We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect Hotel for a short Christmas break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dom Jose Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Quarteira
Certificate of Excellence
Hagley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Hotel for a short Christmas break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Myself and my friend stayed here for one week over christmas and it was an ideal location. The hotel itself is clean and the staff friendly and were helpful when we needed advice. Its a quiet and peaceful hotel.

The only tiny problem i noticed was the fact we didn't have tea and coffee making facilities, but from past experiences of portugal hotels, you usually have to pay for these as extras. But in saying that, it was nicer to go into the bar area for refreshments and enjoy the sun out the front.

We only went on a bed and breakfast board basis so I can't give my experience of lunch or dinner, but breakfast was absolutely fine, enough variety for everyone. I would recommend staying as bed and breakfast as there are so many different places to eat around Quarteira, if you want to get out and about, and for a good price.

I must also recommend Baz and Minnies Irish bar which is about 5 mins from the hotel if you fancy a fun karaoke / pool / booze up bar, we had a right laugh there with all the staff :)

I would definitely want to go back to Dom Jose if I go back to Quarteira. Should really be a 4*

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente geral at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for your kind comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.

The opinion of our Guests it is very important for us, as we always try to improve the quality of our services and to provide to our visitors a pleasant stay.

We hope to welcome you again in Dom José Beach Hotel very soon.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    569
    133
    30
    18
See reviews for
268
810
72
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is the 2nd visit to this very nice hotel for me.It is very clean,comfortable and convenient. Quarteira is a beautiful town and has a great bus station which provides easy access to the whole of the Algarve and to Lisbon.

Room Tip: Have a sea view room for a thoroughly enjoyable stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for your kind comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.

The opinion of our Guests it is very important for us, as we always try to improve the quality of our services and to provide to our visitors a pleasant stay.

We hope to welcome you again in Dom José Beach Hotel very soon.

We present our best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portalegre, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

The Dom Jose Beach Hotel is in an excellent location, right on the sea front and only a short walk to the shops of Quarteira. The hotel was very clean, comfortable and excellent value for money. The staff were wonderful: kind, helpful and they spoke excellent English. Breakfast and the buffet dinner in the hotel were both very good with a good selection of well cooked dishes to choose from. There are also plenty of restaurants and cafes nearby should you want to eat out. We have already recommended the hotel to friends and we look forward to staying there again ourselves.

Room Tip: If you are staying longer than a couple of days then book a sea view room as these have a balcony, f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for your kind comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.

The opinion of our Guests it is very important for us, as we always try to improve the quality of our services and to provide to our visitors a pleasant stay.

We hope to welcome you again in Dom José Beach Hotel very soon.

We present our best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
232 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We went looking for some winter sun in a good hotel for a good price. This is exactly what we got. On arriving at the hotel don't let first impressions make you think this is not a good place. Inside the hotel is well layed out and in good order, Its very clean and tidy and a credit to the staff. We paid a little extra to have a room with a sea view. We were on the second floor and enjoyed a great view looking at blue sky and sea with a golden beach, The room was a little smaller than some but well looked after, cleaned everyday as were the towels changed everyday.
The food was of a good standard, we had half board. The breakfasts were plentiful with hot and cold choices available and a good standard. The dinning room has a view across to the sea and even though it was November it was still great to eat and see the sea. The evening meals were varied and there was always something to satisfy our preferences. It was nice to always have a good selection of vegetables including more than just chips. We went prepared to eat out but found that this was needed as the food was a good quality.
The staff were all great and very happy to help with anything you asked, they were a credit to the hotel
The hotel is right on the front just a few steps from the beach so not having a big pool to huddle round was not an issue and a few steps and you were on the beach.

Walking along the promenade was nice and relaxing to the left you can end up by some nice views to the right you can take a gentle walk through the resort and on Villamoura a smart marina come resort with some nice places to eat, as well as plenty of money invested in some smart boats.

We went with Monarch and chose a couple of trips one to Seville and one to the west Algarve. Both were nice to see. But I would watch out for the length of the day. The Rep "Not so Clever Trevor" said it was a 21/4 hour run to Seville, we were collected at 5.45 and got there at 10.20!!! To add to his lack of knowledge when we asked about buses he said he didn't like public transport so was not sure!!!. As it is the bus terminal is less than 5 mins walk were the ticket office staff were very helpful.

A bit odd is the WIFI, there is a charge in the hotel, its even stranger when you learn that a number of bars close to the hotel offer free WIFI.

For information whilst the temp at home was we are told around 6c in the Algarve the day time was around 22c although it did call as you would expect in the evening

All in all this was a really good hotel and great value for money

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeenThereWillYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for your kind comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.

The opinion of our Guests it is very important for us, as we always try to improve the quality of our services and to provide to our visitors a pleasant stay.

We hope to welcome you again in Dom José Beach Hotel very soon.

We present our best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Dom Jose Hotel was tastefully decorated and in a lovely location. The rooms where kept clean and staff always happy to answer any queries during your stay.

We had the breakfast in the morning and chose to eat out during the day, as many restaurants cafes nearby to choose from.

Transfers to and from the airport where very efficient.

Just five minutes away is the local bus station where you can travel to neighbouring villages. We travelled to Faro and Loule.

Consider taking your own t bags and kettle as not provided in the room and no fridge also consider taking a lock as safe in room had no lock.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 322 which had excellent views of the sea and promenade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for your kind comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.

The opinion of our Guests it is very important for us, as we always try to improve the quality of our services and to provide to our visitors a pleasant stay.

We hope to welcome you again in Dom José Beach Hotel very soon.

We present our best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

The hotel was very good and all the staff throuout the hotel were very very good and all helpfull at all times the food at breakfast was good but the toasting machine was a pest and all guests were talking about it and some that have been for a number of years said that it has always been that way so as they have spent a lot of money refurbishing the hotel and they have made a good job of it a little more on a new toaster would be well spent The food at dinner was good but the hot main cource was not to good and needs to be inproved

Room Tip: Front sea view was great we had room 324 would recomend this position
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter315966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for your kind comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.

The opinion of our Guests it is very important for us, as we always try to improve the quality of our services and to provide to our visitors a pleasant stay.

We hope to welcome you again in Dom José Beach Hotel very soon.

We present our best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

The Dom Jose is a lovely hotel and is tremendous value for money.The room was clean and reasonably spacious. Ours was a sea view room which was great to wake up to every morning, particularly in November! The staff were friendly and courteous. The breakfasts were lovely too with a great choice in a nice restaurant.

The only minor criticism I would mention is that they didn't provide a kettle in the bedroom. (We took our travel kettle). Also, the addition of a mini fridge would also make a small, but nevertheless, worthwhile inclusion.

All said and done, I thoroughly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andybez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for your kind comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.

The opinion of our Guests it is very important for us, as we always try to improve the quality of our services and to provide to our visitors a pleasant stay.

We hope to welcome you again in Dom José Beach Hotel very soon.

We present our best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quarteira hotels
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atismar
Hotel Atismar
#45 of 49 in Quarteira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Jose Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Jose Beach Hotel

Property: Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Address: Avenida Infante de Sagres, 143, Quarteira 8125-157, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Quarteira
#8 Family Hotel in Quarteira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Jose Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dom Jose Beach Hotel in Quarteira/Vilamoura totally renewed is one of the most well located in the Algarve, with beachfront location and an absolutely beautiful view over the deep blue Atlantic Ocean. Just 20 minutes from Faro International Airport and 5 minutes from Vilamoura. In front of the Hotel, a long promenade invites you to a healthy walk and sightseeing and access to the famous Vilamoura Marina. Enjoy the good local restaurants with typical food of the region. The Hotel offers 154 modern rooms, all with elegant design, colours and modern furniture combined with oak wood flooring, are also equipped with air conditioning, TV LCD, wireless internet, direct dial telephone, safety box and private bathroom with amenities and hairdryer. Guests staying at the Dom Jose Beach Hotel can enjoy the following facilities: Restaurant, Bar, Meeting Rooms, Gym, Wireless in public areas, a panoramic Minigolf (with 9 holes) available on the 4th floor, outside swimming pool with wooden deck and Hotel Beach Area with beds and shades (extra, only in high season). Only a few minutes away from the Hotel, there are different sports and recreational facilities: championship golf courses within the areas of Vilamoura (3 km), Quinta do Lago (6 km), Vale do Lobo (6 km) and Vila Sol (2 km), Vilamoura's Casino (2 km), Tennis Courts, Fishing, Rental of Boats and Sightseeing Cruises, Diving School, Horse Riding, Marina, Surfing and Wind Surf. Dom Jose Beach Hotel offers quality and variety of services. Enjoy the hospitality and location of a completely renewed Hotel. Discover the Algarve! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Dom Jose Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Jose Quarteira
Dom Jose Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing