We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not go”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Atismar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Atismar
Ranked #39 of 49 Hotels in Quarteira
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do not go”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

This hotel even as a 3 star hotel on a cheap holiday is shocking. The food is disgusting with two choices. Diet coke is not included in AI options. There is no entertainment apart from that provided by other guests. No hairdryers in rooms and the one provided by the hotel at 10 euro deposit was molten and when plugged in fused the hotel. bought one for 7 euro. wanted to buy tippex to remove 3 star rating showing on hotel. on the good side the location was good to get around or maybe that was to get away from the hotel. Lovely walk along the promenade to Villamoura.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    292
    266
    134
    103
See reviews for
142
474
48
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Not a bad hotel to stay in and use as a base. Beds were very hard and the variety of food left something to be desired. However, the staff were all friendly and the hotel itself was very clean and tidy. At the end of the day, you get what you pay for! (We did not pay a lot!)

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view with balcony. All are south facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Although it was a good enough location the beds were like plywood very uncomfortable n the staff were very unpleasant to deal with when I asked if we could have a room with a double bed and not two single beds pushed together the staff couldn't care less. The bed linen wasn't changed during our weeks stay!!!! Safety deposit box you had to pay a fee which is a first for me and finally when I asked to eat in bar they refused with no explanation so all in all it was a very forgettable experience I wouldn't recommend this dump to anyone

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hozers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quarteira hotels

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

A nice clean hotel. great breakfast. no hotel entertainment and nothing to do close by. a few restaurants on the sea front but not very good. you need to go along tl Vilamoura for great food and a bit of entertainment. vilamoura is a beautiful marina. but can be a bit expensive. so look at menus before you sit down.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

Stayed A/I with my wife for a week at end of Oct. Price was OK and we didn't expect too much. Great location close to beach but the hotel was characterless. Entertainment consisted of an old TV showing football or pop videos in the "lounge bar" and cafeteria. There was only one barman on for both of these at any one time and he had to flit between them. There were very few staff on duty in the kitchen, dining room and cleaners, and they seemed to be on all day, working hard and usually cheery and helpfull. The only place that seemed at times, overstaffed, was the reception where the manageress was often found. One afternoon, the guests were asked to first leave the lounge then the cafe without being told why, and the doors locked. After an hour hanging about the foyer a guest asked at reception, where three staff were gathered, what the problem was and was told it was staffing issues and it should be open soon. A young barman was given the responsibility of opening up at 4.45pm, by which time a large contingent of guests were more than ready for refreshments. A queue of about twenty waited, at first patiently, to be served. Some wanted a beer, some a coffee and others a cheese toastie and this poor laddie tried his best on his own, but individual cappichinoes and toasties take time. A guest went to reception, where there were still three staff hovering with no guests to see to, and suggested that one of them could perhaps help out by making the toasties etc, collecting and washing empty cups, clearing tables and leaving the lad to deal with the bar. Mrs Snooty came through to see for herself, and declined, saying that the hotel owner, who was never there, had ruled that only one person should manage the bar areas. It was pointed out that as manager on duty she was responsible for sorting out this problem which was becoming worse as more guests arrived and those that had been served first, were already waiting to be served again. Her only contribition was to go to the reception desk and return with three dirty coffee cups that her staff had finished and leave them on the sink to be washed.
This lady was also the only staff member who, when on evening duty, took time to sit in the dining room and enjoy a full dinner.

Room Tip: Service from most staff very good, but don't expect the posh ones to get their hands dirty to he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DEEBEE2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend from 19-22 October, not expecting the Ritz, due to the price we paid. However, we did opt for the all inclusive option. This was not worth the money. The soft drinks were tasteless and flat, direct from a large supermarker bought bottle rather than a tap, the alchol was the cheapest stuff and again, not drinkable. The only thing that was ok was the beer (Sagres). We couldn't even have a hot chocolate as part of the all inclusive!

There was nothing whatsoever to do within the hotel and it had no atmosphere. The rooms were small and basic, but suited the purpose. You have one channel on the tv, BBC World News. There is wifi which luckily stretched to where our room was so we could at least use our iphones for some form of entertainment!

The location of the hotel was good, literally a 2 min walk to the promenade and beach front which was pleasant enough.

The pool was dirty and appeared to have a layer of film across it which was a shame as it would've been nice to use on the sunny day whilst we were there.

We were thankfully only there for 3 nights. Wouldn't recommend the hotel at all - it'd be fine for a night's stay on a business trip, but not for a holiday - it may be different in peak season, but definately not a place to go out of season.

The food was not great either - the salad bar and breakfast time was the only good part about it. If you didn't eat whole fish or chunks of meat in some form of sauce, you were out of luck. Unless you like dry pasta, rice or brussel sprouts!

Room Tip: The room we was in was right near the lift and you could hear conversations as the doors and walls a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thatgirlh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenage
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We booked 3 days HB, but because of our flights we were only able to have 2 days food service...The first evening we made it to the hotel at 21.20 and asked for our dinner, the staff told us, no dinner, the restaurant closed 20min ago...So we had to go and find somewhere else to eat..Same thing happened when we left on the third day at 7AM, no breakfast, the restaurant opens 8AM....sorry, we don't do packed breakfast...We have been to other hotels before and arriving late was not a problem, some snacks and drinks were left for us in the restaurant, so the management has to consider this situations and act upon...I read similar complains in this forum. Also we were not happy with the air cons noise during the night, it felt as if an airplane is starting its engines every 20-30 min...Location wise, perfect!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mi49mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quarteira
0.2 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#7 of 49 in Quarteira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
#25 of 49 in Quarteira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
7.9 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#130 of 163 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quarteira Sol
Quarteira Sol
#24 of 49 in Quarteira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
8.1 mi away
Varandas de Albufeira
Varandas de Albufeira
#145 of 163 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
7.6 mi away
Auramar Beach Resort
Auramar Beach Resort
#70 of 163 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atismar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atismar

Property: Hotel Atismar
Address: Hotel Atis Avenida Francisco Sa Carneiro, Quarteira 8125-146, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 49 Hotels in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atismar 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Atismar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atismar Hotel Quarteira
Hotel Atismar Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing