We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We can't wait to go back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Ranked #28 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Reviewed 14 February 2014

If you want to cross the road and lie on the beach, this is out of the way, but a shuttle bus is provided. If you want to stay in the grounds, there is a lovely garden and swimming pool, and no noise at night. The staff are as nice as they come, and the room was cleaned and the beds made daily. Plenty of choice of excellent food, two fish, two meat daily, if you are a rigid veggie, pulses are available cold, but you are still provided for. The standard of cooking is excellent, and soups and solids are for starters, and a choice of deserts and fruits, madeira cakes, cheeses, sometimes creme caramel, but always something different each night. Breakfast consists of a wide choice of breads, jams, a toaster is available, cereals and bacon, eggs, fried, boiled and scrambled, tomato, beans, sausages, tea and coffee, as well as fruit juices. My wife and me used this hotel as our home for the week, we looked forward to coming back from our days out walking, a great meal at the end of the day. However much the Algarve has been developed since I was last there twenty two years ago, it can not detract from the reason, it's beautiful coast, and within walking distance of this hotel are miles and miles of long sandy beaches, lagoons, superb wetlands and some of the Algarve's beautiful cliffs. We can't wait to go back, and this is the hotel we want to go to. There is also a LIDL about a quarter of a mile towards town, as good a supermarket as you will need. I score the location as average, to my wife and me we were glad it is out of the way, it is quiet, but a shuttle bus takes guests daily to Quarteira and Vilamoura the owners have done their best to think of everybody's needs.

Room Tip: All rooms face the same way, towards the gardens and the coast, some reviews complained about the di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (838)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

321 - 327 of 838 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

we have just come back from this hotel - very peaceful and I am glad I read the reviews and found exactly what others thought about it. Being a muslim as well as vegetarian I had doubts initially - but I was given a warm welcome and respect all through my stay. The staff Vera and the cook Mr Jose Carmel from Cape Verde were very helpful. The cook looked after us and made sure I did not starve.. lovely vegetarian choice of home made style soups! Car is essential if your stay is for a longer period. IF its a short break, I dont think it will be necessary to hire .. as the bus fares to Faro, Loule, Albufera is cheap and this way you can do your walking - good for your health - above all weather in February was lovely

Room Tip: choose any room - even a standard room is spacious than 4* hotels. you can upgrade for a kettle /fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ifami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We have just come back from this hotel where you need a car really, the hotel is okay if you want to stay on a budget and we found most things acceptable but left after a week and moved to another hotel as we found the small restaurant was taken over each evening by local workers who were given preference on where you sat on and on one occasion witness to people being told that they could not sit where they liked as the waitress ' had the boy's coming in' management should make its mind up is this restaurant for people booking a holiday with them or a local restaurant for the select few, we also had plates mounting up on the table whilst staff chatted with the workers leaving feelings that we were not welcome.
This hotel is okay bed and breakfast but book half board at your peril.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hobies22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We have been to this hotel on 4 or 5 occasions now and are going again in May.
It is a small,independent hotel with good facilities. We have only ever been there on a B&B basis as we prefer to go out to Vilamoura or Quarteira to eat. The hotel is a short distance from both of these places and they provide a shuttle service. However,we always have a car so make our own way around. The rooms are quite basic but large and adequate. We always go out of school holiday time so it`s not too busy. I can`t comment on how it would appeal to families with small children. The pool area and gardens are very well kept and clean. We only have breakfast there and this is very good.

Room Tip: Some rooms are a LONG way from the reception area and restaurant so if walking is a problem ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Peaceful location, wonderful staff, good food and excellent amenities. We enjoyed our stay immensely. We will return later in the year. It's a perfect hotel for mature travellers. A car is an advantage, however the hotel does provide minibus transport into the town and with convenient pickups.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Neil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The hotel is a fairly basic hotel - room with bath/shower & WC.
As the hotel is a few kilometers from town it's quiet. We had a rental car so distance was no problem, but the hotel offers a shuttle as well. plenty of parking.
The room we had was huge - almost an apartment, the kids had a semi-room to themselves. the Bath & WC were old, basic but clean and functional.
Breakfast buffet was ok - except for the coffee which was quite bad, shame - as in town you can get a coffee & nata (pastry) for a 1 eur, so saving on coffee is false economy.

The swimming pool is small but nice to spend some hours relaxing.

The service was friendly and efficient.

There are many beutiful beaches nearby (less than 15 minute by car), as well a golf courses, nice towns in the interior - lots to do,with great weather to enjoy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HopAlongDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Manuel and bruno were amazing staff members and took great care of us. Food was ok. Beer in Portugal just plain sucks so not much to say there. The vino and port was amazing as to be expected. I would recomened tgis place if you want a nice quiet vacation with friendly staff. The peice is right. I ate and drink my price in cost to stay easy in the first 3 days of 10.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank matthewschelpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quarteira hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Zodiaco
Hotel Zodiaco
#24 of 48 in Quarteira
247 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#9 of 48 in Quarteira
1,669 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aquashow Park Hotel
Aquashow Park Hotel
#10 of 48 in Quarteira
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#18 of 36 in Vilamoura
776 reviews
1.6 mi away
QuarteiraSol
QuarteiraSol
#26 of 48 in Quarteira
274 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
#11 of 36 in Vilamoura
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinhal do Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinhal do Sol Hotel

Address: Sitio de Semino, Quarteira 8125-303, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Quarteira
Price Range: £21 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinhal do Sol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pinhal do Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Hotel Pinhal Do
Hotel Pinhal Sol
Quarteira Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel Quarteira
Pinhal Do Sol Hotel Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing