We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

A great little find. Top quality 3* hotel, newly refurbished and modern. Literally a stone's throw away from the beach. Wonderful views from the 7th floor sea facing rooms. Quiet location but plenty of restaurants within walking distance along the promenade.

Pool area well kept but small, however people do not seem to want to overcrowd the pool as beach is so near. Comfortable, good quality sunloungers but towels are not provided. It's a shame that despite having their own private beach, Dom José charge guests €12 for the use of two sunbeds and a parasol on the beach. If this were free, not only would more people use the facilities but would also solve the problem of sunbed booking/lack of sunloungers around the pool at peak times.

Breakfast is fine with juice, good coffee, variety of hot and cold choices. Fresh sliced oranges each morning and alternating fresh watermelon or pineapple. Peaches are tinned. Bacon and Frankfurter sausages are also alternated each morning.

Happy hour at bar each evening from 8pm - 9pm which is excellent value. €1.75 for a beer. Beautiful, well appointed terrace to sit at outside and watch the world go by as the sun sets.

No fridge in the rooms and this is missed but the bar are willing to provide you with glasses of ice to take up to your room.

Room Tip: Request/Book a sea view facing room on the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lallyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    749
    618
    144
    31
    21
See reviews for
296
887
85
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (695)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We've spent only 3 days in Dom Jose in the begining of June 2012. The hotel was clean and fresh. Staff helpful and English speaking. Breakfast didn't have massive choice of foods but still good quality and enough. There was hot food, continental, fruit and cereal. We also had lunch (for about 5-10 euros per person including drinks) and it was fresh and tasty. The room we had was decent size, facing the ocean, we had deep sleep listening to the waves. Quarteira seemed to be a quiet place, good for older people or young families. Plenty of fish restaurants and icecream shops with snacks for just 3 euros, dinner between 15-30 per person depending what you order and how much you like to drink. We recommend Vilamoura Marina (return bus 4.40) if you like to look at boats, go for a boat trip and get gifts. 3h cruise roud the coast was 16 euros but you can get all sorts of things including all day beach picnics and shark fishing. It is a good idea to go on the boat beacuse you can see yellow and red cliffs while in Quarteira there is just flat beach (but lovely and sundy).

Room Tip: deluxe ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Covaksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

DO NOT under any circumstances be put off by any negative comments relating to this hotel. Most of the negative comments I read are very specific to people’s opinions as to what 3 star accommodations is, or should be. Let’s be honest 3 star is "middle of the road" and you get what you pay for. Let me just stay, when not on holiday, I am a business traveller and this hotel is "punching way below its weight" and should be boasting 4 / 5 star accommodation at 3 star prices.
Stayed here for 5 nights from the 3rd June 2012 until the 8th June. For a start the reception was busy on arrival... I like to see that, if the hotel is busy, it’s popular. Once checked in our room was not ready as we had arrived at 12.30pm but reception happily let us put our bags in a secure room on the ground floor.
We pre-booked and paid for a room with a sea view for less than £230 for 2 people for 5 nights, which included breakfast. (if you prebook your guaranteed the sea view if chosen) ...... bargain !!!
I am not going to go into a blow by blow account of how our stay went but let me just summarise and say that the location to the beach was exceptional, the hotel was extremely clean and the breakfast was everything you could want. As I said before things like this is I think are very much a "personal opinion", I just eat continental breakfast like fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, cold meats, cheeses and fresh bread, so that ticked that box, as for cooked breakfast, couldn't comment.... Didn't eat an evening meal at the hotel but snacked at lunch time and was very good, 2 very big smoked salmon salads and 2 glasses of wine for 17 euro.. Very good.
The only thing I could say is the sunbed thing... it doesn't bother me, but pay 12 euro for two beds and a shade, on a beach especially for guests, I think is good value. You could just have the beds, no shade for 4 euro's each. This is all day from 8 ish in the morning till 7pm, I guess it’s just what you choose to do with your day, but being 10 metres from the hotel and all the amenities for us it worked.
In my opinion you could listen to all comments but just consider this, if you want accommodation that works out at less than £23 per person for B&B in a 4 star hotel, 15 meters from the beach and a bit of peace and quiet... book it. Happy holidays ;-)

Room Tip: Book in advance and get a sea view, trust me you will not be disapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
4 Thank stephen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The website of the Dom Jose beach hotel gives a more glamorous impression than the reality. The renovated hotel is looks good, a bit business like. Nothing fancy or romantic. The staff is also quite business like, doesn't give you a warm welcome. Weird that there are no beach towels available for hotel guests that want to go to the beach. Chairs and umbrella at the beach cost extra, also for hotel guests.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room on the higher floors. At the back, rooms can be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Featherfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The location of this hotel was wonderful..you walk out the hotel and the beach is right there. I went 2nd to 7th June. The water was obviously cold as it's the Atlantic but that didn't matter as it was 33 degrees. To hire the sunloungers, it is 6 euros per person per day which is a bit pricey so if you don't want to pay, take your own parasol, deck chairs etc The hotel had the cleanliness of a 4 star hotel. Rooms are cleaned everyday. The rooms are small but ok..the bed was very hard though!...there weren't any sea view rooms available but it didn't matter...we even had bbc 1 in our room so got to see bits of the queen's jubilee celebrations! Breakfast in the mornings was quite varied, cold meats, continental and a hot breakfast consisting of eggs, bacon, beans, mushrooms, sausages, toast...Villamoura is a 25min walk from the hotel for those who want more of a nightlife...Quarteira is for people who want to chill out and relax without the noise of partygoers..there is a market every Wednesday but it's advisable to get a taxi there which is about 5 euros rather than walking as it can be a 40 min walk. Overall, a good hotel and nice friendly staff, would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rav1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Stayed with my partner for a week in June (Jubilee week). Booked it last minute via Expedia and wasn't expecting too much as it we just wanted a sunshine break. What a surprise!! I have travelled all over the world and stayed in far worse three star hotels than this one. I have lots to say...

Hotel - refurbished in Jan 2011. It has a modern contemporary decor. Staff are friendly enough and have a good grasp of English although using a few Portuguese words is always welcomed. Set right on the beachfront the hotel has the best location in the area.Beware as there are no iron/ironing boards provided in the rooms and they don't bring one to you either. Use the laundry service (3 Euros per item), bring your own iron or wear slightly creased clothes!

Hotel room - we were in room 120 with a seaview. I booked a double room, but do check your booking before flying as when we arrived it was somehow a twin room - this was rectified the next day. Not overly large, but clean and tidy (take some spare clothes hangers). The bathroom was lovely all modern fixtures and fittings including a bidet!, large shower and good water pressure. Air conditioning really worked and the view over the pool and beach was fantastic!

Hotel food - we only stayed B+B. Breakfast was plentiful; from fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals to scrambled eggs, bacon and beans and delicious bread on offer! Reports from other holidaymakers staying half board said the buffet food was really good. We ate from the bar menu most lunchtimes and a couple of dinners. Cannot complain at all. I suffer with a senstive stomach but everything was very well prepared and cooked. Try the salmon (smoked) salad, feta salad, breaded chicken and omelettes.

Hotel Location - as above, fantastic location right on the beachfront. The hotel has a small pool but with the beach and sea right there - why would you choose to sit by the pool?! Hotel is about 20-25 mns walk from main resort of Vilamoura. The walk is fine to do in the evening with the sun setting and the breeze welcoming. A taxi ride is about 5 mins and costs 6 Euros each way. Also a parasol and two loungers with cushions diretly in front of the hotel costs 6 Euros each per day. There are other slightly cheaper we discovered.

Evenings out - not much in Quarteira really as the marina at Vilamoura is the main draw and Albufeira is about 40 mins away. Dom Jose has a happy hour between 8pm and 9pm. Do try Barolo bar (5 mins from the hotel along the promenade towards Vilamoura on the right) for tapas and drinks - the food is really good. We were recommended Fantasia bar for but didn't go (opposite direction to Vilamoura). Stroll the promenade in the evenings with the locals.

In Vilamoura - try the Mayflower for drinks and people watching, eat at Ostra Doura for authentic Portuguese food - beware of the large beers though! Also try Il Trio for fab iltalian meal (opposite taxi rank - very handy).

We did one excursion, Scenic Algarve, which was okay but a very long day with a pick up at 7.40am and return at 8.30pm! We didn't stop anywhere long enough to get a true sense of the Algarve which was a shame.

Overall, we loved the hotel and it is definitely at the top end of 3 stars. We would go back for another relaxing in the sun holiday. Anyone with mobility issues would also enjoy this hotel as it certainly catered for those in need.

Room Tip: Book a high floor with a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catfriend2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012 via mobile

We were on edge from the start of our stay when, as a lay for a good night's sleep, the broken shard of a mattress spring stuck through my skin. As we tore the sheets off the bed we saw a mangled husk of a mattress that had easily seen 20 years hard service. My partner's was similar but to a lesser degree. After some negotiating the mattresses were replaced with new models. I was shocked that the hotel wasn't so embarrassed by the state of it they didn't offer to upgrade us! Not their style.

The breakfast was as expected from a shaky two-star hotel. The eggs were rubbery, bacon thin and very greasy and sausages salty and grim. The breads and pastries were ok and the fruit (that wasn't tinned) was very tasty.

When we came to leave there was no chance of a late checkout and no shower room to clean up in. So late leavers beware.

All in all, relatively mediocre.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinExists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quarteira
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
2.0 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,049 reviews
4.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,036 reviews
24.4 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Jose Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Jose Beach Hotel

Property: Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Address: Avenida Infante de Sagres 143, Quarteira 8125-157, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Quarteira
#8 Family Hotel in Quarteira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Jose Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dom Jose Beach Hotel in Quarteira/Vilamoura totally renewed is one of the most well located in the Algarve, with beachfront location and an absolutely beautiful view over the deep blue Atlantic Ocean. Just 20 minutes from Faro International Airport and 5 minutes from Vilamoura. In front of the Hotel, a long promenade invites you to a healthy walk and sightseeing and access to the famous Vilamoura Marina. Enjoy the good local restaurants with typical food of the region. The Hotel offers 154 modern rooms, all with elegant design, colours and modern furniture combined with oak wood flooring, are also equipped with air conditioning, TV LCD, wireless internet, direct dial telephone, safety box and private bathroom with amenities and hairdryer. Guests staying at the Dom Jose Beach Hotel can enjoy the following facilities: Restaurant, Bar, Meeting Rooms, Gym, Wireless in public areas, a panoramic Minigolf (with 9 holes) available on the 4th floor, outside swimming pool with wooden deck and Hotel Beach Area with beds and shades (extra, only in high season). Only a few minutes away from the Hotel, there are different sports and recreational facilities: championship golf courses within the areas of Vilamoura (3 km), Quinta do Lago (6 km), Vale do Lobo (6 km) and Vila Sol (2 km), Vilamoura's Casino (2 km), Tennis Courts, Fishing, Rental of Boats and Sightseeing Cruises, Diving School, Horse Riding, Marina, Surfing and Wind Surf. Dom Jose Beach Hotel offers quality and variety of services. Enjoy the hospitality and location of a completely renewed Hotel. Discover the Algarve! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Dom Jose Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Jose Quarteira
Dom Jose Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing