We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standard 3 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Certificate of Excellence
Albufeira
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good standard 3 star hotel”
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Well run hotel, quiet position, on seafront, beautiful beach outside. Room good, everything worked properly, clean, friendly staff. Plenty of street parking outside (October). Reasonable buffet meals in restaurant. Lovely terrace overlooking sea (great for the sunset).
TV programmed with BBC1, so you entertainment rather than that terribly boring BBC News 24 that most hotels give you as the English channel, so thank you Dom Jose for that thoughtful facility.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    759
    628
    146
    31
    21
See reviews for
304
897
85
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (703)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Loved the location right on the beach, all the rooms were very clean and modern.
Good value base for a long weekend of golf in the area

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonspires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

All in all an excellent budget choice hotel, rooms were nice, (recent refurb) staff were without exception excellent, tiniest gripe was no fridge in room.

Altogether top hotel for the price. (You must take the sea view rooms... no really the others look out onto a wall!)

Room Tip: You must have a sea view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My newly retired hubby and I had 10 days here. Get yourself a deluxe sea-view room to make your stay perfect. Excellent brekkie and we thought choice and standard of food at the evening meal was more than acceptable(Nile Perch was my favourite).The Pool area is lovely and there's no haggling over loungers. Keep your flipflops on as the decking get's scorching hot.
Maybe it's late in the season but we found that the Night life is......much better at Vilamoura Marina(30 min stroll or 6 mins in a taxi). There are plenty of restaurants but hardly any body dinning. We did find it very quiet.Quarteira lacks music at night, every bar seems football mad! However it's a beautiful location, long wide walkways next to the beach, good for running, cycling, pushchairs etc.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LIZ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Stayed here with my boyfriend for one week in October. Great hotel, right on the beach, room was very clean and nicely decorated. Generous sized bathroom and walk in shower. Excellent value for money! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammywhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2011

PERFECTLY located beside beach. Beautiful for walks on the promenade. A sea view room is an absolute must though.The area is quiet- however just a few minutes in a taxi (3of us €5) and we were in heart of hustle and bustle in the Marina.
Shops were surprisingly good!
Down side for us was restaurants were empty?!! Maybe off season? And bar was a little slow. Would have liked a fridge in room.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank October17102011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Situated overlooking the beach, couldn't have wished for a better view, lovely lounge at the front of the hotel which was in the open where we were able to see beautiful sunsets whilst sipping a cool glass of wine .
We had a relaxing week and the food was lovely at this hotel.
It took us approx 40 minutes to walk in to Vilamoura without rushing and taking in the the beautiful view of the sea along the way .
I would advise people to take a travel kettle as no tea/coffee in the rooms.
Basic rooms are a bit on the small side although very clean and modern , no balcony either, we upgraded to a superior room which was huge and had a balcony, this really made a difference to our holiday.
There was a downside, the pool is a little on the small side for the size of the hotel and not many loungers to be had , they were very close together , wouldn't have been so bad if people didn't put their towels on the beds in the morning and then decide to go shopping and return lunch time .
However we would without a doubt return to this hotel

Room Tip: upgrade your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evening-sunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quarteira
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
2.0 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,115 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,680 reviews
5.0 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Jose Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Jose Beach Hotel

Property: Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Address: Avenida Infante de Sagres 143, Quarteira 8125-157, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Quarteira
#8 Family Hotel in Quarteira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Jose Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dom Jose Beach Hotel in Quarteira/Vilamoura totally renewed is one of the most well located in the Algarve, with beachfront location and an absolutely beautiful view over the deep blue Atlantic Ocean. Just 20 minutes from Faro International Airport and 5 minutes from Vilamoura. In front of the Hotel, a long promenade invites you to a healthy walk and sightseeing and access to the famous Vilamoura Marina. Enjoy the good local restaurants with typical food of the region. The Hotel offers 154 modern rooms, all with elegant design, colours and modern furniture combined with oak wood flooring, are also equipped with air conditioning, TV LCD, wireless internet, direct dial telephone, safety box and private bathroom with amenities and hairdryer. Guests staying at the Dom Jose Beach Hotel can enjoy the following facilities: Restaurant, Bar, Meeting Rooms, Gym, Wireless in public areas, a panoramic Minigolf (with 9 holes) available on the 4th floor, outside swimming pool with wooden deck and Hotel Beach Area with beds and shades (extra, only in high season). Only a few minutes away from the Hotel, there are different sports and recreational facilities: championship golf courses within the areas of Vilamoura (3 km), Quinta do Lago (6 km), Vale do Lobo (6 km) and Vila Sol (2 km), Vilamoura's Casino (2 km), Tennis Courts, Fishing, Rental of Boats and Sightseeing Cruises, Diving School, Horse Riding, Marina, Surfing and Wind Surf. Dom Jose Beach Hotel offers quality and variety of services. Enjoy the hospitality and location of a completely renewed Hotel. Discover the Algarve! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dom Jose Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Jose Quarteira
Dom Jose Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing