We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best value for money hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Just got back from Quarteira, we stayed at the Dom Jose Beach Hotel from 7th to 17th May 2012. This hotel cost us £20 per night each for Bed and Breakfast, balcony and sea view - we have stayed in 5* hotels that were not a patch on this! The place was spotlessly clean, the staff were friendly, especially a younger Blonde girl who couldn't do enough for you- the pictures you can see on the internet show it as it really is! it had air conditioning and the view of the Beach was wonderful. I give it nine out of ten - now, nowhere is perfect and they give you a form at the end of your stay to put in comments on how it could be improved, mine were a) not enough drawer space in the bedrooms, b) the pool was not policed enough you had ALL nationalities putting towels on beds and going out for the day - that is it the only complaints I could muster up! Latte was 1.20E, and the lunchtime meals were around 4E Yes we will be going again!. Quarteira itself is a Portugese village/town and there is not a lot to do and a bit tired but if you fancy a chill out with the odd walk we strongly recommend it - as to eating be careful ask for the best Restaurants as it does vary greatly - our favourites were Bom Bems, Alphonso's, Nosso's in Almancil, and our overall favourite was a little restaurant one street back, come out of the Hotel walk left until you hit a ramp go down the alley way and it is facing you on the left hand corner once you have walked through the alleyway, forgot to get the name! Ask for Alexandra to know you are in the right place. Great Hotel, Great Weather, Great Time! I don't think this is particularly a child friendly hotel but suits everyone else.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th to 7th floor give you better views and you are high enough up to be away from any n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somersetpoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,183 - 1,189 of 1,678 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

Refurbished in 2011 it looks good. But on closer inspection it has been undertaken on a low budget. In the room we were had for ten days the electrical fittings were beginning to come off the wall.
No thought has been given to the storage of clothes, one wardrobe, no draws in the bedside tables or the desk. This is the only place i have had to stack things on the solitary chair in a room for two.
The house keeping leaves a lot to be desired. No soap for three days (we went and purchased our own). The shower was very very small and was not cleaned properly. The lifts i dont think were cleaned during the 10 days we were there.
The food is OK but it would seem is on a three day cycle when the same menus are presented.
No obvious vegetarian options.
The only plus for this Hotel is its proximity to the beach and for that you pay a premium.
The entertainment is limited to average keyboard players on some nights.
The staff are reasonable but most have been there too long and as a result have gotten to comfotable in their roles and do not seem to really understand what good customer service means. The front desk dosn't always give the same answer to queries and hense it becomes tiresome to book visits to places of interest.

As far at its star rating it is nearer to 2 than three.

We will not be satying there again but we will stay at one the many other establishments in Quarteria.

Room Tip: The only tip is that you will have to pay a lot more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Manager at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for your comments about the Hotel and we regret that your stay has not been satisfactory.
The satisfaction of our Clients it is very important for us and to know your opinion helps us to ensure the improvement of the quality of our services.
We took note of all your comments and we will do our best to correct all the mentioned points.
We hope to receive you again in Dom José Beach Hotel in a very near future.
Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Just enjoyed 5 days at the Dom Jose. The beach view from our 6th floor room was excellent. Service throughout the hotel is good with very friendly and helpful staff. Bar and terrace areas are kept immaculate. Thanks for a great holiday.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We have just returned today from a our holiday at the Dom Jose Hotel and would certainly go back! The hotel is exceptionally clean and the rooms are more like a 4* than a 3*. We had a front sea view room on 6th floor and it was worth the extra money to pay for a sea view room. The food was good but they could give more of a selection in the evening. There was one member of the bar staff who was excellent her name was Svetlana she always had a smile for you and nothing was too much trouble for her. Reception staff were also very friendly and spoke very good English. The evening entertainment was not good and what we did have was for the older generation. They do not cater for children at all at this hotel, no childrens pool or entertainment at all for them so not a child friendly hotel! or I think in any of the hotels in this area.

Heather McVie

Room Tip: Book a sea view room. Rooms at back of hotel have only a window and do not get the sun durring the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heather m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Excellent location in a quiet area - more geared up for mature folk - fantastic views across the ocean from the sea view rooms - well equipped modern rooms which are clean and comfortable - clean and comfortable lounge/bar with a good variety of food on offer - very friendly helpful reception staff - I am a single traveller and always felt comfortable in this hotel.

Room Tip: It is best to go for the sea view room on a high floor but only two lifts is not so good when the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MARGARET P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We realy enjoyed our week at "Don Jose", we had a de luxe sea view room,
the view from our 7th floor room along the coast line was great.
For holidaymakers who want a wonderful promenade and long sandy beach
to stroll along, this is the place to be.
The food and service in the restaurant plus the cleanliness of the hotel was
excellent.

Room Tip: Have a de luxe sea viewe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raynoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Beautiful hotel in brilliant location. Recently refurbished and although rooms are small, they're spotless. Definitely recommend paying a bit extra for sea view (we paid an extra 5 euros a night). Hotel is more geared towards mature folk but we took our 1 year old and received welcoming and exceptional service. A tip which applies worldwide really is on order to avoid inflated prices visit the restaurants/cafes that are slightly inland as some on the seafront are v expensive (we paid 12 euros for a prawn cocktail starter that just wasn't worth it!) I would definitely go back to the Dom Jose hotel maybe without children next time!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisdeleau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quarteira
2 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,774 reviews
3.9 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Jose Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Jose Beach Hotel

Address: Avenida Infante de Sagres 143, Quarteira 8125-157, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Quarteira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quarteira
Price Range: £21 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Jose Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dom Jose Beach Hotel in Quarteira/Vilamoura totally renewed is one of the most well located in the Algarve, with beachfront location and an absolutely beautiful view over the deep blue Atlantic Ocean. Just 20 minutes from Faro International Airport and 5 minutes from Vilamoura. In front of the Hotel, a long promenade invites you to a healthy walk and sightseeing and access to the famous Vilamoura Marina. Enjoy the good local restaurants with typical food of the region. The Hotel offers 154 modern rooms, all with elegant design, colours and modern furniture combined with oak wood flooring, are also equipped with air conditioning, TV LCD, wireless internet, direct dial telephone, safety box and private bathroom with amenities and hairdryer. Guests staying at the Dom Jose Beach Hotel can enjoy the following facilities: Restaurant, Bar, Meeting Rooms, Gym, Wireless in public areas, a panoramic Minigolf (with 9 holes) available on the 4th floor, outside swimming pool with wooden deck and Hotel Beach Area with beds and shades (extra, only in high season). Only a few minutes away from the Hotel, there are different sports and recreational facilities: championship golf courses within the areas of Vilamoura (3 km), Quinta do Lago (6 km), Vale do Lobo (6 km) and Vila Sol (2 km), Vilamoura's Casino (2 km), Tennis Courts, Fishing, Rental of Boats and Sightseeing Cruises, Diving School, Horse Riding, Marina, Surfing and Wind Surf. Dom Jose Beach Hotel offers quality and variety of services. Enjoy the hospitality and location of a completely renewed Hotel. Discover the Algarve! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, TravelUp, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dom Jose Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Jose Quarteira
Dom Jose Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing