We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The land that time forgot strikes back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monaco & Quisisana Hotel
Ranked #130 of 250 Hotels in Jesolo
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The land that time forgot strikes back”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed here three years ago for just one night with a pal of mine but this year decided to return for a rather traditional family holiday with wife and two children (nearly 15 and just 13). My 13 year old son took one look at the view of the terrace, pool and sea at the back of the hotel and pronounced it 'awesome'. The hotel is, a bit like Venice (very easily do-able as a day trip by public transport), a somewhat fading glory. The lobby and bar are really quite stylish (though the bar was rarely attended and expensive, so we stopped using it). The rooms and bathrooms were adequate: a slight problem with the bath plug was reported to our Thomson rep and immediately mended. The shower was powerful and the air conditioning worked well. Overall, though, the place felt like it would have been a palace compared to the competition when it was new (perhaps 45 years ago?) but was now in need of a refurbishment to the bedrooms.

The pool area is very pleasant - probably as good as it gets in the resort and the pool bar was good and reasonable value - about half the price of the expensive main bar in the hotel. Sun-lounger hire is EUR 3 per day which annoyed me slightly until I realised that this charge pales into insignificance when you are paying EUR 9 for half a litre of wine, EUR 5 for 92cl of mineral water and EUR 8 for two small bottles of Pago fruit juice every evening in the restaurant. It all mounts up!

Turning to the restaurant: dinner is served from 1930 to 2100. This means you really want to be there shortly after 1930 and certainly no later than 2000, as it is a buffet and when Mr Giannetti decides people have finished their starters, the starter buffet is cleared. This is not really a problem, however, as you will be punctual, for the simple reason that the food varies from good to truly outstanding. There was a great deal of lobster, scallops, prawns, squid and other excellent fish and crustaceans. There were always at least three pasta dishes, varying from merely good to sublime (they were cooked in reasonably small batches for a large crowd, therefore they did not go soggy). Then there were large, baked fish, deep fried squid rings, chicken, guinea fowl, duck, saltimbocca and two or three roast meat joints. I didn't try the meat as the fish and fowl were so good and the weather was a bit warm for roast pork etc. Genuinely, it was all pretty impressive and the at-table drinks service improved once the waiter realised you wanted a 'standing order' in place for every evening.

Breakfast was all-encompassing. Hams, salamis, cheese, fruit, yoghurt, cereal, doughnuts, full English (not bad at all for Italy). It would be very easy to over-eat.

We got the impression that many people come back here year in year out. To my surprise, since we had not done a package holiday for at least 10 years, I thoroughly enjoyed this hotel and, particularly, the food. Once you hit your rhythm, it becomes very relaxing. Although you have to eat light at lunchtime (which is not the Italian way!) following a proper breakfast (unheard of in Italy) and ahead of a very large evening meal, this is really the only way they could offer half-board of this standard.

In terms of cost, our 14 night holiday for four with Thomson cost about £4,400 for flights, transfers and accommodation for the last two weeks of August. If we had just slobbed by the pool all the time, and not bothered with lunch (we could just about have done this), we could probably have kept the overall cost down to about £5,000. As it was, including lunch in a restaurant every day, sun-lounger and pedalo-hire, drinks, ice creams etc., a week's car-hire with a tank of diesel, trips to Venice, Burano, Treviso, Cortina d'Ampezzo and Lake Garda, with some water-ski-ing thrown in, we spent about £7,000 all-in. That may be why people nowadays prefer renting a 'villa' and doing everything themselves but it's not as restful as a hotel like this.

Finally, I should add that all the staff were extremely efficient and polite and that the hotel offers free bicycles to allow you to explore the resort. The special evenings of entertainment, however, leave much to be desired.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank QualitymanYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    78
    42
    20
    19
See reviews for
85
117
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week; Sept 13th to 20th. As other reviews have mentioned, the hotel is tired, and in need of some reconfiguring and updating.
PROS: staff are all well dressed and helpful, though one receptionist needs to chill out. Food is excellent - the vegetables are actually cooked! However the point about one egg for breakfast is well made, and quite baffling. We paid for a sea view, and the latter was superb. Shop and bar access Is second to none for this or any other holiday resort. Grounds, pool, and beach access are unbeatable. At the start of the holiday you are assigned a table for the evening meal, and this is yours for the duration, so no queuing, it is always pristine, and if you don't finish your wine etc, it is waiting for you the next evening. Rooms contain a free safe. Lifts are modern, quiet, and quick. The room facilities include two lush white towelling robes and slippers. Bathroom towels are comprehensive, and changed daily.
CONS: this hotel comprises two joined-up buildings, its actual name is Monaco & Quisisana so go figure its origins. The building we stayed in holds the small bar area, and an entrance to the combined (for the two buildings) dining area: however entrance or exit to this restaurant from our 'side' was verboten. To get to the restaurant needed a short trek over the hotel's own 'Bridge of Sighs' that links the two buildings. Beds around the pool cost 3 Euros each per day, but this includes a towel. Payment and towelling collection is at Reception. These towels cannot be taken onto the beach, so you need to take your own anyway. The 'eggs at breakfast' has been mentioned, but the lads who cook them and fry bacon and sausage need a refresher course. At one session I was told there were no fried gags, and standing there with a plate of bacon, beans, and sausage, I was told to "go away and come back when the egg were ready" Really? On the day before departure the manager threw a poolside party. Drinks were served, and nibbles provided, nothing was said. Why can't this party be given earlier in the week, and be used as a 'meet the staff' occasion? We only saw arrivals and departures on a Friday so no excuse there. The rooms are dated, especially the bathroom. I had to do some metalworking on our front door to get the deadlock to work. The walls are thin, I didn't need to turn my TV on, my neighbour was very obliging - from 07:00 onwards! The reception will exchange Sterling for Euros, commission free. However at a rate of one euro to the pound. Bearing in mind you can get 1.13 euros to the pound at The Black Cat bar commission free, the hotel is in effect charging a commission of 13%.
Otherwise: this was end of season, but none of the hotel' shortcomings can be explained by that fact. I hope they use the closed season to iron out these problems, but an hotel-wide refurb will take a lot longer than that.

Room Tip: Sea view, worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderer14SW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough (England)
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just returned from a week at this Hotel and I want to give a realistic review of it.

Let me say firstly that we had a nice relaxing holiday and we love Italy and the lifestyle.

So let's start at the beginning.
On arrival 13 steps up to the main reception. No ramp. No porter. Not great for any elderly ladies or gentlemen traveling alone. Strangely there was a porter provided to take your bags down the steps when we left (tips not included!). Reception area very good and no problems with check-in.
As others have mentioned this is 2 Hotels joined together by a covered walkway. We had room 19 in the right hand side part. I don't think anyone knew what one is the Monaco and what one is the Quisisana. The room was on the 2nd floor in the corner position facing the road. No real complaints with this other than there was no window or ventilation in the bathroom and the bedroom ceiling was poorly painted and patched up. There was no tea making facility either. Lost count of how many times we said "you know what, I could do with a nice cup of tea now".
I think we would take a travel kettle in future. We had a big balcony with a side sea view and facing the road was no problem as it is pretty quiet. I understand that the corner rooms are slightly bigger than the other rooms. One lady had one of the "wet rooms". Her drain plug blocked on her first night and she had to use all her towels to mop it up.
Pool area very good but pool very cold and not heated (cut backs?).

Food. Where to start?
Breakfast. 1 fried egg only per person. A rule strictly enforced. I believe a German guy asked for 2 eggs and Mr G had his air-conditioning turned off for the rest of the week! (joke) but I could almost believe it would happen. Strange practice and a big talking point among the guests. Scrambled eggs turned up at random intervals during the week but you can have as many boiled eggs as you liked? Queued to get into breakfast on Thursday and food was luke-warm.
Dinner. Yes a massive choice available and a lot of it is very good, but not all. My steak on Monday was very chewy but I also had the best Pork Ribs ever. The Baked Chicken was very good as well. A massive choice of Sea food on offer and lost count of how many ways they can cook Octopus and squid. You can have Blue Shark, Red fish? Tuna, Salmon, Cuttlefish and on and on plus Beef, Pork, Turkey and Veal. The desert situation has been mentioned before. I can only suggest that you pick up your desert first and then get your starter to avoid disappointment. Lobster did not make an appearance this week (cut backs?). By the way I believe the reason you are allocated tables is so that you don't sit next to new holiday friends and talk. If you are talking you are not eating and that means that dinner service would not be finished on time. Nothing must be allowed to interfere with the military running of the service. Yes, the plates are cleared away quickly, perhaps a little too quickly at times.
The Hotel poolside eatery was expensive and little used. The little cafe on the beech directly over from the hotel is excellent. 1x Panini 4x Cappuccino's and 2x cakes for 11.5 euro's.

Mr G. 82 years old I am told, and there at every meal service. The boys at the hot food counter at dinner are super efficient. Mostly because he is standing just feet away. They do not even give you a chance to read the tags on the dishes to decide what you would like before they are on you. The whole Hotel is run with German efficiency by Italians which makes it all a little soulless.
No music anywhere. One Cocktail evening on Thursday (bit naff). Staff are polite and efficient but you can fell Mr G's touch in everything. Some reports say he is very good to his staff other reports say they are not so happy.
Perhaps Thomson's should have a word about Mr G. He seems to crop up in almost every review you look at going back to 2009 and not always in a good way. It cannot be right for a Hotel manager to crop up so often in reviews. They are usually never seen.

Trips. Verona and Lake Garda Tuesday. Cortina and Lake Misurina Wednesday. Both with Luigi who is excellent. Verona was hot, sticky, crowded and rushed. Cortina was relaxed and beautiful. Take the gondola up the mountain to the cafe. 17 euro's extra but worth it.

Resort. Fantastic beech. Massive shopping street. The place fills up with Italians from the mountain areas who rent apartments at the weekends. Therefore the resort buzzes at the weekend but goes a bit dead during the week.

Overall. The Hotel has no credit card facilities at all. Everything must be paid for in cash (drinks at dinner). They will exchange your pounds sterling for Euro's at reception but cash only at £1 to 1 Euro. To me any business not accepting credit cards, pool no longer heated, previous reviews mention air-con being turned off, Hotel looking tired and the ridiculous 1 egg only rule may indicate problems here.

Despite all above (believe it or not) we did have a good holiday.
Does it rate 4 stars not really.
Would we stay here again? Probably not.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are bigger and have bigger balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MummeryC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

You are only allowed one fried egg at breakfast time. One guest had a standup argument with Mr Giannetti over this matter.
The hotel was very dated but clean, the staff however were very plesent.
Location is good for shops and restaurants.Nice swimming pool and beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st ives, cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Just returned from this hotel. Read previous reviews but always make my own decisions. Firstly, the hotel is tired. The reception is OK but the stairs leading to it are tatty and uncared for. I had a single room in the Quisianna side (29). The room was dated, not in a good way as some Italian hotels can be but in a lack lustre, careless way. Towards the end of my week the air con was switched off, which made the small room oppressive. I asked if I could have it back on and was told that the owner (the very formidable Mr Gianetti) had instructed the staff to switch it off and there was not much they could do about it. The room over looked the car port and kitchen's and after evening meals my room smelt like McDonalds as the kitchen extractor was near by. Food generally good if repetitive, and things don't Gert replaced so you need to get there as the dininbg room opens to Gert the best choice, I was amazed that some people went straight to the dessert counter before they had their dinner but realised soon the reason... It goes quickly...

Mr Gianetti... He needs to retire and stay away from the hotel, he is constantly glaring at you and watching what you are taking from the buffet, I saw him remove someone who he thought had jumped the queue and was downright ignorant. I overheard him telling someone who asked politely if there was anymore ham at breakfast that they should move to a different hotel. I am sorry if he is unwell mentally as the behaviour he was displaying gave that impression. The staff are so on edge around him that the experience of dining can be most unpleasant.

Pool area is OK, but again stay away from the hut that sells food/drinks as the smell of cooking fat hangs to your clothes!!!!

Will not return to this hotel or any of the Giannetti group again. Disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ddlmillin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a really relaxing and enjoyable 2 weeks holiday with Thompsons at the Hotel Monaco & Quisisana.

The hotel is set right in the centre of the busiest part of the beautiful Lido di Jesolo. The rear of the hotel contains the lovely pool area and a step across the 2m walkway takes you to the beach and the hotels private, free deck chairs (you do need to pay for 'sunbeds' on the beach). The front of the hotel is some 30m from the shopping 'strip' which seems to go on forever and at 1km is reputed to be the longest shopping strip in Europe!

Ok, so the hotel is split into 2 parts, apparently, by the sound of its name the coming together of two hotels in the distant past, but the join is almost seamless. I understand it was built round 1958 and one of three hotels in the Giannetti chain. The reception area is spotless and has a good, free internet access with lots of comfy chairs! Check is was fast and efficient and even though we arrived at 11am our room was ready and we were soon up to our 4th floor room. (the 2 lifts on the Monaco side of the hotel are very small).

Our room was spotless with the aircon blasting away providing a cool welcome from the heat outside! I suppose the room is a little dated and basic but everything very clean and functional. Lots of hanging and drawer space a good sized digital safe in the wardrobe and tv up on the wall. (only Sky and BBC World news in English though!) The bathroom was roomy and clean with a bath and shower above, which was nice and powerful and all the necessary soaps etc. Towels were thick and in abundance We had a east side facing balcony, which, because of the low rise villa next door, gave a great view of the beach and out to sea and meant that the sun disappeared in the afternoon leaving a nice cool room to come into after a full day out! All in all, Room 147 has top marks.

The hotel has a small bar inside (which I never saw open) and a bar serving a good range of drinks, food and ice cream poolside (remind me to mention ice cream later!) No space for entertainment in the hotel so don't come here if you are looking for karaoke, bingo or a Robbie Williams lookalike! The restaurant has two, linked main rooms (presumably from its days as 2 hotels) and a long, enclosed verandah room, where our table was located. (guests are allocated the same table for the duration of their stay) Get yourself out there if you can as the view across the pool to the beach & sea is great.

The pool was fabulous; slightly heated it was just the right temperature to cool off and spotlessly clean. There was a small splash pool for the kids and the only downside being the lack of shallow water to relax in; the pool went from almost 3m down to about 1.5m so if you are only just over 5ft tall then you are constantly treading water! Sunloungers were in abundance; however, there is a 3euro charge, which includes a towel. Many of the guests were shocked, particularly with families, when the bagnino (pool attendant) came around with his piece of paper advising that there was a charge, a lot of money if you have 3 or 4 kids! As a result of this, a lot of people sat on the beach for free and came up for a swim, which is no big deal. There are lots of tables and chairs around the pool for which there is no charge.

Now...food..what can I say that has not been said here before?! The dining experience was fabulous; breakfast is served either on the verandah or down on the poolside and contains all of the usual morning yummies in abundance; dinner starts at 7.30 with a greeting from all of the waiting staff lined up at the entrance. The meal is buffet style with a vast array of choice; seafoods (even lobster some nights!) meats, pastas and deserts to die for, all well cooked and presented. There were some complaints by late diners that some of the desert cakes had all gone (perhaps I shouldn't have had that third slice!).

The staff were all very hard working, helpful and friendly from reception to the 2 bagninos. The waiting on staff were fast and efficient in removing used dishes and the infamous Mr G is either a sad old man with nothing better to do, a proud owner running a tight ship or an urban myth who is dropped off back at the hostel every night...I will leave you to decide!

The resort itself is fabulous and seems to go on forever. The beach is clean and tidy with lots of activity and things to do and buy. Check out the kiteman, the mobile ice cream carts (oh yes I need to mention ice cream later!), the guys painting names and the looky looky guys.

The main shopping strip is one way for cars during the day and closed off for cars completely during the evening and from 8pm is rammed with all manner of people parading up and down. there is a 2-way bike lane that you need to look out for as the lunatic mobs on the hire bikes do go flying down there! There are literally millions of shops, bars and cafes lining the strip selling all manner of goods..and then there are the ice cream sellers...this was both a very expensive and waist widening holiday for me...the are ice cream places almost on every corner and in the middles too; a little expensive at 3.60 euros for a big cone but the range of flavours in superb!

Aqualandia and the aquarium are good local places to visit and Venice is within easy reach vian the No5 bus to Punto Sabioni (40mins) and then a pleasant 15min ferry ride right to St Marks Sq, although be prepared for a tight squeeze on the bus! Quite a few markets around and longer trips to Lake Garda, the Dolomites and Verona are doable although a long way and expensive.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Robbbie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

my wife & I have just returned from a weeks holiday. this hotel is situated right on the beach with its own section of beach with free chairs/beds, we had a side facing room so our sea view was limited but as we were rarely in our room this was not a major problem for us, sea views come at a cost. the hotel was spotlessly clean & clean towels/sheets provided daily. staff were pleasant. the hotel is situated about 20 meters from the main street where all bars, restaurants & shops are which is lively but feels peaceful & safe. if you want any nightlife/drinks you will need to venture into this street as the downside to the hotel is there is no entertainment and the bar is open for about 15 minutes a day if your lucky although drinks are served with dinner. the food at the hotel is top notch, breakfast has all the regular but dinner has a vast selection of food (seafood, fish, meats, pastas) which was well presented & cooked, if you have a sweet tooth though you would need to be sharp as there is a limited number of deserts available which soon disappear. THE NOT SO GOOD POINTS at meal times the infamous mr gianetti stands over his staff and guests and anyone who steps out of line look out. we did find this amusing towards the end of our stay & one of the children guests manage to get a photo of him smiling. at the hotel pool the sunbeds will cost you 3 euros each per day so can add up over the holiday for larger families (you do get a towel with the bed). we would return to jesolo and this hotel

Room Tip: if you value the view pay extra for sea veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank evs40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jesolo hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cesare Augustus
Hotel Cesare Augustus
#48 of 250 in Jesolo
303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambasciatori Palace
Ambasciatori Palace
#176 of 250 in Jesolo
228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Principe Palace
Hotel Principe Palace
#8 of 250 in Jesolo
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Milton
Hotel Milton
#17 of 250 in Jesolo
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#15 of 250 in Jesolo
494 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luxor & Cairo Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monaco & Quisisana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco & Quisisana Hotel

Property: Monaco & Quisisana Hotel
Address: Via Andrea Palladio 1, 30016, Jesolo, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > Jesolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Jesolo
#113 On the Beach Hotel in Jesolo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco & Quisisana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star hotel directly on the beach. Pool for kids and grown up persons. Equipped beach with sunumbrella and chairs. Breakfast and dinner are served on buffet. Free parking and garage (extra charge). Free bikes at guests' disposal. WI-FI.For informations and reservations please contact our reservation center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monaco & Quisisana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco And Quisisana Hotel
Monaco Quisisana Hotel
Hotel Monaco Quisisana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing