We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Atismar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Atismar
Ranked #42 of 50 Hotels in Quarteira
Harrow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

It is not bad overall, kind of value for money. Location is good for those who like quite holiday as not much going on there. But other resort with more activities easily accessible so it is not an issue. Rooms were reasonably clean, staff helpful. The worst part was food. You won't go hungry but extremely poor selection, every time only one dish of meat, one of fish and some pasta, nor variety of fruits neither dessert. Good thing is you won't put on weight:)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank Egle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    285
    261
    131
    100
See reviews for
138
464
47
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We have booked this hotel with Easyjet and it was all inclusive (with flights). Quarteira is a small town, not a lot to do, but nice if you want to escape the busyness of very touristy areas.
We have arrived at the hotel at 21:50 in the evening. By the time we checked in and had our all inclusive hand bracelet fitted, it was past 22:00. We then went at the bar to get a drink, just to be told that the bar was closed and we cannot get any all inclusive drinks (unless we pay). It was only then when we checked the paper that the receptionist gave us when we checked in – the paper did say that the bar is only opened between 11:00 and 22:00 and that once you check out, you cannot get any drinks or food.
We managed to get into our rooms – we had three rooms booked, but only one had a sea view, as it was on the 10th floor. If you are on lower floors, you have a street view.
I stayed in room 306, on the third floor. The room and the bathroom were very clean, however there was a strong smell of bleach, which faded by the end of our stay (5 nights). The bed was comfortable enough, but the pillow was bad quality. No hair dryer and no iron and ironing board. I got a hair dryer from reception for 10 euros, which I got back when I returned it.
The breakfast buffet – the main disappointment for me was that you could only have coffee from the machine, which was made with instant coffee rather than beans. So we had to skip that, and get a coffee from the nearby restaurants or bars. There was one or two types of fruit served for breakfast, milk and cereal, omelette (not great) or fried eggs, mushrooms, and sausages or bacon. There was also a small selection (about two types) of meat products, but these was bad quality and I have not touched them. Also, these were all made of pork meat, and if you don’t eat pork or if you are vegetarian, there is not much for you. Cheese was also available, bread (nice) and butter, and also jam. This was it for breakfast.
Lunch- the lunch was generally comprised of rice, some vegetables (often over boiled), chips, and two types of meat (usually fish and pork, but sometimes beef and also chicken). Sometimes there was pasta as well. The food was tasty – the meat was generally well cooked. There were also two types of deserts but you had to be quick to get them. There was also sliced pineapple and oranges, which tasted great.
We had an incident with the lunch once – one of my friends found a piece of a cling film in her food and she went to talk to the kitchen staff about it. The cook just looked at it and shrugged her shoulders, not even apologising.
Dinner was along the same lines. As I said, the food was generally ok, but there was only a small variety. I would describe the food as canteen type. If you expect restaurant food, don’t book for all inclusive.
Bar – the bar was opened at 11:00 am to 22:00 pm. During this time you could have water, the cocktail of the day, and tea and coffee for free. You could also have Aro soft drinks, which tasted horrible (it’s probably very cheap). The cocktails were also made with the same cheap soft drink, and did not taste good. Once we tried one cocktail, we did not want any more! You can have good quality coffee at the bar once it opens, if you are willing to wait. It takes ages to be served, and there is hardly anyone there. There is a bar by the pool as well, and there is one staff covering both, hence the waiting times for drinks.
The pool – the pool area is clean. The water was a bit cold, but not too bad. There are sun lounges and sun umbrellas around the pool. There is also a small terrace next to the pool, but it shuts down by 22:00.
Some of the guests can get quite noisy during the night, and we heard a lot of noise from the people above us – they moved furniture around at 2:00 am in the morning. Our friends, who had the room next to them told us that they heard a lot of shouting and argument on the balcony from the same guests (two ‘ladies’ who were completely drunk) until early in the morning. I am not sure if anybody reported this.
Lifts – two very small lifts, with only one working for most of the time. The door of the one which did work would shut on you if you were not careful – it hit my shoulder twice, and I became quite scared to take the lift so I ended up taking the stairs most of the time – luckily I only had to go to the third floor.
Internet – in lounge and reception and was quite slow.
The reception staff were very helpful and nice. We asked for late check out but this was not possible as the hotel was fully booked. As a result, we checked out at 12:00 am and our all inclusive bracelets were removed. However, we still had lunch included. At 12:05 I went to ask for water at the bar, just to be told that I would have to pay for it as I did not have my all inclusive bracelet any longer! I went and asked for explanation at the reception, and I was shown the paper that was given to me when we checked in which said that the check out is 12:00 and after this time no drinks and food will be provided. The receptionist however said that the hotel are providing lunch as a courtesy to their guests. I was quite annoyed at the whole thing, as we booked 5 nights all inclusive, and this was lunch time on the 5th day and was told that we no longer had the right to get drinks and food. We eventually had lunch, and were given water, but I was very upset about it! It felt like I was begging for something that I already paid for!
We were allowed to leave out luggage at the hotel on the day of check out, as our flight was in the evening.
Overall, this hotel is over rated! I have travelled a lot and stayed in many hotels and I know what to expect when I book for a three stars hotel. Atismar is hardly a two stars hotel. I would not recommend it and I will never go back there.
Beach – the hotel is situated two minutes walk from the beach. If you want a sun lounge, you pay 5 euros/ day. It does not matter if you only want it for half day. The beach was quite deserted, but I enjoyed that. The sand is a bit rough though. A lot of good restaurants and there is a gipsy/ farmers market on Wednesdays. Not much to do otherwise, but nice if you want some peace and quiet time. Make sure you visit Villamoura and try the boat trips.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank danutza_bog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quarteira hotels

Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Atismar from the 3rd June to the 10th June.
When we arrived we where told we could not have a safe key as they were all being used. How we asked when we had two rooms between six of us and we could not get a safe key for either room.
All inclusive does not start till 11.00am in the morning and finishes at 10.00pm.
After breakfast which finished at 10.0am we could not get a drink of any description till 11.00am. the Hotel itself was very clean and in a lovely area.
We have had better holidays.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelley0365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed in Atismar for 7 nights starting 26 may-2 June.
The compalint we have is a food .... breakfast was very poor, beans everyday, fried egg 7 scrambled egg - every secodn day - in general not much choice
Dinner - not bad, as we had anyway the meal out so not much have eaten on dinner, but having in menu name ''Mix meat'' - doesn't mean a lot ... :)
Staff , quiet friendly , you could see them bored if anything was needed, or pretending or really can not speek english
Quarteira - suhc a nice & peaceful place, can recommend it !!!
Rooms - nice and clean

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west mids
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

stayed from the 3rd to the 10th of june,,,,,found the hotel to be of good standard for a 3 star,,,clean and comfortable,,stayed all inc...food was ok,,,dinnner times seemed better than evening meal,,,allways french fries,,,if you couldnt find anythin you liked.....drinks stopped at 10pm,,little bit early! and not much choice,,free wifi in reception,,allthough it was off last couple of days of our stay.....for the money we payed less than 700,,,inc flights and transfer,it fantastic value,,,would certainly stay there again,,,quateria a bit on the quiet side...beech 2 mins walk,,,villamoura about 35 mins walk,,

Room Tip: go above 6th floor,, for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank coupleholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Staff not really friendly, room dated but very clean, excellent location, easy to get about, nice breakfast, Beach across the road, plenty places to eat and drink, we went B&B, good value for short break with friends

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

One of the best 3 star hotels we have stayed in would go back again.it was very clean hotel the food was very good even though it was limited, the staff where very helpful they could not do enough for you

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quarteira
1.6 mi away
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
#24 of 50 in Quarteira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#7 of 50 in Quarteira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
7.9 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#130 of 162 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Auramar Beach Resort
Auramar Beach Resort
#70 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,701 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quarteira Sol
Quarteira Sol
#26 of 50 in Quarteira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
16.2 mi away
Terrace Club
Terrace Club
#5 of 6 in Porches
3.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atismar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atismar

Property: Hotel Atismar
Address: Hotel Atis Avenida Francisco Sa Carneiro, Quarteira 8125-146, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 50 Hotels in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atismar 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Atismar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atismar Hotel Quarteira
Hotel Atismar Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing