We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food ok but not quite up to scratch for Quarteira”
Review of ROSA BRANCA

ROSA BRANCA
Ranked #271 of 381 Restaurants in Quarteira
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: WHITE ROSE RESTAURANT
bradford
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Food ok but not quite up to scratch for Quarteira”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My grilled seabream was absolutely fresh and fine, though others in my party were a bit disappointed by the way the sardines were cooked. Generally, this is a large restaurant which has a number of areas, including a glassed-in terrace, where we ate. It's a bit hot in the summer, though probably very nice in winter. Service seemed a bit slow, possibly because we were so far away from the kitchen! Place is a bit scruffy and rambling and needs a bit of sprucing up. I think it lives on its reputation as the place next to the fish market. As a recent reviewer said, the Adega do Peixe over the road is a lot better. Will try to review it soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BradfordBuzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    80
    53
    43
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Scenic views across the beach and delicious charcoal grilled fish”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Attentive staff although didn't realise the bread, butter, cheese and olives brought to the table at the start were all to be paid for! I had delicious sea bass and husband had tasty steak with potatoes and veg. Big platefuls so try to avoid all the extras unless you are very hungry. Good wine menu and fruity jug of sangria washed down our meals beautifully!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley_Ann8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Expensive but tasty”
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Lovely view of the beach and lots of fresh fish on view. Monkfish stew we shared was lovely and there was a lot of it. Service was best I've come across in a long time. Bit pricey though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Funky_Thistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navan
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Tourist trap?”
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

This place has the best spot in the town, foods ok but they just can't cope when it's half full. Yes Spanish and Portuguese eat here and I saw a fuss being made of them. English didn't get the service.
I had the same dish as some other review cod and potato and yes it was salt and garlic and I drank all night afterwards but the local taste seems to be heavy into garlic and salt. Food is not that bad, service after the nice man outside talks you into going inside is poor

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank craiggsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The worst place I have eaten”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We went here on our first night in quartiera and after arriving at 8.30pm went to find somewhere to eat. This place was very busy so we thought it must be good. We ordered our food at 9pm we ordered 6 hamburgers as we wanted something quick as our 2 young children were tired. It finally arrived at 10pm and can honestly say we were lost for words it was a tinned hamburger with and overlooked fried egg on top surrounded by cold soggy chips covered in gravy it was the most tasteless thing I have eaten in my life! We only managed a few mouthfuls. When we complained to the waiter he said we are a seafood restaurant to which my mother said "yes but this was on the menu and so should be made to the same standard" the waiter then said the chef would not be interested in what we had to say as he was in his words "a w*****" . Would never eat here again. Even with the small amount we did eat we were all ill within a few hours of eating here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ROSA BRANCA also viewed

Quarteira, Faro District
Quarteira, Faro District
 
Quarteira, Faro District
 
Quarteira, Faro District
 

Been to ROSA BRANCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing