We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BYO food, otherwise fine.”
Review of Hotel Atismar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Atismar
Ranked #43 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed in the Atismar from Christmas Eve to New Year’s Day morning.

Some aspects of it are better than others – in fact, the 1 main thing that lets it down is the food. It’s like school dinners. It is of course true that you get what you pay for, but the difficulty for us was that, at the time of booking, there was nothing else in the area for less than about £100 more than the Atismar for the dates we wanted. By comparison, when we went to Tunisia in 2011 for eg, there were about 10 or 15 hotels to choose from all within about £10 or £20 of each other. Another surprise, especially in a Western country in this litigiously hyperallergenic day and age, was that they don’t even label the food – you have to ‘suck it and see’. For us this wasn’t a huge problem, but for eg the salad (the one consisting of chopped-up food mixed with mayo) often had meat in it which you wouldn’t discover until it was in your mouth – a nasty shock waiting to happen if you’re veggie!! Suggestion – go for B&B or room only, then eat out. Also the lifts are stupidly small and not immune from breaking down.

Anyway, criticism over. Walter on reception was quite possibly the nicest receptionist I’ve ever encountered. The location was good for transport and supermarket while for the beach it was not perfect, but OK enough.

The room is pleasant and gets cleaned every day, although if you like drinking tea and coffee bring your own kettle. We landed on our feet with the room location - 5.09, on the corner of the building is about as close as you can get to a sea view in this hotel and with not 1 but TWO balconies - a north and a south facing one. Possibly the rooms on the 9th/10th floors will have a sea view too – may be worth checking on this one.

And finally - those of Hindu origin will be gratified to note that this hotel’s name backwards reads ‘Ram Sita’ !!

Room Tip: Go for a room with a number ending in '09'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilesmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,023)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

690 - 696 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2012

I am really not fussy. I am really not grumpy like some spoiled tourists. Take my advice to heart- stay elsewhere. The only benefit of visiting this hotel is to lose weight as you will not want to eat anything at all. Trust me on that! The food is not really eatable.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PavPaignton_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We had a great time here this Christmas for the second year. All the staff were friendly, helpful and professional. Fantastic value for money if you go all inclusive. The extra cost for A I is well worth the money. Even if you do decide to go out to eat for a change. Although we were finding the evening meals a little repetitive, there was always something we could eat, infact I'd say we probably ate more healthly.
Concerning the weather .....we had one cloudy day and half a day of dense fog (see photos) but we still managed to return home with a nice tan. I would say that it is T shirt and shorts weather at this time of year if you like to spend time on the beach and the temperature starts to drop after 15:30. There can be a slightly nippy breeze too. Hey ho, but that's much better than home though!
Things to take with you....A kettle and a Hair dryer as they don't have them in your room.
You can get bottled water from the bar so don't bother doing the lugging around of 2/3Lt bottle from the local supermarkets until you settle in. The all inclusive bar finishes at 10pm, but the bar stays open till 12am during which time you have to pay.
Although there is no entertainment at the hotel I found some traditional Portugese live music being played across the road from the hotel, in a little bright green kiosk with a tent like extension. We went there Christmas Eve and it was great fun they were very welcoming, child friendly and it is liscenced if you want a drink.
The only down side is that I came across a couple of silver fish in our room, despite our room being cleaned everyday. Something I shall be watching out for if we return next year.
All in all a great Christmas get away.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 10th floor great views but if you don't like heights don't go up there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabethkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

Just come back from our 2nd xmas at this hotel and it was great to see couples visiting again that we met here last year the weather was fantastic as was the room with a sea view and the sunsets are so nice to see from the balcony if you have a sea view room !

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quartaira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We have just returned from a week over Christmas at the Atismar. We found the staff very helpful and friendly, the room clean and comfortable, the towels changed every day. We enjoyed the food as we love fish and other choices of a Mediterranean variety, breakfast was a reasonable choice. Unfortunately some people go abroad and expect typical British food and are too free with their criticism of local food.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandram240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

For what we paid for this weeks stay, all inclusive, was well worth the money. I really dont know what some people expect when they pay so little. We had read all the negative reviews and were a bit unsure about what we would find.

We had a large room with 2 balconies which was cleaned every day and towels provided when necessary. The room had tv (only BBC World news) and a heater. The bathroom also had a wall heater, good size bath with shower over.

The food was a very limited choice but we found it quite acceptable, especially the fish dish every day. We didn't find the food inferior or of a bad quality. Put on weight whilst we were there so couldn't have been that bad.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

As on previous reviews there is no entertainment at this hotel and the resort was very quiet at this time of the year, so some would find it a bit boring. Lovely walks along the promenade though, for day time.

There were a few 'guests' that liked to drink their body weight in alcohol from dawn to dusk and then proceed to bang doors, scream and swear and set fire alarms off in the early hours, but they were in the minority and we were just unlucky to be on the same floor as them. The management should have thrown them out of the hotel though, that is my only critisism of the hotel.

As long as you dont pay too much for this holiday you should be satisfied.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DorothyThamesmead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We have just returned from 1 week at the Atismar hotel. The hotel was clean and towels changed every day. We stayed in a room on the 8th floor which had a sea view and was a sun trap in the afternoon.. The food was o.k. but you had a limited choice, however we did not go hungry or eat out The beer was a local beer which was alright..There are plenty of walks in the area I particularly liked Villamoura which had a beautiful harbour. This hotel is a bargain at this time of year we paid £170 all inclusive from Edinburgh including tranfer. The staff were lovely always polite and helpful we even got a picnic for plane home.

Room Tip: High floor with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BigLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quarteira
0.2 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#8 of 48 in Quarteira
1,731 reviews
0.2 mi away
QuarteiraSol
QuarteiraSol
#23 of 48 in Quarteira
288 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
#29 of 48 in Quarteira
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Praia Sol
Hotel Praia Sol
#30 of 48 in Quarteira
495 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zodiaco
Hotel Zodiaco
#25 of 48 in Quarteira
248 reviews
7.9 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#120 of 152 in Albufeira
3,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atismar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atismar

Address: Hotel Atis Avenida Doutor Francisco Sa Carneiro, Quarteira 8125-146, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Price Range: £21 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atismar 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Atismar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atismar Hotel Quarteira
Hotel Atismar Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing