We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“couldn't ask for more” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dom Jose Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Quarteira
Certificate of Excellence
derbyshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“couldn't ask for more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

we love Portugal and have visited Albufeira many times and prefer the old town to the strip, however on this occasion were only able to manage 5 days so opted for a shorter commute (25mins) and booked Dom Jose in Quarteira. Stunning!

Having read the reviews we still were not expecting too much from a 3* but we couldn't fault it.
We were allocated an inland room on the 7th floor, couldn't fault it or the bathroom, but, there was no balcony. So we went back to reception and paid 8euros per day to change to 701 a seaview room with balcony, perfect! room, bathroom, view,air con, easily 4*.

Pool - small but adequate, good sunbeds, parasols, a couple of tables n chairs.

Bar/lounge - spotless, comfortable, air con inside, sheltered out.

Reception - polite, helpful and English speaking.

Food - Not the largest choice we've ever seen, but, hot, fresh, plentiful and tasty.
Breakfast was cereals, fruit, breads, cold meats & cheese, then either scrambled eggs, sausages tomatoes beans or fried eggs, bacon & tomatoes.
Evening meal was soup, bread, salads, then a cpl of meat choices, fish, pasta or rice and veg and potatoes. In 5 nights we had chips only once and I thought that was a staple of hotel food.

Draught lager is 3 euros a pint but with happy hour between 8 n 9 it drops to 1.5euros!

Breakfast is served from 7.30 but our pick up was 7.15 on the last day, so when I paid my bill on the last night I asked if we could get a coffee in the morning, they said no but would leave some water or juice for us. When we handed in the key in the morning there were 2 pack-ups waiting for us, bottled water, orange juice, 2ham n 2 cheese sandwiches and an apple each, only wanted a drink :)

Quarteira itself was bigger than we expected, quiet, clean and safe with fabulous beaches.
Villamoura is a 20/30 min walk away, with a lovely marina, and a plentiful array of bars, hotels and restaurants. A lovely day out and fine for a drink or a snack but remember the credit card if you want to drink the champers or perhaps charter a boat.

Will definately be back.

Room Tip: Choose seaview for a balcony, the higher the better for the view. We had 701 which was an end room s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank frankiwid99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    694
    580
    134
    30
    19
See reviews for
273
828
78
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (658)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Excellent Hotel and great location, situated across a promenade from a great beach.
Staff very friendly especially Fernando on reception who could not do enough for you.

Light and airy reception and bar area.

Even though hotel was full for the week we were there there was never a fuss or bother.
Food selection could be better but there was always something to would suit your taste.

Pool area well maintained, number of beds limited but nothing can be done about this as the hotel is restricted by space.

Entertainment on 3 nights which was easily listening.

Quite area , good walks Quarteira itself is non commercialised with good restaurants, bus station close to hotel if you want to explore further.

Definitely recommend this hotel and hopefully will go back next year.

Room Tip: Delux Sea view room recommended preferably high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank clonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Just got back from Quarteira, we stayed at the Dom Jose Beach Hotel from 7th to 17th May 2012. This hotel cost us £20 per night each for Bed and Breakfast, balcony and sea view - we have stayed in 5* hotels that were not a patch on this! The place was spotlessly clean, the staff were friendly, especially a younger Blonde girl who couldn't do enough for you- the pictures you can see on the internet show it as it really is! it had air conditioning and the view of the Beach was wonderful. I give it nine out of ten - now, nowhere is perfect and they give you a form at the end of your stay to put in comments on how it could be improved, mine were a) not enough drawer space in the bedrooms, b) the pool was not policed enough you had ALL nationalities putting towels on beds and going out for the day - that is it the only complaints I could muster up! Latte was 1.20E, and the lunchtime meals were around 4E Yes we will be going again!. Quarteira itself is a Portugese village/town and there is not a lot to do and a bit tired but if you fancy a chill out with the odd walk we strongly recommend it - as to eating be careful ask for the best Restaurants as it does vary greatly - our favourites were Bom Bems, Alphonso's, Nosso's in Almancil, and our overall favourite was a little restaurant one street back, come out of the Hotel walk left until you hit a ramp go down the alley way and it is facing you on the left hand corner once you have walked through the alleyway, forgot to get the name! Ask for Alexandra to know you are in the right place. Great Hotel, Great Weather, Great Time! I don't think this is particularly a child friendly hotel but suits everyone else.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th to 7th floor give you better views and you are high enough up to be away from any n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank somersetpoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Refurbished in 2011 it looks good. But on closer inspection it has been undertaken on a low budget. In the room we were had for ten days the electrical fittings were beginning to come off the wall.
No thought has been given to the storage of clothes, one wardrobe, no draws in the bedside tables or the desk. This is the only place i have had to stack things on the solitary chair in a room for two.
The house keeping leaves a lot to be desired. No soap for three days (we went and purchased our own). The shower was very very small and was not cleaned properly. The lifts i dont think were cleaned during the 10 days we were there.
The food is OK but it would seem is on a three day cycle when the same menus are presented.
No obvious vegetarian options.
The only plus for this Hotel is its proximity to the beach and for that you pay a premium.
The entertainment is limited to average keyboard players on some nights.
The staff are reasonable but most have been there too long and as a result have gotten to comfotable in their roles and do not seem to really understand what good customer service means. The front desk dosn't always give the same answer to queries and hense it becomes tiresome to book visits to places of interest.

As far at its star rating it is nearer to 2 than three.

We will not be satying there again but we will stay at one the many other establishments in Quarteria.

Room Tip: The only tip is that you will have to pay a lot more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Manager at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for your comments about the Hotel and we regret that your stay has not been satisfactory.
The satisfaction of our Clients it is very important for us and to know your opinion helps us to ensure the improvement of the quality of our services.
We took note of all your comments and we will do our best to correct all the mentioned points.
We hope to receive you again in Dom José Beach Hotel in a very near future.
Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Just enjoyed 5 days at the Dom Jose. The beach view from our 6th floor room was excellent. Service throughout the hotel is good with very friendly and helpful staff. Bar and terrace areas are kept immaculate. Thanks for a great holiday.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

We have just returned today from a our holiday at the Dom Jose Hotel and would certainly go back! The hotel is exceptionally clean and the rooms are more like a 4* than a 3*. We had a front sea view room on 6th floor and it was worth the extra money to pay for a sea view room. The food was good but they could give more of a selection in the evening. There was one member of the bar staff who was excellent her name was Svetlana she always had a smile for you and nothing was too much trouble for her. Reception staff were also very friendly and spoke very good English. The evening entertainment was not good and what we did have was for the older generation. They do not cater for children at all at this hotel, no childrens pool or entertainment at all for them so not a child friendly hotel! or I think in any of the hotels in this area.

Heather McVie

Room Tip: Book a sea view room. Rooms at back of hotel have only a window and do not get the sun durring the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heather m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Excellent location in a quiet area - more geared up for mature folk - fantastic views across the ocean from the sea view rooms - well equipped modern rooms which are clean and comfortable - clean and comfortable lounge/bar with a good variety of food on offer - very friendly helpful reception staff - I am a single traveller and always felt comfortable in this hotel.

Room Tip: It is best to go for the sea view room on a high floor but only two lifts is not so good when the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MARGARET P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quarteira
0.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 37 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 37 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#5 of 37 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,734 reviews
4.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Jose Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Jose Beach Hotel

Property: Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Address: Avenida Infante de Sagres, 143, Quarteira 8125-157, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Quarteira
#8 Family Hotel in Quarteira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Jose Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dom Jose Beach Hotel in Quarteira/Vilamoura totally renewed is one of the most well located in the Algarve, with beachfront location and an absolutely beautiful view over the deep blue Atlantic Ocean. Just 20 minutes from Faro International Airport and 5 minutes from Vilamoura. In front of the Hotel, a long promenade invites you to a healthy walk and sightseeing and access to the famous Vilamoura Marina. Enjoy the good local restaurants with typical food of the region. The Hotel offers 154 modern rooms, all with elegant design, colours and modern furniture combined with oak wood flooring, are also equipped with air conditioning, TV LCD, wireless internet, direct dial telephone, safety box and private bathroom with amenities and hairdryer. Guests staying at the Dom Jose Beach Hotel can enjoy the following facilities: Restaurant, Bar, Meeting Rooms, Gym, Wireless in public areas, a panoramic Minigolf (with 9 holes) available on the 4th floor, outside swimming pool with wooden deck and Hotel Beach Area with beds and shades (extra, only in high season). Only a few minutes away from the Hotel, there are different sports and recreational facilities: championship golf courses within the areas of Vilamoura (3 km), Quinta do Lago (6 km), Vale do Lobo (6 km) and Vila Sol (2 km), Vilamoura's Casino (2 km), Tennis Courts, Fishing, Rental of Boats and Sightseeing Cruises, Diving School, Horse Riding, Marina, Surfing and Wind Surf. Dom Jose Beach Hotel offers quality and variety of services. Enjoy the hospitality and location of a completely renewed Hotel. Discover the Algarve! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Dom Jose Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Jose Quarteira
Dom Jose Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing