We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really close to the beach”
Review of Hotel Atismar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Atismar
Ranked #44 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

Just come back from our 2nd xmas at this hotel and it was great to see couples visiting again that we met here last year the weather was fantastic as was the room with a sea view and the sunsets are so nice to see from the balcony if you have a sea view room !

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quartaira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (991)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

664 - 670 of 991 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2012

We have just returned from a week over Christmas at the Atismar. We found the staff very helpful and friendly, the room clean and comfortable, the towels changed every day. We enjoyed the food as we love fish and other choices of a Mediterranean variety, breakfast was a reasonable choice. Unfortunately some people go abroad and expect typical British food and are too free with their criticism of local food.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandram240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

For what we paid for this weeks stay, all inclusive, was well worth the money. I really dont know what some people expect when they pay so little. We had read all the negative reviews and were a bit unsure about what we would find.

We had a large room with 2 balconies which was cleaned every day and towels provided when necessary. The room had tv (only BBC World news) and a heater. The bathroom also had a wall heater, good size bath with shower over.

The food was a very limited choice but we found it quite acceptable, especially the fish dish every day. We didn't find the food inferior or of a bad quality. Put on weight whilst we were there so couldn't have been that bad.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

As on previous reviews there is no entertainment at this hotel and the resort was very quiet at this time of the year, so some would find it a bit boring. Lovely walks along the promenade though, for day time.

There were a few 'guests' that liked to drink their body weight in alcohol from dawn to dusk and then proceed to bang doors, scream and swear and set fire alarms off in the early hours, but they were in the minority and we were just unlucky to be on the same floor as them. The management should have thrown them out of the hotel though, that is my only critisism of the hotel.

As long as you dont pay too much for this holiday you should be satisfied.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DorothyThamesmead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We have just returned from 1 week at the Atismar hotel. The hotel was clean and towels changed every day. We stayed in a room on the 8th floor which had a sea view and was a sun trap in the afternoon.. The food was o.k. but you had a limited choice, however we did not go hungry or eat out The beer was a local beer which was alright..There are plenty of walks in the area I particularly liked Villamoura which had a beautiful harbour. This hotel is a bargain at this time of year we paid £170 all inclusive from Edinburgh including tranfer. The staff were lovely always polite and helpful we even got a picnic for plane home.

Room Tip: High floor with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BigLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner in July for five days . We got a really good deal , £500 all inclusive including flights and transfers .
The hotel is in a very convenient location , 5 minute walk from the beach and bus station. Our room was spacious with a modern bathroom . The bed was slightly hard but that's my only complaint really .
The reception staff were very helpful and gave us information about day trips etc .
Although we were all inclusive we didn't like eating at the hotel. The food really was awful and there was hardly any choice , I'm a vegetarian and I really struggled to eat anything other than chips and salad !. All inclusive drinks were the cheapest brands too.
Pool area was very small so we went to the beach instead as it was so close .
Overall I would recommend this hotel but on a bed and breakfast basis only .

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kateandfamily8481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

To start, my friend and I spent a lot of time looking for the cheapest 5 day all inclusive, this was the 2nd cheapest we found. we paid £200 each for flights, transfer, 1 bag in the hold and 5 nights at the Hotel Atismar. this worked out at £11.40 per night. This included our food and drink, a sea view on the 9th floor and a en suite.
We found that the beds were a little too close for our personal comfort but nothing that we couldn't cope with.
The meals were what we would pay £11.40 in any pub in England.
The beer was cold and the glasses were clean. Other people have put on here that the beer is watered down - not only is that more difficult to do that it's worth, but it's highly illegal. We are willing to admit that we came here to sit in the sun and drink our body weight in lager yet seemed not to get drunk or hungover, but maybe that says more about our constitution than the beer.
The room was cleaned every day. There was a small amount of wear on the seal under the rim of the sink, but otherwise the hotel and our room was immaculate.
The lifts are small, more that 2 people is a little cosy.
The staff were friendly and competent.
very little sun seemed to reach the pool area, but our balcony was a perfect sun trap during our stay.
In fact, the only thing that truly marred our stay were a number of the other guests. Most of them were rude to that staff, unappreciative of the standard, and I cannot believe that any of them paid much more than us.
We had whole grilled mackerel twice during our stay, which was delicious, and a rare treat. perhaps the other guests just aren't into that sort of thing, but we found it much preferable to chips, which were also available each mealtime.
We visited Faro one day, which we didn't think much of, but that staff showed us where the bus station was, I do advise to buy a ticket in the office, rather than from the driver.
Vilamoura is a short taxi drive away. The harbour is well worth a visit. As we visited in the end of November, many places were shut down, but there was enough going on to keep us entertained.
The market is also worth a visit, a short stop on the bus from the same bus station.

In conclusion, At the price we paid for 5 days sat in the sun, drinking lager, I cannot understand why anyone could complain about this place.

Room Tip: the 9th floor had a sea view, but there is 11 floors in total.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank thisftl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Location of the hotel is very good- it's literally 30 seconds walk from the beach. But if You want to avoid crowds that stay on the part of the beach just in front of their hotels, walk to the left (towards the clifs) and You'll find peaceful and much nicer part of the beach, where water is clearer and the view nicer.
If possible request a room on the high floor-our was on 7th floor and we had beautiful sea view (see attached pics) If You get the room below 7th (there's 9 floors)i think You'll be facing buildings...
Hotel itself is very old, but clean. Rooms are clean as well and toiletries quite fairly supplied. Only once we had to ask for more soaps or something...
Food and drinks- that's something i'll broadly comment on :
Simply disgusting and terrible quality ! I've never seen before such a cheap food ! Food looked disgusting and taste bad as well (despite fish that was fresh every day ). It was cheap English food- beans, 'Asda value' sausages and then what wasn't used during breakfast was used for lunch or dinner, so you could see the same breakfast sausage mixed with pasta in the evening etc.We stayed there 10 days (way too long), so we could clearly see all those tricks after 2 or 3 days. There's no local food served, the only fruit was old apples and oranges- like the one you can find on the road...
The same applies to drinks- not drinkabale. We had all inclusive option and there was only this local "Baileys' liquer and beer that tasted ok...all the rest-including soft drinks was disgusting ! They were pouring ''juices'' and sodas from plastic bottles..."Aro'' drinks- sweet and artificial flavour... If You decide to stay in the hotel- don't waste money for options with meals. You'll be very disappointed...If You're vegeterian/ vegen or something else or You go with children You'll be starving..
Only compliments i have is for staff- lovely guys in the restaurant- Celi, german lady and Jose- hard working, friendly and always helpful. they speak ok english, so you can always have a nice little chat.. If You need any advice on travelling or any help at all go to see Mario in the reception- very professional, helpful, friendly and well spoken English.
Bare in mind that internet doesn't work higher that first floor...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharonekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quarteira
0.2 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#9 of 48 in Quarteira
1,669 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
#28 of 48 in Quarteira
837 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quarteira Sol
Quarteira Sol
#26 of 48 in Quarteira
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Auramar Beach Resort
Auramar Beach Resort
#72 of 154 in Albufeira
2,990 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zodiaco
Hotel Zodiaco
#24 of 48 in Quarteira
247 reviews
7.9 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#124 of 154 in Albufeira
2,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atismar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atismar

Address: Hotel Atis Avenida Doutor Francisco Sa Carneiro, Quarteira 8125-146, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Price Range: £18 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atismar 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Atismar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atismar Hotel Quarteira
Hotel Atismar Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing