We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay there but eat out!!!!!”
Review of Hotel Atismar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Atismar
Ranked #43 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very nice hotel, very close to the beach with great people providing a fantastic service. Rooms a bit small but very clean. There are fantastic restaurants nearby and a playground if you're travelling with children. Doctor across the street, you never know when you might need help.
The only minus is food. Not good!!!!! Don't pay for it. Eat out:-)

They offer full day and half day trips. Be careful with those. Depending on where you want to go, you might face hours on the bus (example, a trip to Lagos)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lula_Espejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,023)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

524 - 530 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

just returned from 8 nights b&b. as 3 star hotels go not bad! room clean & so close to fantastic beach! breakfast ok you get what you pay for as may prices very cheap! we stayed 7th-15th may & weather was in the 30s was told weather extra hot for time of year by taxi driver. love the area & nice stroll to vilamora & marina! with some nice places to eat. In Quartiera eating & drinking out very cheap! & lovely food. On Wednesday & Friday nights at the Fantasia bar they do a 3 course buffet all you can eat for 9.99 euros went both nights & food was great. We will go back to the Atismar but only b&b as eating out so cheap. Cant wait to go back, loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
Thank love142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Returned on 29th May after 4 night All Inclusive break. Very disappointed. Hotel in need of updating although the room was clean and adequate, the beds were really uncomfortable and extremely hard stopping circulation if laying on your side!No hairdryer was available and as we were on 10th floor with no balcony it was a case of just letting your hair dry naturally, which for most women is not ideal! If you like your food then you will struggle to put together a decent meal. The predictable daily choice of one meat dish, one fish dish, rice, plain pasta and chips and salad is all that's on offer. Breakfast was even more limited with fried eggs ( undercooked), toast and cold meats. The hot drinks from the machine were never hot and tasted disgusting. Upon checking out at 12:00 noon on the day of departure and having 6 hours to wait before pick up, we were followed into the bar where we ordered coffee by the receptionist brandishing a pair of scissors to cut off our writsband and informed that we would not be allowed free drinks from then on. We pointed out that we had booked 4 nights all inclusive and having not arrived at the hotel until after 9:30 on the date we checked in, surely we were entitled to drinks until we left. NO, it's company rules! Quarteria itself has a beautiful, clean beach with a long immaculate promenade but it was like a ghost town. Bars and restaurants were deserted which we found quite odd considering the time of year. We had to spend more than anticipated on eating out most evenings as the hotel food was sparse and uninviting which added to the cost of our holiday. I would not return to this hotel but would like to see resort in high season.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank travel_loveit2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed at the Atismar for 4 nights in May, booked through an online operator offering cheap, late deals. I would rate it as a good 2 star which would perfectly suit those just wanting to use it as a base. If you tend to spend lots of time at your hotel, I could not recommend this one as there was nothing to do there and it is not salubrious.
The accommodation was clean & basic but a little tired & dated in appearance. There is free wifi in the reception, bar and restaurant area and if you have a room on the 1st floor (as I did) you can sometimes pick up the wifi there. The hotel is located very close to the beach and restaurants so no need for much walking or the expense of taxis. If you do want to venture further, a five euro taxi ride will take you into Vilamoura and the marina.
We were B&B and were disappointed by the poor quality and lack of choice for breakfast, eventually opting to eat out. Out of curiosity we had a look at the evening menu......I'm so glad we weren't all inclusive. Plenty of restaurants nearby and I can recommend the Brazilian place in the upstairs plaza to the left of the hotel (above ticket shop).
My largest complaint is with the beds, although to their credit, the hotel did address this quickly. The beds were hard as boards and tiny, causing us back pain. A mattress topper was added and this alleviated the issue a little.
The pool area is fairly small and untidy -sun loungers were not rearranged at night and were left scattered where they were left from the precious day. Noise from the nearby road can also be heard poolside which I imagine could be a nuisance in the peak season.
You get what you pay for, so on balance, I am satisfied but I would not return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Shell_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I have just returned from a 10 day holiday at this hotel,Our stay was good the room and all over the hotel was pristine clean and the staff friendly and helpful.I would advise any one going here to take a hairdryer and if you wake early and want tea and coffee to take a travel kettle and your own tea bags / coffeee.We were half board and I am a fussy eater i don't like fish or pasta and that is on the menu a lot but we had planned to eat out sometimes and there are some excellent cheap resturants around the area.Plenty to do around the area and only a 15-20 min walk to Villimora,for what we paid for the Holiday it was value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We arrived exhausted at 9am following a dawn flight having not slept a wink the night before. reception staff were polite but despite our room being ready they informed us that check ins were at 2pm and that was the rule we sat in reception for five hours. This was the first 'rule' we discovered.

While waiting we decided to check out the pool but the door to the pool area was locked and no access allowed until 10am. Quite a few rules at the Atismar.

Our room on the second floor was clean and basic, the only let down however was being in earshot of those who sat out all day in the terrace area who were on the all inclusive package drinking chatting and laughing loudly.

This got louder as the day progressed and late into the night, so even with the help of ear plugs there were nights when we did not get a wink of sleep until 2am. These were middle aged women by the way, all of them bloated by binge drinking and chain smoking.

It's really a sad reflection of the women today many of them grandmothers who go on bargain break all inclusive holiday with the sole intention of drinking all day.. They stank like ashtrays if you were unfortunately enough to be sitting near on the terrace or around the pool..

The problem with all inclusive hotels is the rowdier type of guest which it attracts. It never ceases to maze me why people would want to go all inclusive and spend their holidays eating and binge drinking inside a hotel which could be anywhere in the world. the interiors of most hotels are so similar and you could be in Blackpool or Bankok for all they see of the local culture.

We booked a bed and breakfast holiday and exlored many of the local restaurants which offer good value deals at lunchtime, in the region of 6euros.

The beach area is very pleasant but very exposed.

A sun bed will set you back 10 Euros a day, however you can buy a beach umbrella for 5euros which will protect you from the strong sun. We could not believe how little there is to do here, desite it being May, there was absolutely no culture at all, other than the inevitable drunken Karaoke. But other than shop for mass produced souveniers or dine out you will find this resort to be very boring. Quarteira out of season is very sleepy with little to do other than eat, or shop, so do bring lots of books.

There is a marina in Villa Mura but once you have seen it you've seen it. You could catch a bus to Faro which has a bit more character than Quarteira.

For a cheap one week getaway it was fine, but longer than that we would be climbing the wall with boredom.

You get what you pay for at the Atismar, a good basic three star hotel. If you wish to avoid the loud tipsy revellers pay a little more and stay elsewhere, there are many quieter hotels which do not offer all inclusive so you will be guaranteed a good night's rest.

The breakfast was fine considering what we had paid for the week There is a selection of cereals, fried eggs, beans fruit the coffee from the machine was vile.

This hotel is very well marketed and very popular, it was full to capacity during our stay. Reception staff are helpful and polite.

We met lots of lovely older guests and some delightful Irish families, who were charming.

Quarteira is perfect for older couples as there is little happening here out of season other than a stroll on the beach or a drink or lunch at one of the many seafront restaurants, most of which are not that good. you need to explore the back streets for good food. We like Guyiata in front of the fish market which does a great value three courses for Euros 8.50 consisting of delicious home made soup, a huge helping of fresh fish fresh fruit salad or flan, a glass of wine and coffee. Incredible value for the quality little wonder is was packed with locals.

I would recommend taking a boat trip which takes you around some lovely quiet coves and beaches, lunch and drinks are included and can be booked locally.

Local buses are cheap and will take you to Faro or Abufeira, Faro has an old town which has lots of character. On Wednesday morning there is a gypsy market on the outskirts of Quarteira it's full of character. You can pick up a bargain sun dress from 5Euros and be serenaded by pan Pipers from Peru. It's a fund day out.

The Portugese are very friendly and welcoming, the food is delicious and the wine is very good and incredibly cheap we found some excellent wines for just 2Euros a bottle.

We will most definitely be back.

Room Tip: Try to book a room on one of the higher floors, which are quieter and the view better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 472lenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This trip was a last minute Present for my Birthday, and was a bit apprehensive when I was told the break would be all-inclusive. I read previous reviews online and wondered what the hell my other half and family were thinking about.
What a complete surprise from our arrival at the hotel until we left. The hotel was attractive, just hundreds of meters from the beach, the room was bright clean and comfortable.
The staff very helpful, friendly and the service excellent.
Food was abundant and we were offered a decent choice. There was never a meal when I didn't have something nice to eat...........and the all inclusive drinks were flowing.
Quarteira is a lovely resort, with a nice promenade, beautiful beach, fish and vegetable markets, and wasn't too busy at this time of year.
I don't know where those who have placed negative reviews have stayed before, but I have stayed in many budget hotels over the years and can honestly say that I will definitely be back to the Atismar, as it ranks quite highly on my list.
An ideal spot to get away for a short break in the sun.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jimb064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quarteira
0.2 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#8 of 48 in Quarteira
1,731 reviews
0.2 mi away
QuarteiraSol
QuarteiraSol
#23 of 48 in Quarteira
288 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
#29 of 48 in Quarteira
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Praia Sol
Hotel Praia Sol
#30 of 48 in Quarteira
495 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zodiaco
Hotel Zodiaco
#25 of 48 in Quarteira
248 reviews
7.9 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#120 of 152 in Albufeira
3,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atismar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atismar

Address: Hotel Atis Avenida Doutor Francisco Sa Carneiro, Quarteira 8125-146, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Price Range: £21 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atismar 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Atismar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atismar Hotel Quarteira
Hotel Atismar Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing