We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great location, best sleep in a hotel ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Marco Polo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Marco Polo
Ranked #92 of 252 Hotels in Jesolo
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“A great location, best sleep in a hotel ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

We were stuck during the volcanic ash escapade in April, and when we found out we went immediately to Jesolo. We literally walked into the Marco Polo, and they gave us a room straight away. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the room was much better than the one we had had in Venice, even though we were paying less than half the price! Breakfast was also quite good. But the best thing was the bed, which was the most comfortable I've ever slept on in any hotel! Overall, great location (right next to tons of shops and a minute from the beach), great staff, and comfortable beds...can't go wrong!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cal83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    53
    17
    6
    5
See reviews for
31
54
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
munich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

4 Euro extra for eggs at breakfast. Dishes were washed on one side only (chocolate on the back) . Insulting management posters with instructions for guests all over the place (elevator, stairs, entrance, hall). Room OK but way too small for extra bed (mandatory for child). Beach cabin closed even after complaints.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vascoMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2009

I am writing this from my room at the Marco Polo, which as people have said is a little smaller than average and I would agree.
I booked the hotel after using a search engine and contacting the hotel direct by e mail. I am traveling on my own and paid €55 per night for 4 nights bed and breakfast which I was happy with as the hotel has everything you need. Breakfast is the usual continental type bread, ham cheese, jam etc as well as fresh melon and pear & yogurt. Previous complaints are not justified ( if you want a full english go to Benidorm...this is Italy) as I thought it all adequate.
The restaurant next door is good and quite good value €12 for a pizza and a couple of beers.
Beach clean and tidy and sunbeds free of charge as is cycle hire from the hotel. Air con in my room not noisy but did get bitten by buzzy things on the balcony so take some insect repellant.
The town is what you make of it and felt safe. From what I gather people use it as a base to visit other places such as Venice and Trieste and the lakes.
The hotel is worthy of 3 stars, and most of the negatives I have read on this site are possibly not all true.. this is not a Marriott after all and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikemoulds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2008

We were in the hotel for 6 nights in October. Found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. The room was small and very compact - had everything you needed, free fridge and safe which was nice. TV - could only get SKY or CNN. Bathroom very clean and tidy with hairdryer. Room serviced everyday. Continental breakfast was pleasant. Out of season (which we were) - no other meals or drinks served restaurant closed.

Hotel was on one of the main roads easy to find - we travelled from Rome by train to Venice (nightmare with heavy suitcases up all the stairs to the bus station), by two buses to Lido di Jesolo. Cost of Train €118 for two one way, cost of bus less than €13 for two to get to hotel.

Out of season Lido di Jesolo is just plain boring - even for a middle aged couple like us! Nothing to do but go out to eat - restaurants were great. One advantage was able to travel to Venice on a canal boat at €34 or so each and back, which was great. Other excursions say to Florence not on out of season. Beach was deserted.

I took ill with a viral tummy and the pharmacies are closed the length and breadth (we walked it) of the place from Friday to Tuesday - a nightmare. The Hotel owner was very kind fetching medicine from her home.

Hotel provided transfer back to Marco Polo airport for €50 so that was great.

Overall, the hotel was ok, does not have a pool though and I thought that considering there were quite a lot of people visiting the place, there could have been a bit more of a vibe. Won't go back, not the hotel's fault though - the place.

  • Liked — cleanliness and the little balcony
  • Disliked — no swimming pool
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CAROCAET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2008

The hotel rooms are as many have mentioned - small (literally you can just about walk around the bed) but clean and plenty of cupboard/drawer space and a small balcony that you can just about fit 2 chairs on. There's a safe and a small fridge in the rooms as well.

The air con is a bit noisy when you are trying to sleep at night so may have to be adjusted (despite their requests for you not to touch it!).

The towels were changed daily and the beds were made also.

Breakfast wasn't great - the cereal was bland and tasteless as was the bread and I couldn't get used to eating cakes and sweet pastries! Contrary to what some have said, we found the ladies serving tea/coffee to be very pleasant and polite. Their English is not brilliant, but then neither is my Italian! Nice if you can learn a few basic phrases - I think they appreciate that.

Be careful on reception - the lady will try to charge you 1.5 Euros PER TRAVELLER'S CHEQUE instead of per transaction. The guy kindly rectified this error and also did not charge commission on our future transactions. They do not hold a great deal of cash as it seems a lot of their guests are from countries already using the Euro.

As for the resort itself, it's lively and plenty of bars, shops and things to do. It's also a very clean resort and we often spotted the refuse collectors also sweeping leaves and twigs off the pavements!

After a while you can get sick of the sight of pizza/pasta and ice cream shops however!

The best ice-cream we found was in the shop opposite the Marco Polo. Some of the other places were dishing out watery/tasteless stuff.

The restaurant next to Marco Polo was good with excellent service and reasonable prices (Vesuvio?).

It's a bit cheaper to book your trip to Venice through the hotel rather than your travel agent. You get the bus from the Hotel Touring (5-10 mins down the road to the left), which takes 15-20 mins to where you get the boat which is then a further 50 mins (approx).

It's well worth the trip to Venice, although be prepared to barter if you want to go on a gondola as the prices are sky high!

Probably wouldn't go again, but only because it's nice to visit somewhere different each year. Also, I think a week here is plenty as it starts to become 'same old'.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Very small rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Shakira78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2008

Hotel very clean , rooms quite small but quite adequate for two people. Reception staff very ignorant and arrogant in manner. Rooms cleaned every day but not always as we would have liked, only had sheets changed once in the two weeks we were there. Breakfast was quite basic but adequate,staff here were really friendly even though they didn't speak very good english. Beach only two or three minutes away. really lovely and knowing you can always get a lounger as all hotels have allocated space on the beach, go careful at height of the day as sand gets really hot. Resort really clean and is pedestianised in the evening so you can walk about at your leisure but dodge the bikes ! Recommend the BLACK CAT PUB about 45 minutes walk away but you can get the train to it, really friendly staff and english beer ! quiz night a good night on thursdays but get there early to get a seat. VESUVIO RESTAURANT just to the right of the hotel is a good one to try as is TEMPINI ,a little more expensive though. wouldn't really recommend the fish restaurant that ajoins the hotel as it is really expensive and the staff are a little abrupt at times.

  • Liked — location.
  • Disliked — reception staff/ hotellier.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katiejayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North of England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2008

The hotel is in a convenient location, quite close to the beach (where it has its own section - sunbeds and parasols are free on this area. Plenty of good priced restaurants in the vacinity. The rooms are very small and quite depressingly dark - no where to sit apart from on the bed - tiny balcony, air conditioning is advertised but not switched on until end of June unless you want to pay 35 euros. This is not helpful when it is very hot mid june!!

Bathroom small but adequate. No public seating area or lounge in the hotel. Breakfast was basic but ok. Staff serving at breakfast were particularly unfriendly and could at times make you feel uncomfortable, however the reception staff could not have been faulted and were helpful and pleasant .

This area suffers from plagues of mosquitoes so if there is no air conditining on when its stifling hot in mid-June and you have to open the windows at night, you can imagine the consequences. Also the hotel is situated with bars all around it and its tough if you want an early night as the music can be pretty loud. We did not spend much time in the hotel, just used it as a base to sleep, would not there stay again and did not consider it worthy of its official 3 stars.

  • Liked — Convenient Location
  • Disliked — No Air Conditioning on when it had been advertised
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 50sbumblebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jesolo hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#69 of 252 in Jesolo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#105 of 252 in Jesolo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
2.3 mi away
Santiago Hotel
Santiago Hotel
#54 of 252 in Jesolo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rosa
Hotel Rosa
#7 of 252 in Jesolo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#61 of 252 in Jesolo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rosanna
Hotel Rosanna
#95 of 252 in Jesolo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marco Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marco Polo

Property: Hotel Marco Polo
Address: Via Bafile 113, 30017, Jesolo, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > Jesolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#83 On the Beach Hotel in Jesolo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marco Polo 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Marco Polo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing