We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best 3 star Italian Hotel we have ever stayed in.”
Review of Hotel Capitol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Capitol
Ranked #51 of 251 Hotels in Jesolo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2010

We have travelled extensively around Italy and Europe but I can honestly say this has been a wonderful experience. The owners were welcoming and the staff always had a smile on their faces even though it was the end of the season and they must have been tired. A special mention goes to Marzia on Reception, Michaela on the Bar,and Marzia in the restaurant, not forgetting the two ladies who cleaned our room.
The Chef should have a Michelin star - the food was to die for. Plenty of choices and well cooked and presented.

We were on the fourth floor lateral sea view. The rooms could do with a bit of updating
but were always clean and tidy.

The Hotel is located in the Faro area and faces the sea with a large swimming pool.
We have nothing to say against this hotel as it was a wonderful experience.

Thankyou.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank horizon1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Capitol
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2010

My friend and I stayed in Capitol during two weeks in August. It’s excellent hotel where you meet with atmosphere of friendliness and hospitality. The hotel has good position next to the beach on first line also Pedestrian Street with bar, shops, restaurants not far away. Local bus is only two streets away. When we arrived we hadn’t to wait time of check in and we were accommodated in a clean, comfortable room with side sea view. The room provides with all living requisites. The towels were changed every day; bedclothes were changed once per 3-4 days. The air conditioner was for free and you could change the temperature as you would like.
The place on the beach was given according our wish and didn’t change all time of our staying in the hotel. The beach bed and umbrella were for free. You could pay very reasonable price if you would like to lie next to the swimming pool. We didn’t use this service because we prefer to lie next to the beautiful sea.

The breakfast was good and took place on open air terrace with wonderful sea view. You needn’t to be at breakfast early morning because food never finished. The dinner was just fabulous every time. The courses never came again during two weeks. As we were in Italy first time we had possibility to try traditional Italian food from pasta till fresh seafood. We were served by elegant waiter and were very surprised the fact that it was owner of the hotel himself. He worked together with other waiters and watched over the quality service personally. Mr. Bruno gave us very good advises when we need help to choose a drink or food. He understands very well culture differences between people from different countries and different ages and he has his own individual approach for everybody. In general all hotel stuff is very professional, helpful, friendly and low-key servicing.
I would like to recommend this hotel for staying for everybody who is looking for surroundings of nice people, good service, excellent food and new interesting meetings.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Natasha308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

Very good value for money. On the outskirts and a fab position if you don't want the busiest areas. Local restaurants are fabulous and not too expensive. We ate in the holdiay two nights which was also exceptional - four courses - a bit too much for us so opted to eat out. Our balcony was a little small with only one chair but all rooms had a sea view. Breakfast adequate but on a lovely terrace looking out to sea. The hotel has been recently refurbished and the decor in the dining room and reception/casual area are exquisite. We would definitely return

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank October84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Book at the last minute with Thomsons, read the reviews and were suitably impressed when we got there.

The room was fresh clean and tidy and the whole exterior of the hotel had been recently re-decorated. The reception, bar, lounge and restaurant were tastefully decorated and the owner Bruno obviously wants everything kept to a high standard. 3 TVs for those inclined to catch the footy and grand prix, one in the bar and two in the lounge area. Sound kept to minimum.

The pool on par with the contemporary hotels adjacent ,has a pool that leads directly to the beach where there are reserved loungers and umbrellas for each room. It is a bit crowded there at weekends sometimes. The Italiens do things their own way and charge 3 euros p/person to use the loungers by the pool but don't charge on the beach.
Beware the seemingly endless stream of "Looky Looky" men selling their wares on the beach which was a bit wearing at times.

The hotel is located at the quieter end of Lido Di Jeselo which is an advantage. There are plenty of good restaurants within easy walking distance and regular buses if you want to go further afield. As previously reported not a lot of night life and the whole resort could do with a few bars as opposed to restaurants/gelaterieas that serve drinks. Not a major problem but you get the impression they want you to have a meal with your drinks a lot of the time.

Another slight irritation on the eating out aspect was there was quite a queue for the good restaurants between 6.30 and 8.30 if you are prepared to eat later, not a problem.

Decided to to upgrade to half board and were really impressed with the quality and value. If done on a one off basis it was 25 Euro p/person for buffet salad and a 3 course meal. If booked over a few nights it was only 15 Euros. The food was superb and would easily grace the tables at a good restaurant.

Drinks at the bar were not expensive and came out quite well compared to local prices.

Finally the staff were superb and could not do enough for you. Bruno the manager especially. He is up at the crack of dawn and mucks in with all of his staff and he is there at the end grabbing a quick bite to eat in the bar at 11.00. Could not do enough for you. Even took two young girls in his own car to a late opening restaurant on their first night when everything locally was closed. He is also the master at Irish Coffees and all forms of bar keeping having learned his trade in London prior to setting up business.
He owns the Capitol and the Marco Polo Hotels and is cureently setting up a seafood restaurant shortly. So he must be doing something right!

Nothing else to add a wonderful seven days and would highly recommend it to anyone who wants a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StingreyCanterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2009

We stayed at the Capitol as we did not wish to stay in hot and busy Venice where we were attending a wedding
The Capitol is a very well kept hotel and the owners were extremely helpful to us - we cannot thank them enough in giving much advise and practical help. They were lovely
I am sure we had the best room in the hotel - 123 - with a massive balcony overlooking the pool and sea beyond
We chose half board and had exeptional food in the evening with reasonable priced house wine. 4 courses which were all excellent, with evry good service from staff
Breakfasts also good with a buffet and also scrambled eggs and bacon
The beach and pool were good, and the bus stop is very close by - 45 minutes to the airport and about 1.2 hours to Venice by bus or bus and boat.
We really did enjoy our stay at the Capitol and recomend it as a very sensible alternative of you want to visit Venice and also enjoy the beach

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marypa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2008

Arrived at Hotel Capitol and a very good flight and transfer to the hotel. Our Thomson Rep wasn't the best we had had. Her knowledge of the local area definitely needs to be improved on.

Our room was ready for us and was a very good size at the side overlooking the very clean beach. Plenty of storage space and the bathroom was a good size too.

The hotel is at the quieter end of Jeselo but that suited us as we were not disturbed at night by any noise but it meant having to do the same walk every night along the promenade and/or main road to reach any of the good restaurants, which we didn't really mind as the evenings were lovely and warm and it was good to walk off our dinner.

Bruno the owner is lovely (though the same can't be said for his wife). He was very helpful and at lunchtimes always tried to get my daughter to eat different things. He kept complaining that she ate like a bird. Must admit eating at the hotel at lunchtime wasn't cheap and everything was put on a tab and you were presented with the bill when you checked out, which I wasn't too happy about. Also the tables seemed to be reserved for the Italian guests only and though my daughter and I did end up eating there every lunchtime we always had to fight for a table.

My one big complaint was that there were no spare rooms for people departing late in the afternoon. Especially people with young children found this very hard to cope with as the day had been very hot and obviously the youngster had wanted to go for a final swim. Myself and a few other guests ended up "borrowing" towels from the maids' trolleys and then having a shower by the pool and changing in the ladies and mens toilets in the reception area. All in all not very satisfactory. Bruno's wife wasn't at all helpful when asked about getting a room to change, her reply was that we shouldn't have come in August!!!!!!

All in all though the hotel is lovely and well looked after, the majority of the staff were very friendly and it was lovely having our own private beach, though you do have to pay for beds around the pool!!!!

Would definitely recommend to friends though.

LollyB

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LollyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2008

Booked to escape the (not so) great British summer and was not disappointed! Hotel directly on beachfront with its own, well maintained, private section of the beach with emplacement comprising sun loungers and beach umbrella allocated to each room. Our 'sideways view' room was beautifully clean a reasonable size with plenty of storage space and balcony had fantastic view of the beach and sea.
In this fairly small hotel, staff were friendly and service was good. The owner even gave us a lift to the bus station to catch the bus to the airport. Majority of guests were German so perhaps understandably, only basic English was spoken; a chance to brush up on my Italian!
The only minor disappointment was the food - had read reviews here and elsewhere that it was great but my assessment would be 'adequate'. Perhaps this was because it was near the end of the season or maybe tastes differ.
Hotel is at one of the extremes of the resort so even in high season it is probably quieter and has less faciliites than the centre.
Fantastic 6 day holiday representing great value for money. We loved Lido di Jesolo and the hotel so much we only managed to drag ourselves away to visit Venice once!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonCes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jesolo hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Byron Bellavista
Hotel Byron Bellavista
#37 of 251 in Jesolo
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel delle Nazioni
Hotel delle Nazioni
#21 of 251 in Jesolo
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eraclea
Hotel Eraclea
#119 of 251 in Jesolo
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stockholm
Hotel Stockholm
#10 of 251 in Jesolo
452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luxor & Cairo Wellness Hotel
0.5 mi away
Cavalieri Palace
Cavalieri Palace
#44 of 251 in Jesolo
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capitol

Address: Via Padova 77, 30016, Jesolo, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > Jesolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Jesolo
Price Range: £85 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Hotel Jesolo Lido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing