We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great afternoon, worth the walk”
Review of BJ`S Oceanside

BJ`S Oceanside
Ranked #23 of 370 Restaurants in Quarteira
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, View
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great afternoon, worth the walk”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband and I had a great Friday lunch at BJ's after receiving the recommendation from a friend. We chose to book on Friday because there is live music. We parked the car in Vale do lobo and walked along the beach to the restaurant instead of parking in Quarteira. The website says it's a 20 minute walk from Vale do lobo, but I'd say it's more like a half hour (and we are pretty fit!).

We arrived at 1 and ordered the sea bass for two. The food was delicious and service attentive (lots of staff for such a small place). There were lots of large parties, but that didn't seem to hold anything up. The speciality is the grilled fish and it was very good, but really it's the beautiful views of the sea and the atmosphere that make it a great afternoon. The live music was good and the duo interacted with the diners well.

My husband had what I'd probably describe as the best brownie ever for dessert.

It wasn't a cheap afternoon (€90 for couvert, sea bass for two, two glasses of wine, two desserts, coffee and sparkling water) but nothing really is in this part of the world. It's a great place to spend an afternoon and we would definitely go back.

Oh and the walk back to vale do lobo was a great way to burn off some of the calories. :)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scotland4211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    90
    25
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Food was very good”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I thought the food was very good but the restaurant at night was a little cold and I should have brought a jumper.

Overall service was good and much better than there posh neighbours at Maria and izzys down the coast.

I would go back but definitely with warmer clothes even in August

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bunny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bex99Portugal, Owner at BJ`S Oceanside, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for your review of BJ's. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the food and service and am sorry that you felt cold. The whole restaurant is outdoors and we have had some very chilly evenings over the last few weeks. As a result we have been supplying blankets to keep clients warm after the sunset, i am very sorry that you did not get offered one of these.
I hope that we can welcome you back to BJ's soon
J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A must do when in Portugal”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Thank you to BJ's for accommodating us on our way to the airport - we had a lovely lunch and very much enjoyed the entertainment. I recommend you book if you want to get in! All 6 of us enjoyed salads, chicken, chips, humous, tuna mayo with warm pitta!! Delicious on a beautiful sunny afternoon! The second time I've been and it's fab, great staff who are attentive and polite. Set right on the beach you can enjoy the surroundings as well as have a little walk either before or after dinner!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dove9591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A great return visit!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We had another wonderful evening at BJ's. The location is wonderful, right on the beach, and at dinner the sunset is spectacular.
Our food, as always, was excellent. The Bream was delicious, as were the sardine starters.
The service was attentive, and efficient and Jay, Becks and the team were perfect hosts.
Thank you all and we'll be back next year!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, lovely location and very friendly staff”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This place is a must visit. They have great seafood, fresh fish and the staff are so friendly. If you are going in the evening take a jumper even on a hot day as when the sun goes down it gets chilly! The kids loved the dressing up box and the food too which always makes for a more enjoyable meal. This place is set on the beach and is off the beaten track but well worth the trip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MTL2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BJ`S Oceanside also viewed

Quarteira, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 
Vale do Lobo, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to BJ`S Oceanside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing