We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“revisit.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2013

This is our third visit to dom jose in the last eighteen months and everything is as before first class service and spotlessly clean.This time i emailed the hotel to ask whether they could supply any gluten free food for my wife,received email back stating they would and just to mention it on the booking request. At breakfast gluten free bread was waiting along with cearials and other goodies.Nothing is to much trouble for the staff, but the best thing is to go and try it for yourself.

Room Tip: Front seaview rooms a must to enjoy the beach and promanade views well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christopher h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,015 - 1,021 of 1,678 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013

Everything in the hotel was excellent. The service was really good, the staff all really friendly and helpful. Everything was very clean and the restaurant was good value with great food. The only fault is the lack of free wi-fi!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamesT909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
We thank you for your kind comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.
The opinion of our Guests it is very important for us, as we always try to improve the quality of our services and to provide to our visitors a pleasant stay.
We hope to welcome you again in Dom José Beach Hotel very soon.

Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We spent 5 days here - chosen off Tripadvisor. We like a quiet. chilled hotel. If we want entertainment or thrills and spills then we don't want them in the place we sleep and relax! So if you want a lively place with loads of youngsters then this is not the hotel for you!
However if you want a clean, spotless hotel with a small pool, sea views and a pleasant lounge then this is the place for you!
Breakfast was good with loads of choice - 5 cereals, 6 hot dishes, 4 kinds of fruit, 4 types of bread and the usual cheese, meat etc. Prices in the bar were also very reasonable and there is a happy hour every day.
Staff were pleasant and helpful and our superior room for three adults was large.
For the price we paid, it's the best hotel for the money (and we have stayed in loads!)

Room Tip: Pay extra for sea view and ask for a room higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathKmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
We thank you for your kind comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.
The opinion of our Guests it is very important for us, as we always try to improve the quality of our services and to provide to our visitors a pleasant stay.
We hope to welcome you again in Dom José Beach Hotel very soon.

Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Stayed 4 nights in dom jose hotel over easter.Weather not great but could have been worse.The hotel is the cleanest i have ever stayed in,well done cleaners.Breakfast was ok bacon eggs sausages ham cheese and plenty of fruit.We were half board and meals were good maybe after a week you might get a bit feed up but we enjoyed the food,in the dining room tables are very close to one and other.We went to Villamoura by bus one day and one day we walked about 25 mins,its a lovely place with all the boats, a taxi costs about 6euro.We went to albufeira by bus it cost 17.50 for 2 people.If going there get off bus in city near Brisa Sol hotel other wise you will end up at bus station a long way away.Also at Brisa sol is a great cake shop.Dom Jose has a lot of older people staying . Entertainment at night was not great but happy hour 8.30 -9.30 helped.All in all we had a great time and would go back again.

Room Tip: Room at front facing beach is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ballymaguigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
We thank you for your kind comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.
The opinion of our Guests it is very important for us, as we always try to improve the quality of our services and to provide to our visitors a pleasant stay.
We hope to welcome you again in Dom José Beach Hotel very soon.

Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Hotel Dom Jose was great for a relaxing break. Fabulous position overlooking the beach. Clean and comfortable. Food was hot and tasty. Great to watch the sunsets from the hotel terrace. Nice walks along the promenade into Vilamoura. Weather not brilliant but did not spoil our holiday experience. All staff extremely friendly and helpful. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 913denisel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
We thank you for your kind comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.
The opinion of our Guests it is very important for us, as we always try to improve the quality of our services and to provide to our visitors a pleasant stay.
We hope to welcome you again in Dom José Beach Hotel very soon.

Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Beautifully decorated and in fantastic condition, rooms were spotless, staff great, location perfect for the beach and as a base for exploring. The breakfast was excellent, lots of choice and well prepared. Great walk along the promenade to Villamoura Marina. Recommend hiring bikes to explore a little further afield.

Room Tip: As vegetarians we did not take the evening meals at the hotel as there wasn't much for veggies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
We thank you for your kind comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.
The opinion of our Guests it is very important for us, as we always try to improve the quality of our services and to provide to our visitors a pleasant stay.
We hope to welcome you again in Dom José Beach Hotel very soon.

Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at Dom Jose for Easter Weekend 2013 and our overall view was very poor.

Below is our detailed opinion of the place:

BADS

• If you are young couples and outgoing, this place is not ideal for you.
• If you are old couples and just want a quiet stay with no activity this is the place for you.
• The hotel entertainment was absolutely disgraceful. In fact there was none (repetitive and bad karaoke every other night)
• Absolutely no place for tourist information, i.e. no boards showing any activities you can do or any place you can go visit in the area. (that’s maybe because there isn’t many activity in Quarteira)
• Trust my review and many others. The Food could be very bad, very repetitive again! The menu repeats every 2 nights. During our 4 nights stay the soup did not change (they kept adding a different vegetable to the same liquid)
• For a country with loads of fresh fruit serving a tango orange juice for breakfast is pretty bad.
• Internet access could become very annoying if you are a couple and use iPhones! It’s €10 for 24hours and both of you can’t access it simultaneously. If you have an iphone you can’t log out easily so if you need to use it on another laptop or phone another time it won’t let you (it keeps saying you are already logged in)! Very annoying.
• We booked for Half Board. Hotel does not serve any lunch and you only have an option of buying snacks from the bar. If I would have known that I would go for breakfast only option.

GOODS

• The staff are rather friendly.
• It’s very close to the beach (if the weather’s nice, which wasn’t in our case, this would be ideal for just laying at the beach as there isn’t anything else to do in this area)
• The swimming pool is small but very nice and clean.
• The rooms are generally clean and looks luxurious. We had land view but I’m sure sea-view would have be better.

INDIFFERENT

• Bike rental at the hotel was the only activity we could find. Good to discover surrounding areas (which wasn’t many). Costs €15 per day which is not that bad. You can find cheaper ones in nearby towns for €9 per day.

I’m sure the hotel management will reply to my review and say they have great reviews from other people on tripadviser, however this does not make them a good hotel. I would suggest the management team to respond to all my points above if they have any response. Please also note that even though my points above are true but the hotel is only a 3* hotel so maybe we shouldn’t be expecting more from them. Saying that for the price I paid I would have expected a bit more.

Thanks and Regards,
AK

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shieldsPOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
We thank you for your comments about the Hotel and we regret that your stay has not been satisfactory.
The satisfaction of our Guests it is very important for us and to know your opinion helps us to ensure the improvement of the quality of our services.
We took note of all your comments and we will do our best to correct all the mentioned points.
You can also check other comments on the Hotel and see that there are more positive than negative comments in general.
We hope to receive you again in Dom José Beach Hotel in a very near future.
Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quarteira
2 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,774 reviews
3.9 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Jose Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Jose Beach Hotel

Address: Avenida Infante de Sagres 143, Quarteira 8125-157, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Quarteira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quarteira
Price Range: £21 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Jose Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dom Jose Beach Hotel in Quarteira/Vilamoura totally renewed is one of the most well located in the Algarve, with beachfront location and an absolutely beautiful view over the deep blue Atlantic Ocean. Just 20 minutes from Faro International Airport and 5 minutes from Vilamoura. In front of the Hotel, a long promenade invites you to a healthy walk and sightseeing and access to the famous Vilamoura Marina. Enjoy the good local restaurants with typical food of the region. The Hotel offers 154 modern rooms, all with elegant design, colours and modern furniture combined with oak wood flooring, are also equipped with air conditioning, TV LCD, wireless internet, direct dial telephone, safety box and private bathroom with amenities and hairdryer. Guests staying at the Dom Jose Beach Hotel can enjoy the following facilities: Restaurant, Bar, Meeting Rooms, Gym, Wireless in public areas, a panoramic Minigolf (with 9 holes) available on the 4th floor, outside swimming pool with wooden deck and Hotel Beach Area with beds and shades (extra, only in high season). Only a few minutes away from the Hotel, there are different sports and recreational facilities: championship golf courses within the areas of Vilamoura (3 km), Quinta do Lago (6 km), Vale do Lobo (6 km) and Vila Sol (2 km), Vilamoura's Casino (2 km), Tennis Courts, Fishing, Rental of Boats and Sightseeing Cruises, Diving School, Horse Riding, Marina, Surfing and Wind Surf. Dom Jose Beach Hotel offers quality and variety of services. Enjoy the hospitality and location of a completely renewed Hotel. Discover the Algarve! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dom Jose Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Jose Quarteira
Dom Jose Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing