We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing for the money!”
Review of Hotel Zodiaco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Zodiaco
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Quarteira
Wrexham
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Amazing for the money!”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The other reviews are right - you can't beat the Zodiaco for value. It is very clean, has everything you need, & the aircon is extremely quiet and cool. The breakfast is fine - 7.30 till 10.00, plenty of choice, and you can have as much as you like. The only downside was noise from a few inconsiderate guests - unfortunately, there's no avoiding them these days! Some people don't seem to care about disturbing others when they come in very late at night or leave for a very early flight - maybe they sleep through anything themselves so have no concept of what it's like to be woken in the night?? Not the hotel's fault though - even if you get a quiet room, there's no accounting for your neighbours. Also, if you have any mobility issues, it might be a good idea to postpone staying here until the nearby road and pavement works are finished unless you don't mind using taxis - the 10 minute walk to the prom and the town involves picking your way through some dust and rubble at the moment....We'd recommend the 30 minute walk from Quarteira to Vilamoura to see the marina, and the return bus ride to Albufeira is well worth the 8.5 euros return fare from the bus stop near the hotel.

Room Tip: We'd ask for an end room next time - fewer neighbours to make a noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fedupsingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    109
    33
    10
    7
See reviews for
50
105
21
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
304 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Nothing can beat this place for value for money. I see some people complaining about having to walk too far. We holiday with a hire car so this is irelevent. So centrally situated in the Algarve. A lovely typical Portuguese holiday resort. Few foreign tourists. A real taste of Portugal. Rooms spacious and clean, don't expect 5 star at this price.A nice bar and restaurant which we did not use. Quite a good spread for breakfast. But for value, this is the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Hotel looks brand new. It is actually 15 years old but well refurbished. Plain but clean and light (once I found the switch for the blind), Comfortable bed (I like it firm). The breakfast was good though not exceptional. The staff were friendly. I didn't eat dinner in hotel. The one day I considered it the fish available was 'grated bread hake' - not first choice in a fishing port. I had a friendly discussion of my restaurant meal on return.

I would not recommend this hotel for anyone with mobility issues at present. It is right on the edge of town and the pavements are badly disrupted by roadworks. For an active person is a good value and pleasant base.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hilary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster england
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Excellent hotel for the money
very clean and comfortable
another plus was the staff were also very good

we only stayed b&b but the breakfast was good with a decent choice
just a 10 minute walk to beach and centre which we enjoyed each day.
the only problem is the roadworks outside but when complete will be no problem.

it seemed to have guests that had been there before so that says something
We would definately go back there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank corky001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Lovely modern room and bathroom. Comfy beds and very very clean! Friendly staff - although a bit slow sometimes. Food in restaurant is very basic but healthy and maybe a bit bland for some folks but we liked it - great for kids. I liked the breakfast very much - a very varied continental...if you like your cooked English then you have to go somewhere else.
Pool lovely and very quiet until about 4 pm. Best sunloungers I have ever used - extemely comfy. No parasols cos people use their own telescopic- which can also be used on the beach.
The hotel is about 5-10 min walk from the promenade and there is a supermarket 5 mins Down the hill. It's quiet at night and quite dark. While we were there, they were working on the road and pavement - bit awkward but will be great when it's finished. Take care while crossing the main road especially with the kids.
Just some minor improvements - shelving or similiar in the bathroom - no space for toiletries etc. Something to hang beach towels etc - no balcony. TV - would be nice with some English speaking entertainment channels - we did get BBC World (news) and 1 other news channel. Wifi great but very slow sometimes. Maybe some more entertainment in the evening or in the lobby we played pool a lot....

Room Tip: Hire a fridge - cost 2 euros per day - worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sognadiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torguay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

First impression of Hotel..OMG its not finished!
Actually inside it was clean and staff fine...It will be all much better when the roads are finished as it was difficult walking into Quartieria due to the pavements not finished!
If you are wheelchair bound l would definitely check it out before l went for availability of getting about...didn't see too much about only the ramp going into the hotel...
I would add the kids enjoyed themselves!!

Would l go again...not as yet would give it a few years to finish!!

Room Tip: Probably a room at the front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katetwist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Vilniaus Apskritis, Lithuania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

+
We stayed at this hotel for 10 nights in July. The hotel has very nice aura and looks good outside and cosy inside.
The staff was undisturbing and always helpful. You can find a person 99% time behind the desk in registry.
Rooms are cleaned and made-up daily when the guest are not present.

The breakfast are boring continental and all time the same.
The swimming pool is clean, but the inner yard is somewhat unspacy.
There's a 10-15 min walk to the where the actually town starts.
WI-FI was hardly working (very slow or inactive).

Room Tip: One should not be affraid for East-oriented rooms, as windows have curtains and outside shades for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vytenis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quarteira hotels
0.5 mi away
Quarteira Sol
Quarteira Sol
#22 of 49 in Quarteira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#7 of 49 in Quarteira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Parque das Laranjeiras
Hotel Parque das Laranjeiras
#25 of 49 in Quarteira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
#26 of 49 in Quarteira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Atismar
Hotel Atismar
#40 of 49 in Quarteira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Praia Sol
Hotel Praia Sol
#29 of 49 in Quarteira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zodiaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zodiaco

Property: Hotel Zodiaco
Address: Estrada Nacional 527 - Fonte Nova Estrada da Fonte Santa, Quarteira 8125-618, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zodiaco 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Zodiaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zodiaco Hotel Quarteira
Hotel Zodiaco Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing