We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Internet :-(”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Quarteira
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Internet :-(”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife and I stayed in this very nice and pleasant hotel for 2 weeks. In fact, there is nothing to comment negatively, well on the contrary, except that access to the Internet is not free as with most other competitors. I find it is a bit surprising they charge guests for what nowadays is an elementary service. It's almost like in the old days, they charged for watching TV, etc.
Anyway, we strongly recommend this hotel. Management and staff were all helpful and always available. In our opinion, you deserve 9.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
We thank you for your kind comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.
The opinion of our Guests it is very important for us, as we always try to improve the quality of our services and to provide to our visitors a pleasant stay.
We hope to welcome you again in Dom José Beach Hotel very soon.
Best Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    713
    595
    134
    30
    19
See reviews for
281
848
81
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

just got back yesterday after spending a week in this 3star hotel. It is much better than some 5 star I have stayed in. facing the beach, promenade with shops + restaurants. rooms, including bathroom fittings are ultra modern, clean, fresh, light. if I had to nitpic it was short of drawer space. all the staff were polite + very helpful @ all times. definitely a hotel to revisit often.

Room Tip: we had 3 rooms on floor 7, great views + quiet nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tierie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
We thank you for your kind comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.
The opinion of our Guests it is very important for us, as we always try to improve the quality of our services and to provide to our visitors a pleasant stay.
We hope to welcome you again in Dom José Beach Hotel very soon.
Best Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Having requested a room on the 7th floor when booked, we were told that was fine.My wife rang the hotel 1 week before we arrived and was told everything was ok for a room on the 7th floor.
When we arrived we were given a room on the 4th floor and told the decorators are working on the 5th 6th and 7th floors.They could have given us some warning in advance regarding this upheavel.I have been to this hotel 4 times and am really upset this has happened

Room Tip: The seventh floor has fantastic view.No noise above
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sylvia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente geral at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for your comments about the Hotel and we regret that your stay has not been satisfactory.

The satisfaction of our Guests it is very important for us and to know your opinion helps us to ensure the improvement of the quality of our services.

When guests request a specific room or specific floor, we take note of the request and inform that we will do our best to attend the request however we don't guarantee.

Regarding the maintenance/decorations in some rooms/floors, we have to do them during low season when it is possible to maintain our high standards of quality and to provide our guests the best services.

Although, we took note of all your comments and we will do our best to correct all the mentioned points.

We hope to receive you again in Dom José Beach Hotel in a very near future.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We have just returned home yesterday ,we stayed 5 days at this hotel, the rooms were clean and very modern,fresh towels everyday and maid service,the staff were very friendly and always happy to help , I will be returning to this hotel in the near future. We met some lovely people while we was staying there.great location for just filling out or a good base for going into faro or albufiera

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view its worth it for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank joannegreavesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente geral at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for your kind comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.

The opinion of our Guests it is very important for us, as we always try to improve the quality of our services and to provide to our visitors a pleasant stay.

We hope to welcome you again in Dom José Beach Hotel very soon.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

I have stayed at the Dom Jose on many occasions and it just gets better! Staff, service and cleanliness are the Trade Marks of this first class Hotel-and the position is Fabulous- book a sea view room and start the day off with the sound of the sea--followed by an excellent breakfast.!!

Room Tip: go for a high sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hensh187050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
We thank you for your kind comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.
The opinion of our Guests it is very important for us, as we always try to improve the quality of our services and to provide to our visitors a pleasant stay.
We hope to welcome you again in Dom José Beach Hotel very soon.
Best Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We booked with Mercury Direct and transfer from Faro airport only takes about 30 minutes. The hotel is modern, light and clean. We stayed for a week and were surprised how nice it was. Easy access to bus station for trips out and nice walks along the attractive part pedestrianized promenade directly behind hotel and on sandy beach.
Quarteira is a bit overdeveloped and untidy in places. It is very quiet on winter evenings.
Food at the hotel was ok but we ate out some evenings as we got a bit fed up with the meals.
The beds were very (too!) firm in our room. Like most European hotels there are no tea making facilities in room. The lounge and bar were clean and reasonably priced and the bar food was nice. Staff were friendly.
On the last day we found there are novels under the stairs on ground floor.

Room Tip: I think it is worth upgrading to sea view room. Rooms on roadside of hotel do not have great view or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaCassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente geral at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for your kind comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.

The opinion of our Guests it is very important for us, as we always try to improve the quality of our services and to provide to our visitors a pleasant stay.

We hope to welcome you again in Dom José Beach Hotel very soon.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Dom Jose beach Hotel
Quarteira Algarve
Portugal

My wife and I chose to come to the Algarve again this year
We were not disappointed as the Christmas/New Year was beautifully Sunny in the day time but chilly at night (there were a couple of miserable days)
Fortunately the Dom Hose had an air conditioning/heating unit which was essential after dusk.
The down side was that the unit was fitted on the balcony and was noisy especially when cutting in and out and was only about a metre from my left earhole, giving me a choice of wife’s snoring or noisy air con.
Over all I would rate the Dom Jose as an OK Hotel. There were things to like. The cleanliness, the Location and the sea view veranda etc. and things to dislike. Cocktail sausages in lieu of bacon for breakfast, the world’s most inefficient toasting machine and the pathetic WiFi

Room Tip: get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ME&ERR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente geral at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for your comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.

The opinion of our Guests it is very important for us, as we always try to improve the quality of our services and to provide to our visitors a pleasant stay.

It is informed and explicit in all websites that we charge the Wifi in public areas and rooms. We also mention the price.

We hope to welcome you again in Dom José Beach Hotel very soon.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quarteira
2.0 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,802 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
4.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Jose Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Jose Beach Hotel

Property: Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Address: Avenida Infante de Sagres, 143, Quarteira 8125-157, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Quarteira
#8 Family Hotel in Quarteira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Jose Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dom Jose Beach Hotel in Quarteira/Vilamoura totally renewed is one of the most well located in the Algarve, with beachfront location and an absolutely beautiful view over the deep blue Atlantic Ocean. Just 20 minutes from Faro International Airport and 5 minutes from Vilamoura. In front of the Hotel, a long promenade invites you to a healthy walk and sightseeing and access to the famous Vilamoura Marina. Enjoy the good local restaurants with typical food of the region. The Hotel offers 154 modern rooms, all with elegant design, colours and modern furniture combined with oak wood flooring, are also equipped with air conditioning, TV LCD, wireless internet, direct dial telephone, safety box and private bathroom with amenities and hairdryer. Guests staying at the Dom Jose Beach Hotel can enjoy the following facilities: Restaurant, Bar, Meeting Rooms, Gym, Wireless in public areas, a panoramic Minigolf (with 9 holes) available on the 4th floor, outside swimming pool with wooden deck and Hotel Beach Area with beds and shades (extra, only in high season). Only a few minutes away from the Hotel, there are different sports and recreational facilities: championship golf courses within the areas of Vilamoura (3 km), Quinta do Lago (6 km), Vale do Lobo (6 km) and Vila Sol (2 km), Vilamoura's Casino (2 km), Tennis Courts, Fishing, Rental of Boats and Sightseeing Cruises, Diving School, Horse Riding, Marina, Surfing and Wind Surf. Dom Jose Beach Hotel offers quality and variety of services. Enjoy the hospitality and location of a completely renewed Hotel. Discover the Algarve! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dom Jose Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Jose Quarteira
Dom Jose Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing