We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT HOTEL - WOULD GO AGAIN” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dom Jose Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Quarteira
Certificate of Excellence
gwynedd, wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT HOTEL - WOULD GO AGAIN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Just returned from our break at the Dom Jose. Excellent, modern hotel and the best location in Quarteira - as it is literally 15 yards from the beach.
Rooms were very clean and spacious. The reception staff were very helpful and were always willing to book our taxis/restaurants on our behalf. The buffet breakfast is good and a variety of options available. I have a gluten allergy and they provided gluten free bread everyday and showed me which food was suitable from the menus. The evening buffet was quite good and cheap at around 13 euro for 3 course. Drinks were also cheap at the bar especially during the 9-10pm half price happy hour. (we had port, large glass of wine and a pint of lager for 6.40 euros!)
The pool was very nice, clean and in a quiet location.
The only faults we could think of are - that you must pay 14 euros for a deck chair on the beach even if you are staying at the hotel. The aircon is a bit warm and there are no tea and coffee facilities in the rooms - however we are really being nitpicky saying that!! We used towels on the beach and the teas and coffee was cheap at the bar.

Quarteira itself is quite a peaceful town and the bars close at around 12am. If you are looking for some nightlife it's best to head into Vilamoura. Even though we are a young couple, we weren't that bothered and just wanted a quiet break. It's worth visiting Vilamoura during the day to see the marina, shops etc. Buses are cheap there but we liked the 25 min walk along the beach. The sea in Quarteira is quite rough, but we enjoyed diving and getting battered by the waves! It was also a safe area to swim as there were plenty of lifeguards on patrol.

If you like food - you must go to La Cabane restaurant - it is amazing! The food, atmosphere and service was amazing - appetizers, 3 course meal, bottle of wine and lager came at around 60 euros. They also had a free taxi service to take you to the restaurant and back to your hotel.
If you like meat - head to Bem Bom restaurant! It is a Brazilian style restaurant where they serve 15 different meats on skewers and slice the meat at the table - you also have unlimited amount of home made fries, rice, black beans, salad etc. Also very cheap at around 14 euros per meal. The staff there are also great.
If you like cakes head to Pastelaria Beira Mar by the beach. They serve delicious traditional Portugese cakes and ice cream. Well worth a visit.

This was our first time in Portugal and we must say it is a beautiful country and we will definitely be returning. We would recommend this hotel and holiday for couples and families who are looking for a peaceful and relaxing time. If you are young and would like to party - Vilamoura is more up your street but it is only about 5 mins by taxi away from Quarteira. However bare in mind that Vilamoura is a 5 star resort and quiet expensive.

Room Tip: Many say it's worth paying more for a beach view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ffiwillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    580
    134
    30
    19
See reviews for
273
831
78
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Dom Jose Beach Hotel is the best located hotel in Quarteira, step across the prom to beach. Stayed in May for one week. Staff friendly and hotel is very clean. Very relaxing holiday and very good value.
Will return

Mary
D12

Room Tip: Room with sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

When we got there, it looked a bit run down from the outside, but once inside, it looked extremely nice. The reception area was amazing and staff very friendly. The breakfast buffet was great. All types of food and you could have a few trips to the food to replenish your plate. And food was good and varied. The area itself was more suitable for a relaxing holiday. Not a very lively area at night. Also, when getting a taxi from hotel, it took an average of half an hour for it to arrive. So usually the staff organised to share taxis if going in the same direction, which was helpful. Vilamoura was 5 minutes away by taxi and is the place to go for food and night life. Prime restaurant is there, a little pricey, but by far the nicest restaurant there. Meal for 2 averaged at about 100 euro including wine, but extremely nice food and great service. Only two bad points about hotel, firstly, no tea or coffee facilities in room, which I didn't think would be an issue, but nice to have a cuppa when ya get home after a night out. Secondly, the beach area across from the hotel, which is also named dom Jose, charges 14 euro per day for sunbeds for 2. Even though it's connected to hotel. That seemed a bit unfair. But in general, the hotel was extremely nice. Keith. Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zool2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at this well placed hotel. It's an excellent three star hotel, clean, modern, and with some friendly staff who work hard to help you. We were B&b and were happy with the breakfast. We didn't try the evening menu as there were loads of places to eat in the evening. The town is a fishing port so there is a plentiful supply of fish restaurants and lost of fresh fish. If you want nightclubs and rowdy bars then don't come here. If you want a beautiful beach, lots of places to eat, and a relaxing ambience then this rescort is for you. I would have no hesitation in returning this hotel.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here around 3 years ago before the refurbishment and last time we were in a city view room. This time round we upgraded to a seaview room and our first impression was that the room seemed much smaller than the cheaper city view room. In fact we really did feel cramped in the room and although the view is spectacular you can see nothing if you sit down at the table and chairs on the balcony, having to stand up to get the lovely views! There is little storage and drawer space in the room and only a shower, which was disappointing, but I guess you don't spend too much time in the room.

The last time I reviewed this hotel I mentioned that a couple of the Receptionists are quite abrupt and unhelpful. This was the case again, only 2 people spoil it for the rest and the name badges are so small that you cannot read their names! We reported that our hairdryer was not working. The receptionist tried to accuse us of not putting on the side switch, which we had done. Nothing happened so we reported it again in the evening to a different female receptionist - the same thing, had we switched it on properly?!! Again nothing happened. They don't seem to make a note or input problems into the system and it was only by writing a letter with a third request that the problem was resolved and a new hairdryer fitted.

Early check in - no chance. Our flight was changed and we knew we would be arriving at hotel just before 10.00 a.m. We had emailed them well in advance (no acknowledgement) and offered to pay extra to secure the room as we left home at 0230 hours, so were pretty tired. The receptionist (the same one who we had first reported the hairdryer problem) seemed to take great delight in informing us that we could not get until 2.00 p.m. They won't budge on this telling us the hotel was fully booked and indeed we saw loads of other people dressed in their travelling clothes waiting for 2.00 p.m. check-in. We cannot help but wonder if the hotel has worked out that if we don't go to our rooms we gather instead for food and drink to pass the time!!

Having said all that the pro's outweigh the con's and mostly this is because of the situation of the hotel, though be warned that sunbeds are 14 euro's per day for 2 beds, rather steep, we feel. Food choice and quality is of a very good standard. The Restaurant staff are very polite and obliging, always happy and smiling.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravellers021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

We visited for a week arriving 15/6/13 on a B&B basis. The hotel could not be in a better place, literally out of the back door onto the prom the 20 yards to the golden beach. Stroll either left or right along the ptomaine and there are enough bars and restaurants to keep you happy. Inside the hotel was very clean, the staff very friendly and helpful, our room with a sea view (well worth the extra) was small with a balcony but very functional, air con, tv no fridge tho. Breakfast buffet was fine, happy hour in the bar (2100 to 2200) was very good. Only down side was that the pool area was a little small. We would go back to this hotel for a break.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stv_pov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

This was our second time at the Dom Jose and we enjoyed ourselves again, there are a few good and bad things to note:
1. There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room.
2. The Bar is very good but at busy times you can wait a while to get served, but the food is very good and the happy hour drinks discount is very good (half price drinks)
3. The beach parasols and beds are a good investment €14 a day. I'd say nicer than sitting by the pool.
The rooms are clean and a nice place to stay, however try to avoid a room close to the lifts. English TV channels for us brits is a bonus. In the bathroom we had there was no bath but a very nice shower.

We found a local English bar called Fantasia, very good full English (better than the hotels) and their happy hour is very good,buy one get one free drinks which are cheaper than the hotel to start with it worked out at 75 cents (about 66p) for a glass of wine and a little less for beer.
Pizzeria Mammamia is also a good place to eat.

A visit to Vilamoura marina is a must, its a good 30 minute walk but well worth it. Vilamoura Marina is full of bars and restaurants.

I'm sure we'll be back again!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JP_and_MP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quarteira
0.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#5 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,745 reviews
4.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Jose Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Jose Beach Hotel

Property: Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Address: Avenida Infante de Sagres, 143, Quarteira 8125-157, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Quarteira
#8 Family Hotel in Quarteira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Jose Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dom Jose Beach Hotel in Quarteira/Vilamoura totally renewed is one of the most well located in the Algarve, with beachfront location and an absolutely beautiful view over the deep blue Atlantic Ocean. Just 20 minutes from Faro International Airport and 5 minutes from Vilamoura. In front of the Hotel, a long promenade invites you to a healthy walk and sightseeing and access to the famous Vilamoura Marina. Enjoy the good local restaurants with typical food of the region. The Hotel offers 154 modern rooms, all with elegant design, colours and modern furniture combined with oak wood flooring, are also equipped with air conditioning, TV LCD, wireless internet, direct dial telephone, safety box and private bathroom with amenities and hairdryer. Guests staying at the Dom Jose Beach Hotel can enjoy the following facilities: Restaurant, Bar, Meeting Rooms, Gym, Wireless in public areas, a panoramic Minigolf (with 9 holes) available on the 4th floor, outside swimming pool with wooden deck and Hotel Beach Area with beds and shades (extra, only in high season). Only a few minutes away from the Hotel, there are different sports and recreational facilities: championship golf courses within the areas of Vilamoura (3 km), Quinta do Lago (6 km), Vale do Lobo (6 km) and Vila Sol (2 km), Vilamoura's Casino (2 km), Tennis Courts, Fishing, Rental of Boats and Sightseeing Cruises, Diving School, Horse Riding, Marina, Surfing and Wind Surf. Dom Jose Beach Hotel offers quality and variety of services. Enjoy the hospitality and location of a completely renewed Hotel. Discover the Algarve! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Dom Jose Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Jose Quarteira
Dom Jose Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing