We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

first holiday to algarve wont be the last hotel staff very friendly great location seaview room a must pool quite small not many sunbeds but as most of the guests were elderly no problem getting one any time of day lovely clean rooms small not much cupboard space no problem for us as we were only staying a week nice breakfast and dinner with no queues opposite beach with traffic free zone so nice and quiet if you want entertainment this hotel is not for you bit dissapointed no sunbeds on beach as the weather was gorgeous lots of restaraunts still closed but still enough choice small bar across the road where you can sit and watch the fishing boats come in and out great relaxing break would reccomend

Room Tip: high floor sea view i dont think the ones at the rear have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rita m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Manager at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,
We thank you for your kind comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.
The opinion of our Guests it is very important for us, as we always try to improve the quality of our services and to provide to our visitors a pleasant stay.
We hope to welcome you again in Dom José Beach Hotel very soon.
Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

782 - 788 of 1,643 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

Returned on Monday from five night stay at this hotel. Location was fabulous - hotel couldn't be any closer to the beach, which is also fantastic.
Hotel was occupied by mainly older couples but that wasn't a problem as we were looking for a restful holiday. It is a quiet-ish area although it is only two minutes away from bus station or a reasonable 20 minute walk into Villamoura where there are more cafes/bars etc.
Food was great quality. Breakfasts were excellent and the only slight criticism is that veal (along with other meats) was served three nights out of five so perhaps a little more variety in the evenings.
Staff were incredibly helpful and always polite and cheerful. All areas of the hotel were spotless but we were disappointed on our last day that the pool didn't appear to have been cleaned from the previous day so unfortunately we didn't go in it.
Other than that we had a wonderful stay and would definitely go back.
A lot of the couples we spoke to were on their fifth or sixth return to the hotel so they must be doing something right!

Room Tip: Basic rooms are adequate size for short stay but try and book a sea view as other side of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Looly42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Manager at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,
We thank you for your kind comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.
The opinion of our Guests it is very important for us, as we always try to improve the quality of our services and to provide to our visitors a pleasant stay.
We hope to welcome you again in Dom José Beach Hotel very soon.
Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Just returned from a 5 day stay. Hotel was excellent, very clean and good service. Breakfast was good as well. We had a delux room with sea view with balcony - just wonderful as the hotel is literally across the road from a golden sandy beach. Hotel is very popular with elderly but that shouldn't be a problem. Hotel is on the promenade and there are some nice places to eat on the same road but it was very quiet as it was still off season. Villamoura is only 5 mins by taxi and Albufeira is about 20 mins by taxi (25 euros) or half an hour by bus (4.5 euros). The bus station and taxi stand are literally behind the hotel as well.
Only negative is that you have to pay for a safety deposit box - 2.5 euros per day and for wifi 3 euros for an hour or 10 euros for 24 hours. Wifi was a bit slow and temperamental at times but generally worked fine. We paid 10 euros for the 24hr wifi - good thing is that your time is only counted for the time you log on so 24 hrs was more than enough for us over 5 days.

Room Tip: ask for deluxe and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelguru3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Manager at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,
We thank you for your kind comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.
The opinion of our Guests it is very important for us, as we always try to improve the quality of our services and to provide to our visitors a pleasant stay.
We hope to welcome you again in Dom José Beach Hotel very soon.
Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel forseven nights in a room with a sea view and a balcony. The room was a reasonable size as was the toilet which had a big walkin shower. All members of staff were very friendly and helpful. The meals were good with a good choice of meat and fish for dinner also a reasonable choice of sweets.breakfast had a choice of hot or continental style. Both meals with a good selection of fruit. Only thing to watch out for is you do not get juice/tea/coffee with the evening meal. Its wine or bottled water. All in all we will be staying there again when we go back to the Algarve. One other thing the bus stance is about 5mins walk from the hotel. There you can get a bus to albufeira or Villanova.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony and sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimmybeam23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Manager at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,
We thank you for your kind comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.
The opinion of our Guests it is very important for us, as we always try to improve the quality of our services and to provide to our visitors a pleasant stay.
We hope to welcome you again in Dom José Beach Hotel very soon.
Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was our first holiday in the area, and based on the positive reviews on Trip Advisor, we booked Dom Jose.

It was 10am when we arrived, and I hoped they would store our luggage until we could check in later. At is happened our room had been unoccupied the previous night and was ready. What a nice surprise. The very friendly reception staff explained mealtimes, etc, and within minutes we were on route to our room.

I had booked a sea view room with balcony, and was very pleased with the size of the room. It is decorated in pale beige with a blue sofa adding a touch of colour. There is a small safe, a key for which is rented from reception. 10euro a week is quite reasonable. Internet is an additional cost: 10euro for a card giving 24 hours use. In other words, connect and disconnect each time then finished, and the 24 hour card gives good value. Unused time can be used o

Room Tip: Sea View room with balcony: well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PATJORDAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,
We thank you for your kind comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.
The opinion of our Guests it is very important for us, as we always try to improve the quality of our services and to provide to our visitors a pleasant stay.
We hope to welcome you again in Dom José Beach Hotel very soon.
Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel 19 years ago and it was good then,we came back in March 2014 it has been completely refurbished .we stayed five nights bed breakfast and evening meal for €53 per night the double room had a sea view the food was basic but prefect . All the staff were very polite and helpful and the bar prices were very fair with happy hour between 9 and 10 all in all a class of hotel in England you would pay over £100 per night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maurice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,
We thank you for your kind comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.
The opinion of our Guests it is very important for us, as we always try to improve the quality of our services and to provide to our visitors a pleasant stay.
We hope to welcome you again in Dom José Beach Hotel very soon.
Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 days very enjoyable we upgraded to sea view well worth the extra
Staff brill breakfast is good but go early as dining room gets very noisy
Only gripe was in the bathroom the sink wasn't big enough to brush your teeth never mind avin a shave plus only shower in room I really like a bath but I would go back an stay here again

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 30trebor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,
We thank you for your kind comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.
The opinion of our Guests it is very important for us, as we always try to improve the quality of our services and to provide to our visitors a pleasant stay.
We hope to welcome you again in Dom José Beach Hotel very soon.
Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quarteira
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
2.0 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#11 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,747 reviews
4.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,155 reviews
6.9 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Jose Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Jose Beach Hotel

Address: Avenida Infante de Sagres 143, Quarteira 8125-157, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Quarteira
#8 Family Hotel in Quarteira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quarteira
Price Range: £25 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Jose Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dom Jose Beach Hotel in Quarteira/Vilamoura totally renewed is one of the most well located in the Algarve, with beachfront location and an absolutely beautiful view over the deep blue Atlantic Ocean. Just 20 minutes from Faro International Airport and 5 minutes from Vilamoura. In front of the Hotel, a long promenade invites you to a healthy walk and sightseeing and access to the famous Vilamoura Marina. Enjoy the good local restaurants with typical food of the region. The Hotel offers 154 modern rooms, all with elegant design, colours and modern furniture combined with oak wood flooring, are also equipped with air conditioning, TV LCD, wireless internet, direct dial telephone, safety box and private bathroom with amenities and hairdryer. Guests staying at the Dom Jose Beach Hotel can enjoy the following facilities: Restaurant, Bar, Meeting Rooms, Gym, Wireless in public areas, a panoramic Minigolf (with 9 holes) available on the 4th floor, outside swimming pool with wooden deck and Hotel Beach Area with beds and shades (extra, only in high season). Only a few minutes away from the Hotel, there are different sports and recreational facilities: championship golf courses within the areas of Vilamoura (3 km), Quinta do Lago (6 km), Vale do Lobo (6 km) and Vila Sol (2 km), Vilamoura's Casino (2 km), Tennis Courts, Fishing, Rental of Boats and Sightseeing Cruises, Diving School, Horse Riding, Marina, Surfing and Wind Surf. Dom Jose Beach Hotel offers quality and variety of services. Enjoy the hospitality and location of a completely renewed Hotel. Discover the Algarve! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dom Jose Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Jose Quarteira
Dom Jose Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing