We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to do”
Review of Hotel Atismar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Atismar
Ranked #42 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

A nice clean hotel. great breakfast. no hotel entertainment and nothing to do close by. a few restaurants on the sea front but not very good. you need to go along tl Vilamoura for great food and a bit of entertainment. vilamoura is a beautiful marina. but can be a bit expensive. so look at menus before you sit down.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (977)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

661 - 667 of 977 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2012

Stayed A/I with my wife for a week at end of Oct. Price was OK and we didn't expect too much. Great location close to beach but the hotel was characterless. Entertainment consisted of an old TV showing football or pop videos in the "lounge bar" and cafeteria. There was only one barman on for both of these at any one time and he had to flit between them. There were very few staff on duty in the kitchen, dining room and cleaners, and they seemed to be on all day, working hard and usually cheery and helpfull. The only place that seemed at times, overstaffed, was the reception where the manageress was often found. One afternoon, the guests were asked to first leave the lounge then the cafe without being told why, and the doors locked. After an hour hanging about the foyer a guest asked at reception, where three staff were gathered, what the problem was and was told it was staffing issues and it should be open soon. A young barman was given the responsibility of opening up at 4.45pm, by which time a large contingent of guests were more than ready for refreshments. A queue of about twenty waited, at first patiently, to be served. Some wanted a beer, some a coffee and others a cheese toastie and this poor laddie tried his best on his own, but individual cappichinoes and toasties take time. A guest went to reception, where there were still three staff hovering with no guests to see to, and suggested that one of them could perhaps help out by making the toasties etc, collecting and washing empty cups, clearing tables and leaving the lad to deal with the bar. Mrs Snooty came through to see for herself, and declined, saying that the hotel owner, who was never there, had ruled that only one person should manage the bar areas. It was pointed out that as manager on duty she was responsible for sorting out this problem which was becoming worse as more guests arrived and those that had been served first, were already waiting to be served again. Her only contribition was to go to the reception desk and return with three dirty coffee cups that her staff had finished and leave them on the sink to be washed.
This lady was also the only staff member who, when on evening duty, took time to sit in the dining room and enjoy a full dinner.

Room Tip: Service from most staff very good, but don't expect the posh ones to get their hands dirty to he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DEEBEE2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend from 19-22 October, not expecting the Ritz, due to the price we paid. However, we did opt for the all inclusive option. This was not worth the money. The soft drinks were tasteless and flat, direct from a large supermarker bought bottle rather than a tap, the alchol was the cheapest stuff and again, not drinkable. The only thing that was ok was the beer (Sagres). We couldn't even have a hot chocolate as part of the all inclusive!

There was nothing whatsoever to do within the hotel and it had no atmosphere. The rooms were small and basic, but suited the purpose. You have one channel on the tv, BBC World News. There is wifi which luckily stretched to where our room was so we could at least use our iphones for some form of entertainment!

The location of the hotel was good, literally a 2 min walk to the promenade and beach front which was pleasant enough.

The pool was dirty and appeared to have a layer of film across it which was a shame as it would've been nice to use on the sunny day whilst we were there.

We were thankfully only there for 3 nights. Wouldn't recommend the hotel at all - it'd be fine for a night's stay on a business trip, but not for a holiday - it may be different in peak season, but definately not a place to go out of season.

The food was not great either - the salad bar and breakfast time was the only good part about it. If you didn't eat whole fish or chunks of meat in some form of sauce, you were out of luck. Unless you like dry pasta, rice or brussel sprouts!

Room Tip: The room we was in was right near the lift and you could hear conversations as the doors and walls a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thatgirlh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We booked 3 days HB, but because of our flights we were only able to have 2 days food service...The first evening we made it to the hotel at 21.20 and asked for our dinner, the staff told us, no dinner, the restaurant closed 20min ago...So we had to go and find somewhere else to eat..Same thing happened when we left on the third day at 7AM, no breakfast, the restaurant opens 8AM....sorry, we don't do packed breakfast...We have been to other hotels before and arriving late was not a problem, some snacks and drinks were left for us in the restaurant, so the management has to consider this situations and act upon...I read similar complains in this forum. Also we were not happy with the air cons noise during the night, it felt as if an airplane is starting its engines every 20-30 min...Location wise, perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mi49mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 8 nights witch was most enjoyable clean hotel no complaints but the transfers another point donot use green bus we will be emailing locosthols to tell them
The resort is very quite whitch suites us
Lovely prom loads of places to eat at lo prices
Taxis are cheaper than buses for local travel
So all the reviews ya read that are negative all I can say is they must stay in 5 star elsewhere

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 30trebor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at Atismar for seven nights and, despite being a light sleeper, not once was I woken up by noises from the street or in the corridors.
Our bed, which was a super king size, was done everyday and the room & bathroom was cleaned on a daily basis. The towels were changed every two days.
The food was simple but fresh and refilled throughout the service (bearing in mind that it's not a 5 star hotel, so don't expect a 5 star buffet). We were on a half-board package and didn't find any reason to complain in the seven days that we stayed. It seems that the buffet was made of local receipes (fish, meat, rice, pasta, potatoes, salads, soups, puddings...).
They also have a rather nice selection of Portuguese wines for about 10 euros per bottle.
For breakfast, you have a choice of continental or english, which was fine to suit our needs as my husband is English and I am French.
The location is ideal as it is footsteps away from the beach and markets (morning market as well as night market on the promenade in the summer months).
All in all, excellent value for money and definitely a place to stay again.
On the sweet side, if you want a taste of Holland, you have to go to Nat's Waffle. It's round the corner from the hotel, right on the seafront. They do the lightest, fluffiest waffles with ice cream, toppings, coffees and fruit smoothies. They also offer bite size dutch style pancakes (or "poffertjes"), which are a real treat for the tastebuds. Being both expats from the UK, the owners (Steve and Nathalie) will tell you exactly where to get the best value for money in terms of eating out, the places to see, the activities to do, which is extremely helpful if you're not familiar with the area.

Room Tip: When booking, you need to request a room on the hightest floors if you want a view of the sea/beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The location of this hotel is fantastic, it's a maximum 2 minute walk to a beautiful beach, that at this time of year was empty! We had beautiful weather all week (in excess of 25)

The hotel itself is clean, I have to say though I wouldn't bother to take the AI option that we did, the food really isn't much to write home about, we ate an evening meal there once and didn't bother again after that, I had expected to find eating difficult being vegetarian but usually get by on AI with veg and salad but there wasn't even really much of that, my staunch meat eating friend also struggled and said the meat was also not good, each evening on the menu was chips, rice and veg (although I'm sceptical about the veg!) with a soup and some kind of meat or fish.

We had breakfast a few mornings, the cooked breakfast didn't look very nice so we didn't try it, we however had what we'd have at home; tea and toast which was fine.

There is very little choice on the AI drinks, no diet drinks (which is what I drink) and the coke they serve is vile.

We had a lovely sea view room, no the beds aren't memory foam like I have at home but they are fine, the staff are helpful, the area's nice, the walls are paper thin and there is little or no 'nightlife' we had expected some bars but all there was were restaurants, however we decided to go on a trip one night to Albufeira.

Turn left out of the hotel and walk to the bus terminal before 7.20 PM, €4.20 bus fare, get off where you see 'Jinky's' and you have bars, cocktail bars and restaurants, they are all cheaper than the bars in Quarteira and even in the quiet period a fair bit more life, free shot in every bar with drinks and even with cocktails you were paying about €8.50 for two drinks. We'd been told the taxi fare's home were expensive but with a tip we paid €25.00 which we thought was good value.

Definitely don't write this hotel off due to the reviews, it's really fine and such a good location, the pools nice for when the heat at the beach gets too much, just don't take the AI option unless you want to drink all day and night, in which case it's probably worth it.

Room Tip: Great views from higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jumpinletsgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quarteira
0.2 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#9 of 48 in Quarteira
1,641 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
#28 of 48 in Quarteira
834 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quarteira Sol
Quarteira Sol
#25 of 48 in Quarteira
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Auramar Beach Resort
Auramar Beach Resort
#74 of 154 in Albufeira
2,949 reviews
7.9 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#123 of 154 in Albufeira
2,938 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zodiaco
Hotel Zodiaco
#26 of 48 in Quarteira
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atismar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atismar

Address: Hotel Atis Avenida Doutor Francisco Sa Carneiro, Quarteira 8125-146, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Price Range: £20 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atismar 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Atismar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atismar Hotel Quarteira
Hotel Atismar Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing