We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a week's stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pinhal do Sol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Quarteira
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good for a week's stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

We arrived at about 11 o'clock in the evening and were driven down to our room in the villa. We were disapointed with the size of the room and the fact there were no tea making facilities or fridge. Having travelled in Europe quite a bit, we came prepared with a travel kettle, teabags etc, but no milk. We went back up to the bar to have a drink and see if we could get some milk and the barman, Mario, couldn't be more friendly and helpful,(Bar shuts at midnight), and he remained very cheerful and plesant through out our stay.

The breakfast the next morning (we were half board) was quite acceptable,but the "hot " food was tepid rather than hot, but there was a reasonable choice.
The evening meal was perfecly adequate but we can understand it not being to everybody's taste.

All the restaurant staff were very nice, helpful and polite, with one exception, jessica, who was very rude and unpleasant. It got to the stage where I didn't want to go to the restaurant in case she was there. She was very rude to my Wife and another female guest during our stay.

The cleaning staff were pleasant enough bearing in mind they don't speak much, if any, English.

All in all it wasn't a bad place to stay, but a week is enough. Once you have been to the marina and Quarteira there isn't much to do and the evening "entertainment" could do with a serious revamp.

Would we go back? Not while jessica is employed there...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeClueless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    311
    168
    70
    51
See reviews for
217
325
31
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

The hotel itself was extremely clean and tidy, with good air conditioning throughout, which was great considering the weather. The pool, bar and restaurant were also clean, although the restaurant was rather on the small side and was crowded. We opted for the bed and breakfast board, but ate at the hotel twice, however the canteen style, and limiting choice (only one type of soup) put us off, not to mention how plain the meals were. For food the marina in Vilamoura is a much better option with some great places to eat in an outstanding location. The breakfast was plentiful, however the bread seemed stale and the cooked food was never particularly warm, however it served its purpose.
The mini-bus service is very handy, and Quarteria beach is a worthwhile visit for the day while the marina is a much more livelier option for the night.

The pool was big enough, however there were very limited sun loungers around the pool side, so you had to get there early if you wanted to spend the day bathing.

Staff were friendly, except the cleaning staff, who, if you were in your room when they wanted to clean it would tell you they'd be back soon, so you'd leave. They also moved my belongings, which I had left neatly on the side, into drawers which I don't find acceptable.

Our room was also a good five minute walk away from reception, with one large corridor which with suitcases was quite unmanageable.

If you are looking to go out or bathe by a beach this is not recommended, however, if you want a quiet hotel with little entertainment, this is just that.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank durhamgirl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Stayed for 7 nights, large clean rooms and clean hotel.
Breakfast very poor, stayed B&B as reviews of restaurant not good.
Location miles from anywhere so used taxis to visit marina, you can walk to Quarteria but takes about 30min along dusty road.
Overall impression good for the money.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Highgrove30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Just come back from nine days stay in Pinhal do Sol. Pros: clean, quiet, cheap bar prices, great weather. Cons: Food basic, no haute cuisine! Staff reserved more than friendly, not very helpful on arrival. Shuttle service finishes at 6pm, so unless you want to spend up to 12 Euros on taxis each night, you are stuck at hotel. Entertainment, very poor, two not very good 'singers'. So if you want an 'away from it all' break then go for it!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marella8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

We went here with 4 friends and didn't expected too much because of the cheap price. We were supprised when we walked into the room, it was really big. We booked 2 double rooms and each room had 4 beds! The bathroom was either big and clean. The reception speaks decent English and was helpful. There was only (free) wifi at the reception area and at the rooms there was no internet at all. The restaurant was the building next door. There is a free shuttle service to the beach in Villamoure/Quarteira and the harbor of Villamoure. There is enough free parking space.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carmen_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

This is a 3 star hotel, other than a few problems, like the children's park and the tennis courts, I would rate it a 4 star hotel, service was very fast and friendly, they made me and my family very welcome, the food was very good, only gripe is the veg was tinned, but what can I expect from a med country they don't grow veg, the room was large with tv fridge and kettle. I will be returning in the future and telling my friends about it.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dchuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

Great holiday in Algarve. We were browsing the reviews about this hotel before our trip and found all kind of comments, so we didn't know what to expect for our budget. Over all we had a great time in the hotel. The taxi took 30 euros and 30minutes to get there from Faro airport.
Very very simple but extremely clean room every single day. Just perfect for this kind of holiday even though we had no fridge or kettle, but we didn't really care. The area of the hotel is quite big so we had to walk 5-6 minutes to get to the reception or the restaurant which was no problem at all for us. In front of our building we had a small pool with sunbeds, as most of the people didn't even know there is an extra pool there. I have to emphasise how quiet this area was.
The service was good but if you expect the same as in England you will be disappointed.They don't speak very good English, so be patient. You can find them rude sometime but we were happy because nobody were jumping around us if we want something in every five minutes. Jose was really cool on his on way.

The shuttle was a great thing but make sure you are on the spot before the announced time.

The breakfast was really great, I loved it every morning but don't go the last minute.

Thank you for everything.

If you stay this hotel I recommend you to try the Camilo(?)snack bar and also the Sakia village place has a very nice pizzeria and bar. Both of them 6 minutes by walk from the hotel.

On your first day ask for supermarket for water and other small things because on the busy places they will be extremely expensive.
When you go to visit places or different cities what I am highly recommend try to find a restaurant just out of the tourist zone, you can get very good quality of food there and even better service with cheaper prices.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank levhun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quarteira
1.6 mi away
Hotel Atismar
Hotel Atismar
#42 of 50 in Quarteira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
17.1 mi away
Terrace Club
Terrace Club
#5 of 6 in Porches
3.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
2.8 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#18 of 37 in Vilamoura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#50 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
24.4 mi away
Agua Hotels Riverside
1.7 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#8 of 50 in Quarteira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinhal do Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinhal do Sol Hotel

Property: Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Address: Sitio de Semino, Quarteira 8125-303, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinhal do Sol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Pinhal do Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Hotel Pinhal Do
Hotel Pinhal Sol
Quarteira Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel Quarteira
Pinhal Do Sol Hotel Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing