We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality beach apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cavalo Preto Beach Resort
Reviewed 22 October 2013

These apartments are set right on the eastern ( Val do Lobo) side of Quarteira very close to the beach. They are a perfect choice if you like to self cater. There's a good supermarket close by and if you have a car you can drive to Pingo Doce or Lidl. There is an amazing fish market at the far end of the promenade and endless "takeaway" options in Quarteira.

The apartments are all privately owned and vary so it's better to book directly with the Cavalo Preto rather than with booking,com. Some face east and get morning sun whereas if you like to relax on your balcony with a glass of wine in the evening you may prefer a west facing apartment. The superior apartments face inwards onto the nicely landscaped gardens and ours on the second floor had a fantastic sea view.

We loved walking along the promenade which takes about 20 minutes to the western Villamoura end. Turn right at the fish market and up the Rua Vasco de Gama and carry on up to the pretty church in the old part of the town. This is where the locals eat in places like snack bar Tico! The takeaway chicken from Picasso was delicious and well worth the walk.

We are planning to return again soon!

Room Tip: We were in apartment B303 on the second floor which has a fantastic sea view. It was facing east and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at Cavalo Beach Apartments the first week of October. The weather was fantastic and we had a great time the beach being right outside the gate of the apartments and an array of beach bars to enjoy in close proximity. We enjoyed beach walks to Vale de Lobo in one direction and across the promenade in Quarteira to Vilamoura in the other with great scenery along the way. All of the family enjoyed it and we will definitely be returning next year. The apartments are huge and very well equipped and luxurious with everything that you could need for a self catering holiday - microwave, dishwasher, coffee machine, Internet, TV etc. the staff could not do enough to help in particular Eduarda and Andre helping out with the booking of taxis and suggestions of restaurants and things to do. We were given comprehensive instructions upon arrival and departure and I cannot fault the Home Team as they gave us a better more personal experience than what we have found with larger tour operators. The complex felt like home and very secure for the family whilst being close to everything - Vilamoura Marina, golf courses, restaurants of every description and water parks. Give this a try you won't be disappointed...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WhiteTours2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here earlier this year and couldn't have found the staff more accommodating. We had communication with the Home Team before we arrived so knew exactly what to do and what to expect. Our return flight wasn't until later in the day and there was no issue with us staying in the apartment until it was convenient for us to leave. The apartment and facilities were excellent, lovely pool and close to the beach and beach bars. Definitely recommend these apartments and thinking of returning next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickiR880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

whose review and rating seems to us to be very unfair indeed ... we are here now . It appears that his major problems resulted from his own failure to read the instructions sent to him about check in and departure .
Our own experience has been very good from check in onwards . The staff are very eager to please .. attentive and courteous ... Andrei & Eduarda have been delightful .
The cleaners were calm and efficient and non invasive .... on their mid stay visit on a rainy day .
The position of the apartments is fabulous ... just a bit apart from Quarteira but everything within an easy walk ... and the wonderful beach only moments away .
My only comment really would be that the apartment we stayed in , which was great in almost all respects seems a little unfinished and perhaps a little unloved ... in need of a feminine touch .
A few things would be nice .... some lighting in the sitting area for the evenings ... maybe a table by the sofa , a second bedside table ... a nice big sautee pan for the kitchen , a potato peeler .... really just little things ... some hooks to hang coats etc .
The TV system is not brilliant but its ok ... BBC 2 , ITV , ITV3 , BBC 4 ... I think we have found BBC1 ...
a Sky system would be a big improvement .
Some nice touches though ... expresso machine and juicer .
We're planning to return .

Room Tip: We stayed in B303 .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simonjames048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

A word of warning to those looking for accommodation in Quarteira...

To summarise our experience of Cavalo Preto "Luxury" Beach Apartments:

Positive points-the apartment is modern and spacious.

Negative points- nobody available on arrival for check-in, incompetent, rude staff, non-existent reception, apartments not well cared for, not enough hot water for showers, no cleaning and towel/linen change (for an eight night stay!), no real service, lack of proper organisation and infrastructure for apartment rentals. Nobody answered the phone (main reception number) when we called repeatedly in a hospital needing to speak to them- emergency numbers posted inside the complex only! Apartments definitely not luxury…

The details: We booked a one week (eight nights) stay with Cavalo Preto through booking.com and were disappointed from start to finish. This complex, basically made up of apartments being sold and rented to tourists, is simply not properly equipped to deal with rentals properly and professionally. We arrived right on time (having been requested to provide flight details and estimated arrival time in advance by e-mail after we made our booking) to a locked gate, no buzzer for reception and no way to contact the staff except to call their phone number (using a foreign mobile which is expensive when roaming). Eventually some other guests turned up by chance and let us in. There was a total lack of signage and again we were reliant on these random people to find out where the reception even was. Surprise, surprise there was nobody there waiting for us. Eventually someone turned up. On this day there were only two bookings checking in (between 16.00 and 18.30, the incredibly limited check-in period) and they should have been there, waiting for us when we arrived. Instead we had an unpleasant arrival, a sign of things to come.

Just a few of our issues with the apartment itself: the hot water boiler only had enough water for one, short hot shower in the morning. The apartment was advertised as being able to accommodate 6 people (we were 4 adults and a child). There is no cleaning during the week and no towels or bedding changed. The "reception" is non-existent and we were repeatedly given the impression (such as when we eventually managed to checked in after having to endure a 10 minute phone call with one of the "owners" while we waited...) that those people interested in buying properties or those who have already done so, are much more important to the "Home Team" than those guests renting a property. In short, the infrastructure, organisation, service and skills to provide a rental service are simply not there. In addition the bathrooms were very smelly (drains?) and we had to buy several air fresheners to try to mask the unpleasant odours. We also had problems with the garage door key which was extraordinarily temperamental. All of this comes across as very unprofessional and does not make for a pleasant, relaxing stay.

However the worst experience was on the last day. We had been informed when booking, that check-in would be between 16.00 and 18.30 and check-out at 10.00am. This was rather unfair and inconvenient but we had just accepted it as it didn't appear there was much to do about it. However, on the evening before departure a questionnaire was stuck to our front door which had further information about checking out. The first point reminded us that check-out time was 10am. The second point on the leaflet stated that (paraphrasing) ‘if check-out is at 13.00 a fee of 50 EUR will be charged and if it is after 13.00 a fee of 100 EUR will be charged'. We had not realised, before this time, that there was a late check-out option and were happy to find out that this was possible as we did not need to be in the airport until the afternoon of the check-out day. We had been out all day and returned around 6pm to find this information on our door (by this time the reception had closed). Nowhere on the piece of paper did it state that late check-out would only be possible pending availability or that we should check this or request it with reception. There was no mention of confirming our interest in late check-out with the reception and the wording made it sound as if we could simply check-out at 1pm and pay the extra 50 EUR which is what we decided to do. At 10.15am the next morning we were woken by a staff member informing us that we needed to vacate the apartment immediately as they needed to clean for guests who were arriving at 12.30. I informed her that we would like to stay until 1 and pay the extra fee but I was told (first by her, 20 minutes later by two surly cleaner and 10 minutes later by another staff member) that we must immediately vacate the property (within 30 minutes). We got ready as quickly as possible (5 people in less than an hour to shower, pack and tidy).

When we went to reception to return the keys we explained that the information put on our door was very misleading and we were not informed that we needed to request late check-out (and in any case it was not possible given that other guests were due to arrive 3 hours and 30 minutes before the standard check-in time). The female member of staff was incredibly dismissive, condescending, patronising and rude to us. We raised the point that the information on our door did not make it clear that we needed to request late check-out or check availability and that, in any case, this was not an option and so the information should not have been put on our door at all, given that the apartment was already booked and guests were expected for the same day at 12.30. Having acknowledged that this information was unclear and misleading and stated that she would amend the document, the staff member proceeded to essentially insult my partner and I, claiming that we were causing trouble and that we were in the wrong. Her attitude was arrogant and unprofessional and her sole concern was in trying to make us seem silly and irrational. I have stayed in many hotels and short-term apartments in many different countries and have never experienced such unprofessional and rude "service". There was no apology or acknowledgment of blame, instead we were treated like troublemakers rather than valued clients. It is clear that these people do not know how to provide a proper, professional, well-organised apartment rental service. They have no idea how to treat guests and are incompetent in the extreme. We viewed the document as a proposal- late check-out was available if we paid a fee and we did not need to request this, given the timing of the document being given to us and the lack of instructions regarding how to arrange this. Given the wording, that is a perfectly logical assumption. In reality it was a threat! We informed this person that this effectively altered our contract as we were being offered an option (to amend our originally agreed on check-out time) which we had accepted and provided consideration (fee of 50 EUR) for. This is a basic principle of contract law in Portugal and across the EU. Had this person simply apologised, accepted the blame for this confusion and left it at that, we would have put it down to a misunderstanding caused by this company's lack of communication skills. As it is we had to walk away from the conversation as it had simply turned into us being accused of being difficult and awkward when we had been anything but, rushing to get ready, on the last day of our holiday, in a very short period of time, when we had been led to believe, in a written document, that we could stay later and check out at 1pm. Avoid this company: we are not difficult clients. We have stayed in many different types of accommodation across several continents and the behaviour of this sham of a company is not, in any way, standard or acceptable. We were in the right and they were entirely in the wrong.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hometeam127, Manager at Cavalo Preto Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for your comprehensive but inaccurate review of our property.

Your review states that you could not get in to the apartments. On the full and detailed information we sent to you, by email, on 4 August at 12.05 hours, there are clear instructions on how to enter Cavalo Preto, which is a private and secure condominium. These instructions include the code to enter the gate and details on the location of our Guest Centre for your check-in. There is a sign as you enter the gate, directing you to our Hometeam Guest Centre and also a large sign to the right of the glass doors of our guest centre. You can see photos of this signage and our Guest Centre here on Trip Advisor.

Your review states that there were only 2 check-in’s on 26 September – this was not true as we had other check-in’s from other reservations, not just booking.com reservations.

We have no record in our guest centre of you visiting the staff at any time to report any of the problems you say you encountered or to ask about any check-out options for your late departure. Our Guest Centre is open daily with an office number and a mobile number on the door which are also in the guest information book inside the apartment. We also have a 24 hour emergency number which is sent out with the guest information prior to your arrival.

Your main complaint seems to concern the possibility of a late check-out. You were not offered a late check-out option because your apartment was booked again with new guests arriving on your departure day. We always post a feedback questionnaire on the last day of a guest visit - on this questionnaire is also a reminder for check out info - namely that the checkout time is 10.00 hours with further information of the costs of a late check-out (which, as we have already stated, was not offered to you because we knew your apartment was already booked again.)

On your departure day our cleaners waited for you to depart until 11.30 hours then our Guest Centre staff knocked on the apartment door to ask if your party would let us have access for cleaning. Our staff had to wait a further considerable time before you left the apartment and came to our Guest Centre to complain that you had been asked to vacate the apartment.

Although we do have to ask guests to vacate the apartment to allow cleaning we are always happy to look after luggage in our office and allow our clients use of the pool for the remainder of their last day - again, we have no record of you asking for any help with this.

Our reviews on booking.com show an average score of 9.0 based on 116 surveys - so it seems that our many and varied customers enjoy their experience at Cavalo Preto Beach Apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Os apartamentos do RC têm acesso a jardim privativo, enquanto os apartamentos superiores têm apenas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quarteira hotels
0.7 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#9 of 48 in Quarteira
1,678 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pinhal da Marina
Pinhal da Marina
#11 of 36 in Vilamoura
478 reviews
2.4 mi away
Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,400 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalo Preto Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalo Preto Beach Resort

Address: Rua do Forte Novo, Quarteira 8100, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Quarteira
Price Range: £44 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 And 2 bedroom self catering apartments located close to the beach at Forte Novo, Quarteira. Ideally situated between the resort areas of Vilamoura and Vale do Lobo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cavalo Preto Beach Resort Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing