We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sublime to bad”
Review of Tasca do Antonio

Tasca do Antonio
Ranked #169 of 368 Restaurants in Quarteira
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Speciality of fresh fish
edinburgh
Level Contributor
225 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Sublime to bad”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Visited twice. Service very good, though they could do to smarten the place up a bit and redo the menus. However, first visit seafood and rice cataplana was wonderful (despite a lot of crabsticks which the waitress advised were lobster!), more than enough to serve 4, we took half of it away for lunch next day. Asked for tomato salad (not on menu) very good, as was house wine. We left very happy, with vouchers for a drink on Monday, when music is laid on. Went back, musician was very good but restaurant empty and food not good. Ordered a meat cataplana to share, goodness knows what the meat was but it was old for sure. And there was a fiasco re the bill, charged E8 for half carafe (presumably to cover the 'free' drinks). It's a pity because there is a lot of potential, a dutch person married to owner's daughter was present both times and appeared to have the savvy to make this place more attractive to uk visitors. As it was, despite the excellent meal first visit, we left with a feeling of being ripped off, not nice. But 4 stars due to quality and reasonable price of first visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chocsEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    54
    23
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Good worth a visit”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Overall the service, food and ambient extremely nice, certainly worth a visit. We were a bit disappointed with the amount of fish in our Cataplana de Tamboril in the main dish, however everything in the dish was extremely tasty. It certainly worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antonio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessenderlo, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food & atmosphere”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We stopped there by accident (so many restaurants in Quarteira to choose from )and were surprised by the tastiest food, nice service and reasonable prices! The shrimps were so fresh and amazingly good! They were absolutely worth coming back! The sardines were great as well! The stuff is very child friendly.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vgnatasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

It's on the sea front, ideal for a quick meal. I had salmon which was very nice and reasonably priced (under 10 euro).The staff were very attentive and free shots offered after meal.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Timi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We sought out this restaurant on a Sunday night but sadly it was closed. Returning on the Monday night, we found a convivial and welcoming atmosphere, despite the restaurant being busy, enhanced by a talented singer/saxophonist.
The menu is simple, fish is fresh and there is an extensive choice of wines. Our meals were excellent value for money. Highly recommended

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Solibella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tasca do Antonio also viewed

Quarteira, Faro District
Quarteira, Faro District
 
Quarteira, Faro District
 
Loule, Faro District
Quarteira, Faro District
 

Been to Tasca do Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing