We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“brill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Quarteira
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“brill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

stayed 3 wk 20feb/12march,just as photos ,no kettle in room or fridge and only 3 drawers in wardrobe, asked at reception for a set of drawers and they were in our rooom on return,in seaview room 712,great view sun all day,food same on weekly basis,staff all friendly and helpful,in the bar slitvana is an asset to the hotel,always smiling ,happy hour 8/9pm.out on the promanade side of hotel turn right ,highly recommend shaslik indian restaurant, best garlick nann ever,the paper and wine shop are helpful,they will uncork a bottle of wine for you for the balcony,red 2 euro a bottle very good wine and white in fridge,try the green wine if you like dry,i got ice in a plastic from the bar for room so as to keep white chilled,there is the sport bar after the paper shop and a small cafe, not this bar but you can smoke in a sport bar,try the cadallac bar on main road,come out of the hotel entrance and look right you see the girrasol cafe bar up some steps,savoury pancakes,yum,quiche,steak chicken daily special or just drinks and a suntrap.walk into villamoura there is the barola wine bar not far from dom jose,keep to the beach road and you come to the wooden beach bar opposite crown plazza very clean,short way to villamoura up by crown plaza ,also good for a drink, or carry on to the villa gale and turn up there,the casino is between the 2, or you can carry on to the marina just keep walking along beach road, prices very resonable,the sport bar facing marina a beer,and 1/2 bot wine 4euro.you can get your duty free here.walking back to quateria you will see the chinese restaurant, a lunchtime special till 3pm is 4.50 euro well worth it, a stop in the square 2 small beers,1,40 euro, bus fares quite dear.if you venture to the wed market the chicken shack is near by,not been myself but rave reviews,enjoyed our 3 wk met some lovely people, ron /beryl....elaine/. dave can recommend but it is a quite resort,

Room Tip: sea view higher room you can see all the way along promenade they get sun allday long,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank riorita23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    595
    134
    30
    19
See reviews for
280
848
81
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Just returned from this hotel, took a 5 night B&B break, requested a high floor with sea view which is what we were given- room was nice and clean, only small niggle would be the size, not too much room to move about and glad there were only two of us.
brakfast was ample for our needs, but why there was not a full selection each day I am not too sure, bacon was only on 2 out of our 5 day stay, and one day no fried egg only scrambled, also on the day there was bacon, beans were missing, just seemed like a cost cut somewhere and unnecessary.
I really could not complain as it only cost us £163.00GBP for our 5 night stay for two including our room, so really goodvalue via lowcost beds, and package booked with Lowcost Holidays + transfers
Good 50% discount at the bar Happy Hour, (8 till 9pm)but be aware, watch the queue near the 9 o'clock finish time as they dont seem to serve in an orderly fashion and you can miss out rather easily, even though you have stood for 10 minutes, also happy hour is conveniently on during dinner times and soft drinks are not included in the offer,suited us as were only B&B.
The Hotel is really a nice place to stay, check in/out was easy, we did not use the pool but would think that it could be difficult to get a sunbed in the summer season as it isn't too big an area, nor too big a pool.
Aircon in all rooms but we never needed to use it at all.
prices in Quateira varied, we found a nice little bar on the main street just down from the bus station-wine and a beer for 2 euro 20 cts, in the hotel 5.50 euros, I had a super bock stout which was really nice, and a change from the lager.
As we were just off season, not everywhere was open as yet, but we did manage to eat out every night and food found to be of a good standard.
Oh, also during our stay there were a number of Portugese Pensioners, who I am led to believe were subsidised by the government for their stay, whilst most were fairly pleasant, one of them had the audacity to pull up an older english guest for filling 2 cups of tea as it was holding him up, he failed to notice that the portugese lady behind him also had 2 cups to fill, only glad he didnt pull me for it !!
I would return, but only for a short break and not as a main holiday destination.
Take a walk into Villamoua Harbour, nice for a day out, we also took a bus into Old Albufiera,If you keep on the bus to the Terminus then it is a bit of a walk down to the square,the streets will only take cars and not buses, I would recomment the 3.25 Euro taxi fare(fixed cost) there and back as you could end up walking further than necessary if you dont know the way down, and it is uphill on the way back, so reasonable if there are 4 people sharing.
Bus fare for 2 was 16.40 Euro return, so about 4 euro e/w p/p.
I heard you can buy a 5 day ticket for travel, so may be woth looking into if you intend to get about by bus and not taxi all the time.
All in all, would recommend this hotel if staying in Quateira, but can only speak for B&B as we did not eat lunch or dinner here which we could have done for a discounted price of 13 euro p/p but it was a buffet so did not bother.
I have been several times now to the Algarve and really have never been disappointed yet !!
we also booked a return airport taxi transfer via yellowfish, they were very efficient all round, it was about a 20-25 minute journey from the airport if you miss rush hour traffic.
OverallI found local people to be friendly and helpful most of the time.

Room Tip: sea view is a must as some rooms to the rear look onto a back street, but it is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Weedode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

The Hotel Dom Jose has all the qualties you need for a stay in the Algarve. Lovely refurbished hotel, friendly and helpful staff, ideal views (if you have a balcony) of the pomenade and sea/beach, great room size if you have superior balcony sea view room, modern bathroom and the towels were changed/room cleaned everyday.

The price was great for the off season period and included a buffet breakfast each morning. The breakfast was mainly scrambled eggs, bacon, beans, mushrooms, tomatoes, selections of cold meats, breads and breakfast cereals. You also have unlimited juices and tea and coffee.

If you choose to have dinner at the hotel, it is also a buffet option but in my opinion, very pricey at 30 Euros per person.

You have to pay for wi-fi but if you buy a voucher for say 24 hours (10 Euros), you can use it intermittently as and when you need to either from your mobile phone or from the pc in the reception and log out when you've finished. It doesn't run continuously so when you log on again, it counts down from when you last used it.

There are lots of restaurants a stones throw away and a big supermarket nearby. Happy hour in the hotel is between 8pm and 9pm.

My only negative comment is that the superior sea view room had twin beds instead of a double. Not exactly romantic for a couple!

Overall, as my heading says, ideal for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room as these come with balconies. A superior sea view room is bigger than a stan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DebsMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Hard to beat the price and location (right on the beach and restaurant strip in Quartiera - a bit of a seniors' travel hangout though in low season). Good place to stay if you are flying in or out of Faro and have a vehicle. Lots of street parking, but GPS could not take us to the hotel directly - follow the signs on the street around the back of several buildings!

The hotel was bright and clean, if a bit lacking on finishing detail. The room was small compared to all the other places we stayed at, so I would not recommend staying here too long. The beds were hard; certainly the worst of all the places we stayed. The bathroom was small, but uniquely laid out. At least the shower stall was a decent size, and hair dryers were provided.

Breakfast had lots of options. Not the best we had, but still decent. I had to leave super early in the morning for my flight, and the hotel provided me with drinks, sandwiches, and fruit to take with me.

My big warning is about the wifi here. You have to pay, which is fine considering how inexpensive the rooms are. However, the data transfer rates are terrible! At best, it was as fast as 56k dial-up. Not worth the 10 EURO for 24 hours unless you absolutely need a connection and are willing to be very patient.

Room Tip: Beach view certainly helped offset the small rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caeisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

A lovely hotel. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean and if you have a sea view room ( a must) the views are fantastic. The small pool and surrounding area is very sheltered and a real suntrap in February.We like quiet holidays and in February it was perfect. The walk along the promenade leads you to a small town and you can walk further to Vilamoura and the upmarket marina. In the other direction you can walk along the promenade and then onto a beautiful beach towards Val da Lobo. The food is good and freshly cooked . There was a good variation in the evening buffet. Always a fish option in the dinner buffet and the fish was always cooked well. Lovely location off season.

Room Tip: Sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbg47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

I recommend yellowfish taxi for your transfer to this great hotel.The drivers all speak english and you receive a gift for return journey.The hotel has great sea views and is a stones throw from the beach.The staff and food is excellent.

Room Tip: pick a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I was a solo traveller and was thrilled with the seafront location and stunning sunsets, definitly go for a sea view!Great staff, helpful and friiendly, fab location for flat walks and buses. Recommend coffee and cake at the chantilly pastelaria just around the corner up side steet.Food good,may want to take own instant coffee for breakfast and a kettle, supermaket close by.Very comfy chairs in lounge and on sea view terrace. Bright clean hotel. will visit again, Great value for money. Thank you Dom Jose!
Jackie. Liverpool feb 12

Room Tip: room 702 5th floor sea view was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqueline789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quarteira
2.0 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,795 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
4.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Jose Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Jose Beach Hotel

Property: Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Address: Avenida Infante de Sagres, 143, Quarteira 8125-157, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Quarteira
#8 Family Hotel in Quarteira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Jose Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dom Jose Beach Hotel in Quarteira/Vilamoura totally renewed is one of the most well located in the Algarve, with beachfront location and an absolutely beautiful view over the deep blue Atlantic Ocean. Just 20 minutes from Faro International Airport and 5 minutes from Vilamoura. In front of the Hotel, a long promenade invites you to a healthy walk and sightseeing and access to the famous Vilamoura Marina. Enjoy the good local restaurants with typical food of the region. The Hotel offers 154 modern rooms, all with elegant design, colours and modern furniture combined with oak wood flooring, are also equipped with air conditioning, TV LCD, wireless internet, direct dial telephone, safety box and private bathroom with amenities and hairdryer. Guests staying at the Dom Jose Beach Hotel can enjoy the following facilities: Restaurant, Bar, Meeting Rooms, Gym, Wireless in public areas, a panoramic Minigolf (with 9 holes) available on the 4th floor, outside swimming pool with wooden deck and Hotel Beach Area with beds and shades (extra, only in high season). Only a few minutes away from the Hotel, there are different sports and recreational facilities: championship golf courses within the areas of Vilamoura (3 km), Quinta do Lago (6 km), Vale do Lobo (6 km) and Vila Sol (2 km), Vilamoura's Casino (2 km), Tennis Courts, Fishing, Rental of Boats and Sightseeing Cruises, Diving School, Horse Riding, Marina, Surfing and Wind Surf. Dom Jose Beach Hotel offers quality and variety of services. Enjoy the hospitality and location of a completely renewed Hotel. Discover the Algarve! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dom Jose Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Jose Quarteira
Dom Jose Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing