We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem.... really good food and service”

Moon Restaurante & Cocktail Lounge
Ranked #42 of 364 Restaurants in Quarteira
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: New Owners, delicious new International Menu & stylish new Cocktail Lounge & Terrace - and a COMPLIMENTARY SHUTTLE SERVICE(subject to availability and location) Our venue on the 6th green of the beautifully manicured Vila Sol Golf Resort, has been tastefully re-styled and our menu now offers delicious international cuisine. Soak up those warm summer nights while sipping a tantalising cocktail on our shaded Cocktail Terrace or in our elegant Cocktail Lounge, before enjoying our quality service in the outdoor or indoor dining areas. Romantic dinners, special occasions, group bookings or sophisticated events - MOON Restaurante & Cocktail Lounge caters for all.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hidden gem.... really good food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have been holidaying at vila sol for many years but have only recently dined at Moon. We were very pleasantly surprised, the food is of a very high standard, it was the best meal we ate all week and my lamb pasta was probably one of the best pasta dishes i've ever ate! The service was 5 star, all the of team were very friendly service was very polite and professional. The food is very well presented, cooked to perfection and so tasty. I'd highly recommend this as a place to dine, especially for a special occasion.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane83_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    24
    5
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Almancil, Portugal
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“disaster night”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

this is my second visit to this restaurant I was asked to book it for some friends birthday . my first visit was good but last night was terrible the service the food and the attitude only after complaining did they try and compensate by providing some champagn!e.

the overall opinion was that no one wanted to make a return visit

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 113liza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoonRestaurante, Guest Relations Manager at Moon Restaurante & Cocktail Lounge, responded to this review, 2 June 2015
We would just like to let you know that Moon Restaurante has new owners. We have done some wonderful refurbishments and the menu has been reinvented too. If you would like to make a reservation, we now offer a complimentary shuttle service within the Golden Triangle - but please note it does need to be arranged in advance as it is subject to availability.

We sincerely hope that you will try visit again and we expect that you will really enjoy the international delicious cuisine, the friendly staff and our beautiful venue.

And we have an elegant Cocktail Lounge and relaxed Cocktail Terrace - so if you prefer you could just pop in for a drink before committing to dining with us.

We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“1st Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Visited "Moon" on the last day of our holiday. Gutted !!! Want to back now.
From the moment you set foot in the restaurant you are pampered until you leave. Drinks served in the fabulous chic bar area while you browse the menus is very relaxing. Then shown to your table where your food is served without delay. We were seated in a semi private booth area which was fab for our family of 7. However the atmosphere of the restaurant was still filtering through. The food is heaven. Can highly recommend braised beef, delicious!!!
A special mention to the staff who were all fantastic and friendly.
After our meal we sat on the terrace with drinks and listened to the music by the resident DJ playing a great range of music. If you get the chance to visit 'GO" tell them Neil sent you.
You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good food but let down in several areas”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

This restaurant could be 5* but is lacking in a few areas. The decor and ambiance is lovely, staff very polite and the food when you get it is lovely.
The disappointing areas are:
1) during the meal they didn't seem to serve everyone at once, so when waiting for everyone to have theirs before starting would mean yours would be cold!
2) they didn't seem to worry about topping up our wine however did with every other table
3) desserts choice small and then to be told there was nothing left apart from one 15 minutes after ordering! They need to have better communication between kitchen and front of house
This is a real shame as the food is lovely and staff are trying just very frustrating that there seems to be no consistency or thought put towards the whole dining experience.

Helpful?
Thank 245JoE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
2 reviews
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife and me are visitting the Algarve almost every year, since more or less 10 years.We love to go out for dinner and to discover new restaurants.Some days ago, we went to this wonderfull restaurant....some friends of us had recomended it.We had some difficulties to find the entrance but as we entered the place we were totally surprised!Simply stunning!
We had a relaxed aperitive at the beautyfull bar.When we got to sit down at our table, we allready had a selection of warm bread, homemade paté, olivemousse and fleur de sel waiting for us.Perfect start!To begin we had some wonderfull Cod fish ravioli and a lovely pear with goat cheese and parma ham....amazing!We ended up with Scallops and a incredible tender braised beef....Wow.For sure, one of the best restaurants in the Algarve! Highly recommend this place!
We will come back for sure!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andreas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moon Restaurante & Cocktail Lounge also viewed

 
Quarteira, Faro District
Vilamoura, Quarteira
 
Quarteira, Faro District
 

Been to Moon Restaurante & Cocktail Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing