We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crime Ridden Hell Hole” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of King's Club Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King's Club Apartments
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Crime Ridden Hell Hole”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Pay the extra money and stop somewhere nice .
The hotel is clean and adequate for the price but the location is terrible.
Imagine the worst place for crime with a back drop of Beirut and that is the Kings.
The Hotel is surrounded by run down council tenement apartment blocks with druggy alchy tramps sleeping rough in the main bus terminus. Add to this to Romanian Gypsy's regularly setting up a caravan camp outside on the waste land and hey ho you run the risk of burglary, muggings or pick pocketing.
Once you do get robbed the Hotels great helpful advice is ......please do not tell the other guests as it might cause alarm as these things happen !
Pay the extra and go to Vilamoura as that was amazing and the restaurants are only 2 or 3 Euros a meal dearer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stebirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    62
    28
    4
    7
See reviews for
31
77
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Banbury
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

The Kings Apartments are a bit basic but they are clean with a good balcony, we found no problems with these apartments, staff were very helpful. When we asked reception about a transfer to the airport for our return journey as we did not book a seat on the coach, they have a friend who does this transfer for 20 euros to the airport and he was there at 6.30am as we had arranged. Please note when we were waiting for our lift there was a couple who had booked seats on the coach were locked in the internal area by the pool and had to climb over the high fence to get to the coach with cases etc.......So if you are leaving early in the morning, make sure you have the combination for the lock on the gate to get out of the complex if you have an apartment on the internal area of the complex or you will have the same problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank inkyBanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed here for 11 days great position close to beach, shops and places to eat. Apartment was fully equipt with cooker, washing machine, full size fridge and microwave and was clean. Felt very secure there is a lovely security officer who patrols at night. Staff were friendly especially the two children of the family my kids had a great time playing with them by the pool. My only complaint would be the early checkout time 10am our flight was not until 8pm and we had asked if we could pay to keep the apartment until 3pm and were told no as new guests were coming and the room had to be cleaned. We sat by the pool all day and observed that the cleaners did not enter until 4.30pm which we were a bit annoyed about as we could have kept the apartment on after all and with 2 young children it was a long day for them with nowhere to have a rest. Unsure if i would stay again due to this as a flight home with 2 cranky kids is not fun!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzanne1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

we are a young couple this was our first time to Kings and Portugal. On arrival 15 euro for a safe and 10 euro for wifi for 3 days, which we had for our whole stay. We stayed in a 1 bed studio, receptionist's son showed us to our room and showed us where everything is, yes when she told us about keeping the shutters shut we were a bit cautious, but we understand its for our safety. The room was lovely and clean, but no a/c but we got used to it, we just kept the door open at night and the shutters locked, the room was cleaned twice in our week stay and towels changed twice. Pool area is nice although we only spent a few hours there.
We walked to Villamoura beach and marina it was lovely, more tourist feel, a lot more English people but also more expensive, where as Quarteira is more local the prices are cheaper. We also stumbled across a classic car show, wow! right on the marina it was great.
I recommend Don Toro on Villamoura Marina the best steak ever and great service also Lendario on the main strip of Quarteira beach, beautiful restaurant, with a grand piano inside, we sat outside over looking the lovely beach, food at low prices and friendly staff.
The AquaShow in Quarteira was an amazing day out, awesome water rollercoaster and wildlife and the lazy river, could of chilled there forever!
Recommend Kings Apartments, the studio was perfect for two but I hear the larger rooms have a washing machine! Our balcony was over looking the pool wasn't too bad we had some sun in the mornings then straight down to the beach everyday which was only 5 mins away! Lovely people lovely area everything in walking distance. Must go again!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunRayz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
widnes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Booked a last minute 5 day bargain break through on the beach. First impressions weren't the best as the immediate surrounding areas looked like a building site. We were shown to our apartment which felt dated with dark wood doors and furniture and bedding/curtains like my nan used to have in her house. but we couldn't complain as the sheer size of the apartment and facilities were superb. The location of the apartments were ideal, about 250 meters to the beach and about 150 meters to shops bars and restaurants. I would definately come back here, the resort seemed to be mostly occupied by portugease holiday makers and people from other eu countries but hardly any English which is a massive bonus! Purchased wifi (10 euros for 3 days) which i wouldn't recommend as it was more miss than hit. Found the owner lady to be very friendly and helpful and the apartments had a family run feel to them. Nice little pool with drinks for sale by the owners young son. Apartments were clean, found a couple of hairs in the bed but apart from that no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank antonlefosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

After reading previous reviews I was under the impression these apartments had been improved recently and I was not wrong.The apartment we booked was a studio apartment but immediately we arrived we were upgraded to a one bedroom apartment and what value for money.The apartment was roomy ,spacious,clean and very well attired,washing machine and everything you need on holiday.The down side was no air con and no satellite TV but you can live with that.Also it is advertised on various sites and on your key receipt as being 200-400 metres from the beach,couldn't be more wrong,its more like 800-1000 metres and not a pleasant walk past a derelict building site before you get to the main road.As well as this the walk up the never ending hill after a hard day on the beach in 35°heat is not pleasant.The apartment itself seemed to be amongst locals home apartments and the noise generated by what seemed to be a children's club on the ground floor did not make for good sleeping,children in Portugal seem to be up till all hours.Quarteria itself is not the best of places ,if you are British and like a bit of British its not for you ,it seems to be a cheap Portuguese destination for the locals.Saying that the beach is fantastic and for only 10 euros per day you can hire 2 sun loungers and fixed parasol .Compare that to elsewhere,Villamoura is 16 euros, its good value.Don't visit the market its a rip off and full of pick pockets etc.Highlight for us was the Jokers bar ,close to the fish market,excellent food and hospitality.We chose Quarteria as a cheap holiday and its what we got.5 euro taxi ride 2.20 bus ride or 15 minuite walk and you've got Villamoura marina and its a different world.All in all apartments good ,Quarteria rough ,would not recommend for us Brits.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and go to Villamoura
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hattonManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DERBY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Just came back from Kings, paid for studio but on arrival they gave us an apartment which
Was surprisingly well equipped and quite spacious we only had the room cleaned once and was only a quick brush and wipe, the tempreture at night was getting hotter and was borderline for AC, like a lot of people have said in their reviews
The area surrounding the hotel was a bit shabby,the pool area I thought was a bit tight but we didn't much time around it. The supermarket is quite cheap especially wine and beer. The bus terminus is not far away it costs 0.75 euro to villamoura and 8.50 euro return to allberferia.
The Wednesday market was a complete waste of time we didn't buy a thing
All in all you get what you pay for but if we go to portugal again I would go somewhere else

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyBenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quarteira hotels
0.2 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#7 of 49 in Quarteira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
#23 of 49 in Quarteira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atismar
Hotel Atismar
#42 of 49 in Quarteira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quarteira Sol
Quarteira Sol
#25 of 49 in Quarteira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Club Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Club Apartments

Property: King's Club Apartments
Address: Urbanizacao Rocheta Morgado Lote 21, Quarteira 8125, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Club Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your King's Club Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Apartments Hotel Quarteira
King's Club Apartments Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing