We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have just returned from 5 days at this hotel. It is very modern and very clean. Our room was facing the beach so was a great view, but not noisy. Room was small but so clean and well appointed it did not matter. Breakfast was great with hot food, continental, cereals and fruit. They alternated bacon and sausage. We stayed in vilamora last time we were in Portugal. This resort is very close, but has its own identity which was very pleasant. You also get along more for your money. No shower room or facilities once you have checked out which was a bit of a pain. However it is a lovely hotel which is very good value, well recommended

Room Tip: Overlooking beach. Room higher up so don't get street noise. We were on 3rd floor and didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Oromoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,
We thank you for your kind comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.
The satisfaction of our Guests it is very important for us and to know your opinion helps us to ensure the improvement of the quality of our services.
We took note of all your comments and we will do our best to correct all the mentioned points.
We hope to receive you again in Dom José Beach Hotel in a very near future.
Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

716 - 722 of 1,677 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from the dom jose hotel. We stayed there for 1 wk with friends, we were bb. We stayed on the 7th floor which was very nice great to wake up with the sound of breaking waves. Rooms are cleaned everyday staff very friendly. The downside is pool to small not enough beds if you go to beach you have to pay 12 euros. No free wifi. There is very nice restaurants we went to mamias best pizza i have tasted also the alcavella you have to be there early to get a table worth the wait. I did enjoy my stay but if i go back to Portugal i would go to another island.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank smcg310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,
We thank you for your kind comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.
The satisfaction of our Guests it is very important for us and to know your opinion helps us to ensure the improvement of the quality of our services.
We took note of all your comments and we will do our best to correct all the mentioned points.
We hope to receive you again in Dom José Beach Hotel in a very near future.
Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Just got back from a very relaxing week. Definitely worth the sea view, so lovely to fall asleep and wake up to the sound of the waves breaking close by. This hotel is close to four star but is probably 3.5 because no fridges in rooms or perhaps size of pool.
Here's my top ten tips to help make a stay even better!
1. Book a high floor at the front so you get amazing views... And sun for most of the day.
2. Use the coral beach bar across the road for free wifi
3. And for drinks at good prices... Lager at €2.40 a pint, cocktails at €4.00 as opposed to €8 in Vilamoura and nearly that in the hotel.
4. No one is allowed in pool area until it's been cleaned daily. So no need to get up early, just bring your towels down for 9.00ish and you should be OK.
5. You have to buy your own drinks at dinner so we just had a bottle of water, others shared a bottle of beer. Then walk 25 metres and pay a third of the price at many of the cafés. Not much going on in the hotel of an evening so head out or bring your own entertainment
6. Great little shop round the corner, (turn right out of front of hotel and then right again. In the arcade is a great patisserie if you like your cakes) which sells big bottles of water for 85 cents. 5 minutes away is a bigger supermarket on the main road the size of a tesco express store.
7. Visit the fish market at the end of the promenade for a full on experience (bit like a giant mortuary slab with some of the produce still trying to crawl away!!). On a Wednesday there's an outdoor market on a car park just inland from the front, where loads of lovely fruit to buy.
8. We caught the bus to Faro town €4.10 single took 35 minutes from bus station on main road behind the hotel. Lovely old town, surprisingly quiet for high season. Visited chapel of bones and marina. Cobbled streets and nice shopping. Bike hire is cheap and a good way to see a lot of the coastline. Vilamoura marina to people watch is only €5 by taxi.
9. Highlight was definitely river trip/cruise run by transguadiana river cruises ( see other reviews).
10. By all means use the beach sun beds but we thought paying out €12 every day a bit steep. Should have probably just brought a parasol and fold up chairs from shops along the front!
We would definitely go back, especially now we have learnt about the area. The hotel is lovely and the staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are south facing so better for drying towels etc. great for people watching of an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,
We thank you for your kind comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.
The opinion of our Guests it is very important for us, as we always try to improve the quality of our services and to provide to our visitors a pleasant stay.
We hope to welcome you again in Dom José Beach Hotel very soon.
We hope to receive you again in Dom José Beach Hotel in a very near future.
Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We have just left the Dom Jose after a five night stay. It was a very mixed experience with the pros outweighing the cons...just.

So the good.
It's a nice, modern clean hotel with a very nice reception area, restaurant and pool.
It was very good value in comparison to the hotels close by in Vilamoura.
Breakfast was good (except for the machine coffee).
It's a brilliant location on the beach, close to restaurants and bars.

Now the bad, but it's more just the quite ridiculous rather than bad.

The hotel has no iron or ironing board! This was difficult to fathom and even now when discussing it with people it's hard to comprehend as this is one of the most basic services every hotel has. You travel with bags that contain shirts in particular that can get very creased and need to be ironed.

I called reception to request an iron and was told they don't have any, which I was flabbergasted to hear. I actually went down to reception in case there was confusion with the language barrier. There wasn't and I was told by the staff member that he's not sure why there's no iron but it could be a safety issue, but I could get ironing done in a laundrette close by, however it would take 2 days! We were over for a wedding so luckily had friends staying close by who had an iron.

There was a €10 charge for WIFI for 24 hours. Free wifi should be standard in any hotel in the world, and it's a silly thing like this charge that could put people off staying somewhere and is surely not worth it commercially overall to the hotel who might lose customers as a result.

After our second day the air con stopped working. We weren't there much so didn't bother alerting the staff so we can't really complain about this but it was another issue that would affect my judgement of the hotel.

So, great location, modern and clean and good value with decent breakfast, but no iron in the hotel and a charge for WIFI. Overall OK but a few simple changes would make it a good hotel and somewhere I would recommend.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank GK100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,
We thank you for your comments about the Hotel and we regret that your stay has not been total satisfactory.
Regarding the iron service, the policy of the Hotel doesn't allow its use for security reasons.
We work with an outside laundry/press service for this cases.
There was a misunderstood regarding the information of the Wifi because during the months of July and August we are offering free Wifi for use in public areas and rooms.
We took note of all your comments and we will do our best to correct all the mentioned points.
We hope to receive you again in Dom José Beach Hotel in a very near future.
Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

rooms only small ,bathroom very nice,staff ok breakfast very good .need to sort pool/beach out .pool to small for how many guests cant get a sunbed and when full you have to pay 12 euros to get a couple beds on there beach to me there ripping us off so pay for hotel and facilitys then you pay again to use beach it is a lovely beach but come on hotel treat us fair

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nufcpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,
We thank you for your comments about the Hotel and we regret that your stay has not been satisfactory.
The satisfaction of our Guests it is very important for us and to know your opinion helps us to ensure the improvement of the quality of our services.
We took note of all your comments and we will do our best to correct all the mentioned points.
We hope to receive you again in Dom José Beach Hotel in a very near future.
Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

What a pleasant surprise, for the price we paid, this Hotel should not be this good, but it is and like I say, it should be rated higher than a three star. My only negative comment, if you can call it that, is, it would be nice if there was a little more selection in the main courses available. The food its self is great, but a little more variety would make a difference. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the maid came every day and she did a thorough job too. The bar, lounge and terrace area are relaxing and there is plenty of room for the guests. The beach is just 20 metres away and there is a discount for guests who rent sun beds on it. Overall I would say this Hotel is at least a three star plus and certainly as good as some of the four star hotels I have stayed in. We had a nice relaxing holiday and we would definitely stay there again, without hesitation.

Room Tip: Although rooms at the rear obviously do not offer a sea view, they are quieter, as the promenade is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Clark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,
We thank you for your kind comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.
The opinion of our Guests it is very important for us, as we always try to improve the quality of our services and to provide to our visitors a pleasant stay.
We hope to welcome you again in Dom José Beach Hotel very soon.
Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed here recently with my husband. A really good quality hotel. Friendly staff. Spotless rooms and well located. Highly recommend for couples. MY only teeny tiny complaint is you have to pay for sun loungers on the beach opposite the hotel costing 12euro a day as the pool area isn't very big which isn't a bad thing.

Room Tip: choose a sea view room costs a bit more but worth it for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NEWLIMERICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomJoseBeachHotel, Gerente at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,
We thank you for your kind comments about Dom José Beach Hotel.
The opinion of our Guests it is very important for us, as we always try to improve the quality of our services and to provide to our visitors a pleasant stay.
We hope to welcome you again in Dom José Beach Hotel very soon.
Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quarteira
2 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,774 reviews
3.9 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Jose Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Jose Beach Hotel

Address: Avenida Infante de Sagres 143, Quarteira 8125-157, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Quarteira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quarteira
Price Range: £31 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Jose Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dom Jose Beach Hotel in Quarteira/Vilamoura totally renewed is one of the most well located in the Algarve, with beachfront location and an absolutely beautiful view over the deep blue Atlantic Ocean. Just 20 minutes from Faro International Airport and 5 minutes from Vilamoura. In front of the Hotel, a long promenade invites you to a healthy walk and sightseeing and access to the famous Vilamoura Marina. Enjoy the good local restaurants with typical food of the region. The Hotel offers 154 modern rooms, all with elegant design, colours and modern furniture combined with oak wood flooring, are also equipped with air conditioning, TV LCD, wireless internet, direct dial telephone, safety box and private bathroom with amenities and hairdryer. Guests staying at the Dom Jose Beach Hotel can enjoy the following facilities: Restaurant, Bar, Meeting Rooms, Gym, Wireless in public areas, a panoramic Minigolf (with 9 holes) available on the 4th floor, outside swimming pool with wooden deck and Hotel Beach Area with beds and shades (extra, only in high season). Only a few minutes away from the Hotel, there are different sports and recreational facilities: championship golf courses within the areas of Vilamoura (3 km), Quinta do Lago (6 km), Vale do Lobo (6 km) and Vila Sol (2 km), Vilamoura's Casino (2 km), Tennis Courts, Fishing, Rental of Boats and Sightseeing Cruises, Diving School, Horse Riding, Marina, Surfing and Wind Surf. Dom Jose Beach Hotel offers quality and variety of services. Enjoy the hospitality and location of a completely renewed Hotel. Discover the Algarve! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dom Jose Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Jose Quarteira
Dom Jose Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing