This is a great hotel well worth its 4 stars,It does look like it does in the brochure .a resort,with plenty of bars and restuarants and shops all clean and not one drunk in sight.this was a great place for a beach holiday

Room Tip: the rooms on the poolside side overlooked the gardens and pool,nice balconys
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodies44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

5 star staff 3 star food.
We have just returned from the Milton and had a fantastic time. It’s defiantly a hotel we will consider returning to.
The hotel set on the main strip in Jeselo but at the slightly quieter end of it. Jeslo is a sleepy beach resort by day and a hustle and bustle place by night when the main road gets closed and over taken by pedestrians and cyclists it’s a nice atmosphere – good for family’s there are no drunks falling all over or anyone misbehaving. Its also ideal for getting to Venice – get a ticket from the tobacconist near the hotel (we did this the night before as its open late). Then catch the bus from the back of the hotel it’s about 5 minutes’ walk and you need bus 5. This takes you to Punto Sabione and a 40ish minute boat ride across to Venice. The buses can get very busy and the drivers aren’t frightened to put their foot down. Probably takes an Hour in total and works out at about £20 which allows you to use the water taxis in Venice which are handy for getting around.
The hotel is just as it in the Magazines they didn’t make the effort to make it look good for one day. I was surprised to read that people take photos of the hotel – but numerous times people did.Inside the hotel is just as well looked after its spotless - not even a scuff on the paintwork on the way up to the room which is a surprise because the lift is tiny probably just enough space for 2 people and 2 cases in.
We had paid extra for a suite room so we were given room 120. It’s a good size with lots of storage space. The trunk at the bottom of the bed was a god send for leaving anything in that didn’t really need hanging in the cupboard there were also several draws for other bits and pieces as well as a safe and a fridge. The room also had air conditioning and although it only went as low 26 degress it did make things a bit more comfortable at night – light sleepers might struggle to leave it on though.

The bathroom was large and very clean – with lots of space around the huge sink for toiletries

Many rooms appeared to have a balcony and ours was on the front on the hotel and ideal for people watching although I did find the plastic chairs a little uncomfortable. As the room is at the front of the hotel there is a bit of noise especially from the hotel down the road that has karaoke blaring out and the Milton’s own bar. The room has metal rollers shutters that pull down which blocks most of the noise. We had a bit of trouble with ours on the first night but the guy manning reception sorted everything out with a smile as with everyone else at the hotel his English was excellent.

The pool area isn’t massive but its fine for the size of the hotel – we stayed in July when the hotel appeared to be busy but we always managed to get a spot on the loungers and the beech is two minutes away with places reserved for the Milton. The pool area shuts about 6.45pm which is a bit of shame because it looks really good at night when its lit. There’s also some gym equipment if that takes your fancy.

We did find that at a weekends the hawkers on the beach did become a bit off putting trying to sell everything from sunglasses to drums as there was just too many of them but most took “no” for an answer only one or two were a bit more stubborn and annoying. The beach itself is very nice and ideal for building “old skool” sand castles or just reading or swimming.

The only real negative I can say about the Milton is the food. It’s a best fair and sometimes poor. Its average European hotel food. In fairness the pasta dishes and desserts are usually very good. But the main courses were a bit of a let-down. They sound nice on the menu you choose from the night before but often aren’t great. One night they served sweet and sour pork – which basically tasted of soy sauce served with a fried aubergine and a baked potato topped with cream cheese and chive. Odd combination and not very nice a few nights later the soy sauce was brought out again this time with a turkey breast. Most of the meat was a bit dry and overcooked. But you won’t starve there are choices of soups each day and lots of salad items and bread. If they could improve the main courses it would be a 5* hotel no question. The two pizzerias near the hotel both turn out decent food for around £30s. Even the cheapest looking places turned out steaks that many pubs would struggle to equal back home. (Although we had a bizzare experience in Riva with dire service so I would avoid that one) They also do a buffet night but because of the layout of the buffet bar, drinks bar and kitchen we found it a bit of a squash and I didn’t feel the choice on these night was fantasic.

But im not leaving a negative as the last comment the staff at the Milton are fantasic, friendly helpful and they can’t do enough for you that goes from the cleaners to Roberto and David and everyone else..

People have said drinks are expensive at the hotel – they are in line with the rest of the resort and less than some places. (Eden bar charged 12 euro for 2 drinks so be warned) If you pay your bar tab off in cash you get 15% so well worth drinking in the bar….

Id give this place 4.75 stars and id definitely go back

Room Tip: If your a light sleeper you may wish to avoid rooms on the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluehobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I don't know where to start, but firstly I will say WOW, what a lovely hotel. On first arrival i was in awe of how pretty the hotel itself was, the pictures don't do it justice - especially at night when all the lights are on. The bar part gets rather busy at night with people passing and being taken in by the beautiful scenery of the hotel.

My boyfriend and I had a suite with a balcony, and i do agree with some comments below the rooms aren't massive but they certainly aren't small, they are perfectly sized for two and plenty of storage, we had a 'trunk' at the end of the bed for shoes, bags etc. The rooms are decorated so sweetly and have a lovely boutique feel and came with fridge and air-con and a safe with no charge. The cleaner came in everyday and the suite was spotless!

The pool area was stunning, lot's of lovely flowers around making it feel private. Great quality wicker sun beds - no plastic in site! There was a Jacuzzi which i took full use of and a small changing booth in the corner not really needed but good for kids.

Meal times were good, a 3 course meal cooked each night with plenty of choice AND a buffet alongside if needed - we rarely touched this as the portions at dinner were more than enough. The quality of the meals were superb, all fresh ingredients. Breakfast also was great with choices from a traditional English, continental, fresh fruit, croissants and much more alongside a selection of tea's, juices, jams, marmalade's and honey for toast.

The staff at the hotel were polite, upbeat and so friendly. Roberto and Davido were exceptional and were always on hand to help, by the second day we always had coffee on our breakfast table and our favourite choices of drinks waiting for us down at the bar in the evenings.

Other good extra's were the bikes to rent for no charge, the sectioned off part of the beach just for Hotel Milton users and a 15% discount off your bar bill if you pay with cash at the end of the holiday.

I can honestly say that i would return to this hotel without question year after year, exceptional service and beautiful scenery made for a wonderful week stay at Hotel Milton Romantik.

Room Tip: Be aware with higher floors you may needs to use the stairs simply because the lift isn't the bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxemmagrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Had a wonderfull stay at this hotel, very friendly staff gorgeous surroundings by far the best and prettiest Hotel we have ever stayed in the food was fine could have done with a little more choice especially on buffet evenings.This hotel was by far the prettiest in Jesolo. Rooms and hotel spotlessley clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gerri53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jesolo hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Principe Palace
Hotel Principe Palace
#9 of 251 in Jesolo
683 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Residence Il Teatro
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#14 of 251 in Jesolo
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Gardenia
Hotel Gardenia
#1 of 251 in Jesolo
868 reviews
2.9 mi away
Almar Jesolo Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
Park Hotel Brasilia
Park Hotel Brasilia
#4 of 251 in Jesolo
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milton

Property: Hotel Milton
Address: Via Giuseppe Verdi 80, 30016, Jesolo, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > Jesolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Jesolo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Jesolo
#21 Best Value Hotel in Jesolo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Milton 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Milton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milton Romantik Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing