We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel pinhal do sol hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“hotel pinhal do sol hotel”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

First off, lets not paper over the cracks!!! If you want a honest review this is for you to view at your leisure. We arrived late Tuesday morning dying for a drink so we asked the staff for some water, which cost us 2.50 euro but the same size bottle is16 cents in the Lidl !! ripped off !!!!!! Thank god for the Lidl !! Then we were taken to our room ,I was with my fiancée ,we booked a double room but got 2 single beds but we were that tired we just pulled them together, but still in all we were just really looking forward to breakfast. We set our alarm clocks so we wouldn't miss it ,,well it was awful greasy bacon, scrambled egg with big black bits in,fried eggs floating in oil ,,supposed to be fresh orange juice but diluted cheap rubbish, but sill we filled up on toast and coffee. I have to say the hotel was clean, the staff were nice, the shuttle bus was fine,but you are miles away from anywhere. Don't let the brochure kid you, 7 euros in a taxi to the beach town ,so bear this in mind. But let me tell you about dinner ,I had veal stew I kid you not I was in pain all night ,yes you guessed it the arabian nights the next day. I passed on the breakfast that day. If you like kebabs this is the place for you, They had chicken and squid kebabs, but chicken kebabs four nights in a row you cant get better than than that can you !!! The cakes were cut so small you couldn't even pick them up. I leave you to make up your own mind ,,but I would never go back there, even if it was free!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louleQuarteira, Manager at Pinhal do Sol Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Costumer,

Thank you for your review.

We learn from our costumers feddback.

I am deeply sorry, you were disapointed with your stay at our Hotel. We always do our best to please our costumers. Unfortunatly occasionally, for reasons we are not always aware we are unable to achieve our aims.

All information and advertising about the Hotel, describes excatly, our location, facilities, room types, hotel category. All required information to able our costumers to make the wright choice, we have no misleading information.

We could not undersant your comments about dinner, as we have a 14 days menu, meaning that the menus only get repeated every 14 days.

Yours Sincerely
António Duarte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    324
    185
    72
    55
See reviews for
228
349
32
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

My friend and I booked a 4 night girls holiday last week. When we arrived it was quite late so we ate at hotel restaurant... €12.95 for dinner which was supposedly a special offer.... Not impressed with the food barely any selection and a tiny restaurant.
Would say the staff do not like English customers seem to be very rude to us and not at all interested in us or any enquiries we had to make. Think they need to be nicer to English as there was a clear difference between the way they were with us and Portuguese customers.
Rooms was fine cold air con relatively spacious and lovely shower.
Very remote location the only place walking distance was lidl which I would recommend getting water and crisps drinks from there hotel vet overpriced for eater crisps and drinks.
Free shuttle was good we got last one into marina each night and only €10 to get back. Lovely marina and amazing setting down there.
Lovely place Portugal but perhaps not this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jezzzza_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We loved the hotel, booked a superior room for a week which was brilliant value for money. Huge room with fridge, flat screen TV and balcony. Room serviced every day which is a nice luxury. We had room 209 which was very close to everything. Read before we left that some rooms are a five minute walk away from reception, this is rubbish! Yes it's a long building but 2 minutes max can take you from one end to the other.

We regularly used the pool by the villa rather than the main pool. Less people, more peaceful, nice grassy area and the shallow end is much bigger than the kids pool in the main pool area so our children (4 and 6) loved it!

We went bed and breakfast rather than all inclusive which worked well for us. There is plenty of choice at breakfast, it isn't the best quality food ever but we managed to find enough to fill us.

There isn't much entertainment in the bar on an evening but this didn't bother us, we enjoyed just going down for a drink and making use of the wifi! However my tip would be avoid the cocktails, yes they are ridiculously cheap but they are vile! Ice creams however are lovely!

The only difficulty we had was actually finding the hotel on our first night, even with a sat nav we really struggled and in the end had to stop for directions. The hotel is on a road between two main roads, look for either Lidl on one end or Aquashow water park on the other. Other than this once we found it we loved the location, far away enough from the main town to be peaceful but close enough to visit local towns. There is a shuttle bus but we hired a car which meant we could explore whilst using the hotel as a really nice base.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lyndsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HERTFORDSHIRE
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just Back from a 3 night all inclusive at the Pinhal do so hotel.haven't got a bad word to write.. it was clean, room spacious, food was fine and plentiful. the staff were all very polite and helpful Manuel was brilliant (he's a credit to the hotel).the hotel bus was also very good.... I have recommended this hotel to my family & friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
3 Thank ADY191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My wife and I (mid 30’s) made the wrong choice and booked a week at Pinhal Do Sol last summer, it might be a bit late now for a review but we don’t think things have changed since then so here’s our thoughts:
First of all, we chose to book this hotel as it didn’t seem too bad, some reviews were not very convincing but we know some people are very picky about everything so we took it with a pinch of salt, the rates were also below average and our budget wasn’t very high so we went for it.
The hotel complex as a whole is very decent and has potential, but the cons outweigh the pros.

First of all, location is a major issue, you can really realize about this only once you get here, it is quite far from the coast (about 2 miles / 3 km) and fair enough they provide these free shuttle buses back and forth but it’s still a drag to depend on them, there are two scheduled in the morning, one in the early afternoon and the last at 17:30, it takes you down to Quarteira and Vilamoura and comes straight back (for those who were already there), after this time you need to rely on cabs.

The first day we actually walked all the way to Quarteira as we were curious about how long it would take and well...it took us about 40/45 minutes, clearly not something that can be done on a daily basis, part of the road is also lacking a pavement therefore dangerous as well, we were very quickly wondering why on earth a hotel was built in this location, it is on a main road but there is absolutely nothing once you go out, just a built-up area inhabited by local people.

Although our stay was between July and August, there were not that many guests, the two areas of concentration are the two swimming pools, one at the front, one smaller at the back, we used them on a couple of occasions but there were very few people (most of the hotel guests were probably down in Quarteira or Vilamoura) and we had a feeling of being in an isolated place, there was no buzz, no music, no entertainment of any kind, there weren’t even any children screaming.

We stayed on half-board basis, breakfast was not great, the coffee / cappuccino, etc, were dispensed by a machine and tasted foul, the food on display was of mediocre quality, plenty of biscuits (easy / lazy option), some squash (tasted cheap and chemical and again, lazy option), the usual toasts, bread, jams, etc plus some cold meats and cheese, as a whole when you wake up in the morning and you think about breakfast it should be a joyful moment, well it wasn’t enjoyable at all. As some other reviewers have pointed out, there’s a Lidl at short distance going towards the coast, it’s likely that most of the food comes from there.
Dinner was organized a bit better and we don’t have too many complaints about it, you can eat indoors or outdoors by the pool and the food was of quite good quality.

What happens after dinner is the big issue: nothing! There’s a bar serving drinks of mediocre quality but there’s no music, no entertainment...and no people, you have a feeling that you don’t really know what to do, other than going down to Quarteira or Vilamoura, so a taxi back and forth is about €15 (but some evenings a cab to come back may be hard to find or, especially from Vilamoura, you might have to queue up and wait for your turn).

Accommodation: depending on where your bedroom is, this might be another issue, the hotel has very long corridors of bedrooms and if you are given one at the end of the corridor you find yourself walking and walking and walking for so long that it becomes boring.
In our case, unfortunately, something very bad happened, something that totally spoiled our holiday: 3 days after we were there, we had left early in the morning for an excursion near Faro, upon our return in the evening we were asked by the receptionist what our room number was and once we told him, he replied with something that made our heart sunk, our bedroom (+ other two) had been broken in and burgled, what we felt in that moment is really hard to describe, we rushed to our bedroom but couldn’t get in as the door handle had been forced opened and then forced closed in whichever way I’m not even sure about; with the help of the receptionist in the end we managed to get in, the room was in a bit of a mess, some of our possessions had been stolen but I’m not going into more details about this; the police was then called for a report etc etc.
What I would like to highlight is the lack of security in this hotel, the burglary apparently happened in the early morning (nobody called us from the hotel, they had our numbers!) as by the time the cleaners got to our room it had already been burgled, there are no cctv cameras anywhere, especially in the corridors, so nothing could be done to find out who the burglars were, the hotel management showed some compassion and offered their help but we were not feeling really helped, there was a sense of carelessness about what happened to us.
As we didn’t feel safe any longer in staying there, we were then transferred upon agreement to another hotel in Quarteira town, the new hotel was better but our holiday was completely ruined, we wanted to go home, we had to go on a daily basis to the local police station asking for news about our case and deal with not very helpful policemen + we had to go to the tribunal in another town inland to finalize our case, as a whole an experience to forget.

In our opinion, in case of doubt whether you want to book your stay at this hotel or not, please don’t, unless you don’t mind being isolated, far from the coast and unless you have a car, so that you can go anywhere as you please.
You might as well stay at a hotel on the coast, where there’s plenty of choice, better still stay in Vilamoura and avoid Quarteira altogether; if you listen to our advice, once you are there and you visit both towns you’ll understand why, and you’ll thank us for this tip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JamR0LL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quarteira hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

After reading the negative reviews on here, me and my boyfriend were quite apprehensive about the hotel, but we thought that the price was cheap enough that we could eat out regularly if we needed to get away from the hotel. I'm pleased to say we didn't need to at all, and the food served in the hotel was lovely. There was a change in menu daily, and all of the food was replenished often so it was lovely and fresh. There was a salad bar, hot food counter, starter section with soups and bread and dessert station. Breakfast had a variety of hot breakfast, cereals, fresh fruits and yoghurts. There was cheese and salami too.
In the evenings they served bottles of their own wine for their hotel, and it was very nice.
The pool area was clean and always well-kept. Sun loungers could be a problem during high season as there wasn't enough sometimes, though the lovely gardens next to the pool and bar area was nice enough to sit on with just a towel.
The room was HUGE, with a balcony and fridge, tv, hairdryer, ect. No complaints here other than when i arrived the toilet was not as clean as I would have liked (but i am quite particular!) and the pillows were a bit rubbish. I mentioned this to reception and within the hour the bathroom was cleaned again and new pillows were provided. The staff at this hotel work absolutely hard, they can't do enough for you. The two younger guys were very efficient and friendly, one was Manuel, but i forget the others name!
The hotel is about 10 mins walk to a local Lidl which is great for stocking up the little fridge with water and wine for when sat out on the balcony :) It's so easy to get into town too, we got the shuttle in after breakfast and got a taxi back in the evening if we stayed out all day. It would be better if the shuttles ran a little later though.

All in all, an amazing stay, and i would recommend! Oh, and the Sangria is excellent :p

Room Tip: Request one near to reception if you have mobility issues, we were in room 226 which was on the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachie133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Recently stayed here for a week it Was beautiful spotless the hotel Was 10 out of 10 staff so friendly so relaxing if your Looking for peace and quiet this is the place to be set in the countryside Free shuttle bus takes you in to town everyday no taxi fare needed Exellent service the food lovely cocktails to die for the the only problem i Had Was i should of booked for 10 days instead of the week going back next year and i never return to the same place twice.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank coachbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quarteira
0.9 mi away
Hotel Zodiaco
Hotel Zodiaco
#22 of 48 in Quarteira
225 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#9 of 48 in Quarteira
1,561 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Atismar
Hotel Atismar
#31 of 48 in Quarteira
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#18 of 36 in Vilamoura
721 reviews
24.6 mi away
Agua Hotels Riverside
1.6 mi away
Quarteira Sol
Quarteira Sol
#23 of 48 in Quarteira
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinhal do Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinhal do Sol Hotel

Property: Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Address: Sitio de Semino, Quarteira 8125-303, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinhal do Sol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Booking.com, Onthebeach, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Pinhal do Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Hotel Pinhal Do
Hotel Pinhal Sol
Quarteira Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel Quarteira
Pinhal Do Sol Hotel Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing