We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow....what a shame we found this gem of a place at the end of our holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gracas do Alentejo - CLOSED

Gracas do Alentejo
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Description: Restaurante Tipico Alentejano
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wow....what a shame we found this gem of a place at the end of our holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Tucked away in the residential area of quarteiria is this wonderful place! Family run, no menu as specials are offered each day. Food was awesome, traditional portugese fayre. The service was perfect too. Ideal for a family dinner or romantic meal, or indeed for groups of friends. A definite find if youre looking for authentic portugese, home cooked food

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank heart_nurse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    3
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
184 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A gem of a find.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

This unassuming family restaurant was recommended by our trust worthy taxi driver we came to know during our trip to Vilamoura, unless you were told about it, you would never come across it by chance. A warm welcome greeted us. There is no menu per se, as the daily dishes are dependent upon which fresh local produce they have bought that day. They do have some wonderful hams hanging up, and some great local sausages, the portions are extremely generous, when we go again we shall know to ask for smaller portions to enable us to sample their great deserts. They have a fine selection of wines. Well worth a visit for those that like excellent traditional, local food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannius24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Amazing, Wonderful, Delicious, MUST GO!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

One of the best meat restaurants EVER. It is a family-run quaint room with no menu, meat hanging above the small bar, meat hanging in the refrigerator, and fresh fish on display in a separate refrigerator. You must try the thinly-sliced Black Pork as well as the lamb Shoulder - delicious, to die for. Music playing in the background, and a rustic family feel. A hidden gem in Quarteira that is a must visit for anyone. We go every summer and the owners recognize us and are extremely friendly. We were 5 people - had a LOT to eat (4 or so appetizers, 3 very large main courses, 4 bottles of good wine and some dessert and coffee) for 225 Euros.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A real taste of Portugal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We visited here on the recommendation of one of the staff at Four Seasons and it was excellent.

We did wonder where the taxi was taking us as it rattled down tiny little back streets in Quarteira but it added to the excitement of the evening. The food was excellent and you could taste how fresh it all was. The staff were friendly and very helpful with advice and explanations of the dishes and wines. We will certainly be back

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank obecalp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not for vegetarians!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

Certainly one of the best local restaurants I have been to in Europe. Recommended by a couple of local taxi drivers as being an authentic Portugese restaurant specialising in meat. They were'nt wrong. Cheese, ham and sausage as starters. Tried everything. All amazing. Especially the Black Pork sausage. Selected pork also from the fresh meat selection on display in the restaurant. Served two ways...... One dish with clams, the other with their homemade pepper sauce. Fabulous. Can't recommend enough.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Taxifor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gracas do Alentejo also viewed

 
Vilamoura, Quarteira
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing