We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over and above”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in Quarteira
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“over and above”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

As a solo traveller I cant praise this hotel enough.
I was unexpectedly rushed to hospital for surgery on my third day, the staff and management were kindness itself, both when I was in hospital and after my discharge.
The hotel itself is spotlessly clean, the food is good and the service went over and above
what I would have expected.
A little bit out in the sticks but the free minibus made up fot that.
I would recommend this hotel purely for it's wonderful customer care.

Room Tip: the lower the number, the less far to walk to facilities. try for 101/110 or 201/210
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    319
    175
    71
    53
See reviews for
221
338
32
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel approximately 12.30am to a hotel in the middle of nowhere. On arrival we were promptly checked in and advised of our room number. Little did we know our room was a good five minute winding walk to the other side of the hotel. Being all inclusive we perhaps expected a bottle of water in the room for our late arrival; there wasn't so we had to re-trek back to reception for a bottle of water charged at €2.50??! Even though the same water is free of charge during certain hours. Back to our room again, big room, clean, great shower and bed comfortable enough. Not great decor but know hotel is a 3*.
Next morning we woke and had to wait till 8.00am for breakfast which for us is quite late? Beans, stringy bacon and eggs cold. Went for some juice noticed glass covered in pink lipstick. My husband then went for fruit which half way through eating we discovered a dead fly...... We called one of the waitresses who merely stated "oh my god" took it away and that was it?
Lunch was good, nice soups good enough variety to eat something and you get what you pay for. The pool area doesn't open until 10.00am which we find extremely late. Pool was cleaned to a reasonable standard but was far too cold!! All inclusive bar opens at 11.00am and service was ok.
Evening meal was again ok and able to eat something.
Next morning breakfast had a little more variety with jams and spreads that I hadn't seen the day before so that was nice; also checked my glass before obtaining a drink! Staff decided they weren't going to clean the pool that morning "as leaves are always falling" well there was a film of scum around the edges of the pool that after 2 complaints finally got cleaned to a reasonable standard. Free wifi access in and around reception, bar and pool area.
Was an ideal weekend break for the cost but I wouldn't stay longer than 3 nights. Weather was beautiful, nice company of elder generation which created a peaceful, relaxing environment. With us being a bit younger (25-26) we may have come across a little loud but everyone was friendly enough. I would probably rate the hotel as an overall 2* although other aspects I can see the 3* attributes.
FYI DO NOT USE GREENBUS FOR YOUR TRANSFER!!!!! One of there drivers who picked us up from the hotel at 4.45am was a complete psychopath!!!!! Swerving all over the road, on his mobile phone, revving on and off the accelerator we asked him to perhaps watch the road abit more and he flipped going crazy at us in Portuguese smacking the top of his head? Then started driving like a lunatic nearly took out another car.... Most scariest transfer journey ever! Usually we grab a private cab for our own transport and this proved our reasons why.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SungoddessWaterbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We booked this hotel as we were fed up with all the cold and rain in England...it was all inclusive and cheap, so as one reviewer has stated "You get what you pay for".
On arrival we had to wait one and a half hours to get into the room. The room was fine but it was very damp due to condensation and the bed sank in the middle but it meant my wife and I slept closer !...... and if you prefer blankets to duvets then this is the place for you but what the heck it is all inclusive !!
The wine and drink was acceptable unlike many "all-inclusives" and the food plentiful albeit repetitive...i.e. chips,fish and rice ...The hard boiled eggs were cold and most of the food was cooked to death, I think the sprouts were put on to boil on New Years Day! but what the heck we were all inclusive!!.
The hotel is quite isolated but it provides a courtesy mini bus to ferry guests free of charge into Quartiera and Villamoura but only three times per day with the last bus at 5.30 p.m. when it really ought to run more frequently.The handyman there is the driver ,the maintenance man and general dogsbody but such a cheerful,pleasant guy.
The pool was very quiet and clean as were the beds which would be more comfortable if cushions were provided....but what the heck it was all inclusive.
All the staff were superb,,,very kind and helpful at all times but our holiday was spoiled by three guys who drank all day, causing the guests to absent themselves from the hotel leaving it like the "Marie Celeste". The management should have stamped on this.
Would i stay for two weeks?....no way. but with a little tweeking and acting upon comments from guests we might come back for just a week.

Room Tip: If you are on thr ground floor you get all the noises from up above...so get on the second floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank William13_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Calder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Like the title says 2nd time here. last visit was 1.5 years ago and there have been a lot of improvements since then. Like most descriptions, the rooms are big clean and comfy but yes a little outdated, but really if you go on holiday to occupy your room all day and night i find that rather sad. like most people its only a base for rest at night. Food is good quality though couldnt do 2 weeks but thats normal for the all inclusive. drinks are fine though bar stops all inclusive drink at 10pm, which personally i find too early.the bar staff are great especially Christina and the new lad Manuel. if you do have to pay for drinks they are not expensive. the free minibuses that run daily up and back to Quarteria and Vilamoura are an excellent gesture from the hotel. i will definately go back for a 3rd visit its so relaxing and enjoyable at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellesmere port
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

the holiday we booked was a cheap one but the hotel was only average the food was good and plentiful but what let it down was the pool which was not very clean and virtually no one was in it.the rooms were spacious but were in need of a bit of decorating,worth staying in for up to a week but any longer and i think most people would struggle.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lingy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I will start off positive and work my way down. Firstly, rooms are very spacious and very clean and recently updated. Maid service daily! We could not fault our room. Food was ok if you like rice or fries every night. Our last evening meal was probably the best throughout our stay. Having said that the big chiefs were checking the place out so staff and manager seemed to be on their best behaviour. Cocktails had fancy bits in them and much tastier. Whereas any other night they were very weak and no fancy things. For an all inclusive holiday I have to say we were disappointed as we felt we were being watched with our drinks. Maybe it needs the big chiefs in weekly. There was one particular young man behind the bar and he was excellent and very friendly. This hotel is not for young children as there is nothing going on for them. Its very quiet and only entertainment once or twice a week. It would be ideal for older couples that want quiet early nights. However I have to say we met a lovely family (Karen, Andy, Jade and Andrew) and a young couple (Robin and Rob) They all made our last couple of nights fun!! I just want to say to Karen and family sorry I didnt get to say goodbye!! If you get the chance to read this review please reply to it then we can swap numbers if you want to? I would love to keep in touch with you all especially little Andrew!!. Thanks for making our holiday. One good thing about this place is meeting you all. Pat and Kenny

Room Tip: all rooms seemed ok. Never heard a bad word from anyone on rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chantler38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I have just returned home after spending 2 weeks at this hotel. I can honestly say that I enjoyed my stay there. The hotel is built on two storeys, the rooms are large, kept very clean and come complete with tea/coffee making facilities and a small fridge. Included also is an ironing board and iron (if required). You will need to bring your own coffee or tea but if that is a problem there is a LIDL supermarket nearby.
There is a wide choice for breakfast from Continential to Cooked and the fresh rolls with quince jam are a treat.
Dinner is something similar. Again a large choice to suit all palates - something to suit everyone.
The staff are very attentive but not overbearing. This hotel proved to be very popular with all nationalities and that in itself is a recommendation. It is more country than beach, but there is a minibus service that operates to Quarteira and Vilamoura. For the more adventurous walking into Quarteira takes about 30-40 mins.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Silver5276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quarteira
1.6 mi away
Hotel Atismar
Hotel Atismar
#40 of 49 in Quarteira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
2.7 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#18 of 36 in Vilamoura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#7 of 49 in Quarteira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#49 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
24.6 mi away
Agua Hotels Riverside
17.1 mi away
Be Smart Terrace Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinhal do Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinhal do Sol Hotel

Property: Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Address: Sitio de Semino, Quarteira 8125-303, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinhal do Sol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Priceline, Onthebeach, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pinhal do Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Hotel Pinhal Do
Hotel Pinhal Sol
Quarteira Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel Quarteira
Pinhal Do Sol Hotel Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing