We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“typical portuguese fare”
Review of o jacinto

o jacinto
Ranked #64 of 370 Restaurants in Quarteira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$33 - US$132
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edinburgh UK.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“typical portuguese fare”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

this restaurant offers good food,in a typical Portuguese setting if you want to enjoy the local cuisine amidst a loyal local clientele give this friendly venue a try

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    83
    19
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
226 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“A cut above”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This restaurant is obviously aimed at, shall we say, the wealthier visitor to the area. Surprised other reviewers saw no tourists, clientele was all tourists when we were in, some portuguese, but people on holiday none the less. I imagine they would come from Vale do Lobo and Villamoura rather than Quarteira. This was by far the most expensive meal we had in Quarteira but it was very good, four stars because we had other very good meals at considerably cheaper prices. Tomato salad, monkfish with rice for 2 (huge, would have served 4), bottle of water and bottle of house wine. Couldn't find fault with anything, service very good too, bill E60. Would go back, but only for special occasions, more often if money no object.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chocsEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Amazing seafood, so fresh.”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

First thing that we noticed is that we were the only tourists there, midweek & it was full of locals. The restaurant is quite expensive, but this soon becomes irrelevant when you taste the produce.
I had clams & large prawns as a starter, sole for main followed by the most amazing chocolate mousse. Everything was just so fresh, cooked and seasoned to perfection. I agree with other reviewers comments, the prawns are simply amazing. One of the best, if not best seafood restaurants that have ever been to. Between the 4 of us it worked out at about 55 euro per head. A real gem of a restaurant. My mother-in-law had the crab for main, talked about it for the whole week.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 917PaulB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

When we visited in previous years it was always full and we were usually squashed in somewhere near the loos. We don't book as there are excellent restaurants around in the back streets if this one is too busy. This year maybe we turned up before the rush or probably the recession is hitting local trade. Anyway, it worked for us as we had amazing food and service, probably the best of all the Quarteira restaurants. We ate there twice, clams, cataplanas and for me the highlight monkfish with rice. Seemed slightly better value than some other restaurants where I felt dishes for 3 were simply the set dish for 2 but with a multiple added to the bill. Here the dishes for 3 people were more than ample.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PSBKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wow! Shrimp!”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Venture away from Quinta do Lago to O Jacinto and request the shrimp, it's beyond amazing! Expensive, yes, but definitely worth it. Two per person would be loads. We are still talking about it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank purplesnack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed o jacinto also viewed

Quarteira, Faro District
 
Quarteira, Faro District
Quarteira, Faro District
 
Quarteira, Faro District
Quarteira, Faro District
 

Been to o jacinto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing