We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Vila Gale Ampalius(Vilamoura)(Great Value!)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$256
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura(Vilamoura)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Seasons Vilamoura(Vilamoura)(Great Value!)
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pinhal da Marina(Vilamoura)(Great Value!)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,779)
Filter reviews
1,779 results
Traveller rating
873
686
157
37
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
873
686
157
37
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewlovely promenadebus stationthree starlovely hotelbreakfast and dinnerstar hotelhalf boardpublic areasper daycold meatsbuffet stylesmall poolplenty of choicebed and breakfastsuperior roomshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
843 - 848 of 1,779 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed there in the begining of May, firs time in Portugal. Really enjoyed Quarteira, nice and quiet town, not much night life there. Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights, was nice and clean. Most of the people who stayed there was old, like a nursing home, but it didnt bother me. The location- on the beach. Was no ambrelas or sun beds there, which would be brilliant. By the pool you need to be early, most of the people leave their tawels on the beds, then go for breakfasts..
Our room wasnt cleaned once in all 4 nights we were there.
Would stay there again, but only for the beach and good weather. Quarteira is brilliant for a cheap holiday, not over crowded with tourists and thats why is much cheaper then in Vilamoura.

Room Tip: Any room is good, didnt stay much in it :)
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ievuciukas22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just arrived back in Dublin today and because our experience of the hotel was so good, I thought it would be a good idea to write a review in appreciation. Everything about our stay there was first class. All the staff were friendly and helpful. It is a modern clean environment and feels superior to its three star rating. Our room was huge ..I know some have complained about the size of their rooms particularly the ones with a balcony facing the sea. If you want a big room go for room 513 (at the back), it had a large floor space, two big single beds joined together, a decent sized bathroom with shower and bath and a long couch against the wall. The majority of the guests are of a mature age and are mostly made up of English, Irish and some German but there was also some younger ones there as well. The hotel provides a swimming pool and bathing area which gives a welcome shelter from the breeze. However, you have to get there early to claim your place as the loungers get snapped up fairly quickly. The bar has a happy hour from 9-10pm which we never bothered with as there are plenty of cheap bars nearby but we did use it for our night cap. It is decent enough, plenty of space and gets quite lively. Breakfast consists of cold meats, cheese, breads, sauteed mushrooms, grilled half tomatoes, scrambled eggs, fried eggs, bacon, beans and mini frankfurter sausages. They also had a variety of fruit- sliced oranges, cubed water melon and pineapple as well as a selection of Danone yogurts, jams, cereal and honey. Cereal consisted of Muesli and corn flakes. Brown and white sliced bread was also available for you to toast along with croissants and rolls. The brekkie was tasty and the highlight for me. If I had one minor quibble it would be the elevators. They are quite cramped and slow so we just used the stairs most times. There is a decent selection of books left by other guest underneath the stairs if you fancy a read by the pool. Overall an excellent place to stay and can't praise it highly enough.

Room Tip: Go for room 513, it might not be facing the sea but it is huge. Claim a spot early at the swimming pool as the loungers get snapped up. Have your breakfast late around 10 am as it is least busy at that time (only do so if you are not planning on using the bathing area by the pool.) You gotta check out Piri Piri restaurant. Myself and the wife went there three times and were completely blown away by the service and value. It is a family owned restaurant about 12minute walk from the hotel and is run by two crazy brothers . You get a starter (usually soup).bread, a main course (fish or steak) , bottle of wine (go for the red as the other is sparkling wine), a shot of port, and dessert all for 20EUR for two people. Unreal value and the food is delicious.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TeamDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Check in went without a hitch and the check in staff were very friendly. We had booked a standard land view room but it was a real disappointment, very small, no balcony and located on the first floor immediately above the kitchen. We went back to reception to see if there were other rooms available and were told that maybe in 3 days a sea view room could be offered instead at a supplement. We stayed in this room for the first night but after being woken at 5am by the noise from the kitchen we went back to reception to seek a room change. At this point we were told that we could move to a superior room on the third floor at a supplement which we immediately paid and so glad we did! The reception staff were very helpful during the second stage of this process so a little disappointing that they could not have been so the night before.

Anyway, from here on in we could not fault the staff of the hotel. We went the week before half term so the majority of the guests were older which made for a quiet week. Breakfast was very samey by the end, scrambled or fried eggs and tomatoes every day with local sausage or bacon alternating days and the occasional appearance of baked beans. Also the usual fruit, cereals, meat and cheeses were also available. The homemade bread was a highlight.

All in all a very enjoyable stay, the hotel was very clean throughout and the staff were very pleasant. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view or superior room and try to avoid rooms 101-115 as kitchen noise likely to be an issue, especially 109!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaveClev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Just stayed for 3 nights at the Dom Jose Hotel with my daughter. We had a lovely stay - hotel very clean and tidy. Modern rooms with great shower. Breakfast was buffet style with good choice - even a fussy 23 year old enjoyed her breakfast !
Pool area quite small but adequate and very well kept. Sea and beach area directly across from the hotel so that was a huge bonus. A lovely walk to Vilamoura takes half an hour but well worth it. Would definately recommend and visit again.

Room Tip: Sea view with balcony is well worth the extra money. Room 112 was lovely
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

One of the best 3 star hotels we have visited. Stayed for B&B for two weeks and had a lovely time. Couldn't be better situated, separated from the beach only by pedestrianised prom. Breakfasts buffet style catering for all tastes. Rooms clean and modern and all public areas spotlessly clean. Only gripes - no tea/coffee making facilities in rooms and that decking round scorching hot.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanlpriest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews