We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly in a perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly in a perfect location”
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Had a very easy hassle free stay at the hotel. Unfortunately we ended up with a room at the back of the hotel so couldn't make the most of the wonderful sea views. Staff were very friendly and helpfull.
The resturaunt did seem a bit unorganised, but that is usually what you would expect being as it was all self service. Although it could be improved if you had the option of using a tray so you dont have to keep walking back to your table with a drink then go back for toast then go back for food etc etc.
The bar area was very smart with views accross the seafront and outside seating on the veranda. Fine if you dont mind paying a few pence more than local drink prices.
The pool area is very clean and well kept, the only downside is that the sun only hits one side of it at any point of the day due to a wall causing a shaded area.
They offer crazy golf on the roof terrace located on the 4th floor, we thought it was a bargain at 2.50 per person, but only untill we started to play our game and realised that it was very hard to play when the balls just dont stop rolling around and you also have to be very careful not to let them fall down the drain holes on the roof.
But what really does sell the hotel is its location, it's right on the seafront and very central with all the shops and bars around it. Also walking distance from Villa Moura.

Room Tip: Ask to upgrade at reception for seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dean084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    739
    610
    139
    30
    20
See reviews for
291
874
82
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We stayed for the long bank holiday weekend at the Hotel Dom Jose. Recently upgraded, the bedrooms, bathrooms and common areas are spotless, deserves to be better than a 3* hotel. Service was excellent from start to end, from reception, room attendants, restaurant staff etc. Our first room was at the front of the hotel without a view or balcony, so we asked to upgrade to a room over the beach. This was done very quickly and at 8 euros a night, an absolute bargain!. The food was hot, varied and very appetising, just from a weekend I think I put on a couple of pounds.

For the young this hotel would probably not be ideal as Quarteira is quite quiet, especially out of season, and we didnt see any discos or such. However, there are some very good bars with live music along the seafront open until 2am, the best one being "Klan", thank you guys for some great evenings.

Would recommend the hotel, and Quarteira. A brilliant short break - just what we needed.

Room Tip: upgrade to a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cmdolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buford, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

This hotel decided it wants to be a stop ober for tour buses. As a result 50 - 199 people stampede into a small dinning room for dinner. it is chaotic the noise is horrible. lounge is uninviting and long time entertainer is no longer ther, what a shame. he provided day trips ,beach bowling and piano music and dancing at night.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms only ones worth booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellie34806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Stayed here with my partner for a week from 13/4/11. A nice hotel on the beach,great view from the room. Staff excellent,especially Svetlana,who never stops smiling.
Three things spoilt the week for us, firstly the food is very basic (yellow soup every night,just called something different...lol), and very little choice. Secondly, the hotel is very busy with Portugese pensioners, (who we are led to believe,get 3 holidays a year paid for by the government). They are very rude and push and shove each other,and anyone else to get to the food....lol.Then tend to sit on the terrace without buying a drink,talking very loudly until there FREE daily trip is ready.Finally the entertainment is pretty dire,only on for 3 nights while we were there.
As for food,we recommend a lovely place called Fantasia,just a ten minute walk along the promenade,great food and happy hour from 9.30 to 10.30 pm.
Very few bars in Quateria,but plenty of coffee bars and shops,and very cheap.
Sadly we will not return.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blackpool-Hotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2011

hotel was perfectly clean, in great location in from of the beach with sea view balcony. What more could we wish???? Tasty brekfast and great pool area, helpfull staff. Deffinetely will return there :)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knuzene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

I was very impressed with the transformation of this epic hotel on one of the Algarve's most popular beaches. Reception and staff were lovely and eager to please. As an avid traveller and property owner in the Algarve I shall definitely recommend family and friends to stay at this quaint hotel as I am confident of their quality/price factor in such a prestigious area.

Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank DrMCas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

We just returned yesterday from 3 nights away in Hotel Dom Jose.
The hotel has been recently renovated and looks very clean and modern. The staff were very friendly and the food good but not amazing.
Breakfast was a selection of cold meats and cheese, cerial, some times bacon, sometimes little hot dogs & eggs. It was absolutely fine.
Dinner was ok, we had half board so the dinner was included otherwise it would have been 12 euros each...not worth that!
Dinner is meant to be served between 7:30 and 10:30pm however one night we went at 8:30pm and there were about 80 old people staying at the hotel which had already been to dinner and were in the lounge for happy hour. There was not very much left, and no dessert just a tray with crumbs. The staff were clearing up and it was obvious that no more food was going out. There was only one more couple that had not yet arrived for dinner. I would have been very angry if I had paid the 12 euros for that!

We originally paid for a delux sea view room but when we arrived it was a little smaller than we wanted and the view was obstructed by a built in cupboard infront of the window..odd. We enquired about an upgrade to the Superior sea view room. We took the keys to have a look at it. The second we walked in the room we were blown away....it was HUGE. Seriously spacious with a bigger balcony and open views... Amazing. And it was only 10 euros per night extra...bargain absolutely worth it!!

Quateria itself is a nice area, lots of restaurants & a few shops.
In March though it is like a ghost town apart from the old people staying at our hotel which prefered the lounge chairs by the pool.
This is definitely a very chilled place to go for a break, not somewhere for young people to go for a party weekend.
Faro town was a bit of a let down, there was a big write up about it on the plane on the way there which was a waste of paper. The town sucked, nobody about and nothing to do. There is a big shopping centre on the way back to Quateria but the prices are soooooo expensive. We had no idea Portugal was so expensive.

Overall Hotel Dom Jose was great value and a very needed break away. We would recommend it :)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SharonBJ32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quarteira
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,602 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4,979 reviews
4.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,009 reviews
24.4 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Jose Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Jose Beach Hotel

Property: Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Address: Avenida Infante de Sagres 143, Quarteira 8125-157, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Quarteira
#8 Family Hotel in Quarteira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Jose Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dom Jose Beach Hotel in Quarteira/Vilamoura totally renewed is one of the most well located in the Algarve, with beachfront location and an absolutely beautiful view over the deep blue Atlantic Ocean. Just 20 minutes from Faro International Airport and 5 minutes from Vilamoura. In front of the Hotel, a long promenade invites you to a healthy walk and sightseeing and access to the famous Vilamoura Marina. Enjoy the good local restaurants with typical food of the region. The Hotel offers 154 modern rooms, all with elegant design, colours and modern furniture combined with oak wood flooring, are also equipped with air conditioning, TV LCD, wireless internet, direct dial telephone, safety box and private bathroom with amenities and hairdryer. Guests staying at the Dom Jose Beach Hotel can enjoy the following facilities: Restaurant, Bar, Meeting Rooms, Gym, Wireless in public areas, a panoramic Minigolf (with 9 holes) available on the 4th floor, outside swimming pool with wooden deck and Hotel Beach Area with beds and shades (extra, only in high season). Only a few minutes away from the Hotel, there are different sports and recreational facilities: championship golf courses within the areas of Vilamoura (3 km), Quinta do Lago (6 km), Vale do Lobo (6 km) and Vila Sol (2 km), Vilamoura's Casino (2 km), Tennis Courts, Fishing, Rental of Boats and Sightseeing Cruises, Diving School, Horse Riding, Marina, Surfing and Wind Surf. Dom Jose Beach Hotel offers quality and variety of services. Enjoy the hospitality and location of a completely renewed Hotel. Discover the Algarve! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dom Jose Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Jose Quarteira
Dom Jose Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing