We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fish on the Algarve”

Marisqueira Sol e Mar
Ranked #80 of 381 Restaurants in Quarteira
Price range: US$17 - US$93
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Best Fish on the Algarve”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We have been coming here for several years and it has never disappointed. Not the most glamorous place or location but popular with locals. Owner can appear a little brusque but his English is not good and he is actually a very nice man. Often pays to ask him to recommend something. Sea bass baked in salt (order in advance) is spectacular, as is sole when available and prawns in garlic starter. Wine list is also very good and again ask him for a recommendation, he has some very good whites out the back. Not as cheap as it was but still worth every penny.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Avior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    137
    35
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Huge Portions”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Visited this restaurant recently busy good atmosphere--portions v big seemed to be a lot of food wastage always like to receive generous portions but these were excessive!! service quite efficient but waiter/owner not v friendly unable to explain dishes well. Simply cooked food quality good but was expensive. Food far better value and far nicer than nearby Vilamoura would never go to any of restaurants along the marina there after discovering some of the gems in Quateira

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dub0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing sea food”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Eat there twice during our stay in Quarteira and the food was fresh and delicious. We ordered the boat (full of sea food) and couldn't manage it. Can't wait to go there again!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lady_Evelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant seafood restaurant”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Been here many times and I have to say its one of the best seafood restaurants I have ever been too. One thing I would say is that I've noticed that the prices have started to creep up over the last year. It's a pity but i hope they correct it soon. Great place to bring kids as well as there is always something for them there and they are well carted for.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Obligado”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is the place for seafood,we had the house specialty for two - and it came in a boat, the boat was the width of the table, the photographs didn't do the actual presentation justice, only to be topped by the flavours of the crab, clams, oysters, cockles and s-m-l & xxl prawns.
The plastic bib raised a smile, but we found it an essential fashion accessory during the meal. All the most enjoyable meals seem to be the most messy, and this was no exception. And the way the young lad cleared the debris from our table, again & again, as we offloaded and enjoyed the catch from our fishing boat.
As the other tables were served, their food was eyecatching, the fish stew looked mouthwatering.
The local sweet selection was also the best, the fig & almond torte was moorish.
I find it hard to believe a poor review about this place, as it's not in a back road, but is on the main road through Quarteria, and, the cleanliness and decor is of the highest standard.
The menu and the table settings is a forerunner to what to expect, if the table in the restaurant is set to a good standard, then the food and presentation most probably is of a good standard too.
Planning to visit on our return, and is one of the reasons to return here on holiday.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marisqueira Sol e Mar also viewed

Quarteira, Faro District
Quarteira, Faro District
 
Quarteira, Faro District
 

Been to Marisqueira Sol e Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing